Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good
after reading all the reviews, on the websites, and here on amazon, i thought this game would be no good.
anyway i bought it from xbox live, and i'm glad i did. ok, it is a bit short in length, and there was 1 minor bug i noticed, but the game is really entertaining.
i do like super hero games, so that helps. the game reminds me of ultimate alliance 2, which i...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by C. T. Philpot

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Clunky, shoddy looking, awkward and poorly made.
Perhaps the biggest failing of X-Men Destiny is actually the thing that was supposed to make it unique amongst superhero games - the fact that you cannot play as any of the establishment mutants, such as Wolverine, Storm, Cyclops etc, instead playing the role of a young mutant who has recently gained their powers.

The problem with this is that, first of all,...
Published 10 months ago by Chief.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
C. T. Philpot "gaming addict" (london u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
after reading all the reviews, on the websites, and here on amazon, i thought this game would be no good.
anyway i bought it from xbox live, and i'm glad i did. ok, it is a bit short in length, and there was 1 minor bug i noticed, but the game is really entertaining.
i do like super hero games, so that helps. the game reminds me of ultimate alliance 2, which i loved to the max.
you choose one of three newbie xmen, and choose one of 3 different abilities and your difficulty level, then you begin the game.
i won't tell you the story, which i thought was good, and soon you meet loads and loads of familiar xmen. you talk to them, fight with or against them, or do side quests for/with them.
there are collectable icons to find, which unlock xmen pictures and bios. also x-gene icons aswell, which unlock many costumes and abilities for your chosen character.
the action is tense, especially the boss fights. replayability is very good, as there is at least 3 difficulty levels, plus 3 different playable newbie xmen to use.
also, you should want to try all the different abilities over some time. the graphics and sound are good enough i thought.
i love this game, and look forward to continuing, at a higher difficulty level, using my same character, which is now highly upgraded from the easy difficulty level game i just completed. this game has made me like the xmen more than i did in the past. roll on a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clunky, shoddy looking, awkward and poorly made., 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Perhaps the biggest failing of X-Men Destiny is actually the thing that was supposed to make it unique amongst superhero games - the fact that you cannot play as any of the establishment mutants, such as Wolverine, Storm, Cyclops etc, instead playing the role of a young mutant who has recently gained their powers.

The problem with this is that, first of all, there are only three characters to choose from, and secondly, they are all terrible dull - a high school jock, a cute Japanese girl, and a surley 'rebel without a cause' loner with daddy issues, and the closest you get to any X-character worth giving a damn about is talking to them, doing missions on their behalf, and occasionally having them fight half heartedly by your side.

Whilst in principle the idea of playing as a recently empowered mutant was a promising one, it would have been much better realised had the producers of the game instead given gamers the opportunity to take control of one of Marvels many, many interesting, but generally overlooked, rookie 'X-Men in learning', such as X-23, Hellion, Anole, Armour, Rockslide etc.

Besides the general dullness of the characters themselves, the next major impedement to enjoyment is the fact that in X-Men Destiny having superpowers has probably never been so boring...

There are three basic powersets to choose from - super strength/durability, energy projection, and a kind of shadow manipulation - none of which look especially visually appealing on screen or feel particularily potent. Powers can be expanded by spending accumulated experience, but they will rarely look or feel any more impressive than they did previously, with new power levels being represented by an extra hit on a combo, a longer duration, or greater radius, but nothing that makes you actually *feel* or look as if you are mastering your fledgling abilities.

The graphics and animations are terrible. Cutscenes are poorly rendered with characters looking flat, strange and devoid of personality, whereas in-game graphics fare no better, with your mutant movements and those of your opponants being clunky, awkward and afflicted by poor camera angles. The quality of voice acting and sound effects are equally poor.

The game is never more than a basic button-basher with light RPG elements, and can pretty much be completed with little more than the same three button combo and occasional use of the evade button to dodge incoming attacks.

The only reason I give this game two stars instead of the minimum one star is because the basic skeleton of the story is a decent one - the idea of a new mutant being torn between the attentions of the X-Men and the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants, and having to ultimately make a choice as to what kind of mutant they want to be and which faction they will represent, although even that is an idea that is never really developed in any but the most basic way, with moral choices essentially being broken down to doing your mission in a purely altruistic manner ('good' X-Men choice), or a slightly more robust or selfish manner ('evil' brotherhood choice). Its hardly Mass Effect, and there is ultimately no benefit or penalty for taking either route.

X-Men Destiny really is a poor effort at not only the superhero genre but also the X-Men franchise, exhibiting the type of quality in terms of graphics, sound, controls and gameplay that one might expect of a middling last-generation game. Its worth no more than the few pounds you would pay for a second-hand copy, and will likely provide you with a couple of hours of somewhat underwhelming entertainment one afternoon, before you put it down never to pick it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 14 Jun. 2014
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This was one of the first games I purchased when I bought my Xbox, and it is the only game I've completed at least 5 times (for the achievements) and the fact you can keep your level, but play the game in a different direction
I really enjoyed it, its the proper X-men to me, the originals, with massive sentiles. I wish the other X-men games were like this, and not just based on the movies.
I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a good effort, 7 Oct. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I brought this as i own all the marvel and DC tie in games but this one is not worth the money. on normal difficulty it is under 5 hours long. (they ramped up the difficulty on boss battles to incress the length of the game) The three powers you can choose from at the start all work the same way the only difference is purely visual. the Xgenes and suits are a good idea but poorly put across most are useless unless you get them early in the game and the rest all share the same abilities just with a different colour scheme. Overall a shoudy effort, to short,a cash in on a name.X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Xmen, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this as a fan of the series, its not a bad game but its not great either there is no co op, you get to customise your mutant but can only choose from 3 pre set characters and powers. It could have been great and the graphics are not amazing either, I would recomend to any Xmen fan but to casual gamers not really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent game, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A decent game, but not much replay value here, you can do all achievments with 2 playtroughs, and there is only single player, so when you have finished it and found all hidden things (not that hidden in my opinion), there is not very much more to do, but if you get it for 5£ it's woth it, but not much more than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Game review, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I feel it could have been a bit better in saying that it was still ok to play but not having a co-op game mode was a disadvantage it also arrived in good time and as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Because it'll be gone by next year, 15 Nov. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
thanks to some legal issues, lawsuits and counter lawsuits, Silicon Knights have been to ordered to destroy every copy of X-men destiny as well as Too human, quite a rare occurence for a game develepor to have to do

buy it now if you want it, cos itll be gone soon enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Destined for Fail, 14 Jun. 2012
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a sucker for any game based on a Marvel franchise and that has left me burnt more often than Alan the World's Worst Fire Eater. Despite the many sucker punches I have received with Marvel games I still go back for more in the hopes of something that is at least average in its use of some of the greatest IPs on Earth. Speaking of great IPs, `The X Men' kick it. This should be a no brainer adaptation, as a bunch of mutants with super powers would fit into games perfectly, just see `Wolverine: Origins' for a rare Marvel game win. Could `X Men Destiny' be another decent title? Perhaps the fact that it was made by `Too Human' developers Silicon Knights should have forewarned me.

Released in 2011, `X Men Destiny' appears to have been in production since the last days of the PlayStation 2 and original Xbox. Graphically it is pretty poor with blocky character models and poor textures. The level design also feels like it is from a different era; all routes force you in one direction and invisible walls block most paths. The game is a third person action title that puts the players in the shoes of a newly awoken mutant who must fight alongside the X Men or Magneto's team in a fight against a technological foe. This takes the form of whacking the hit button over and over again against a series of similar feeling enemies. The game only awakes when a boss fight appears and you can tackle one of the more famous Marvel characters - these are too few and far between.

It is the story itself that is probably the best element of the game; although it is a well-trodden idea in the world of the comics. Deciding between peaceful mutants or their more volatile brothers is quite well played, even though you can seemingly flip at any point in the game. As a sucker for the X Men I was able to enjoy what is essentially a mess of a game. The arena based feel of the levels scream for co-op, but like with so many parts of `X Men Destiny' this was cut. One to avoid except for the hardiest of Wolverine fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars passes the time and relatively fun (albeit occasionally a touch repetitive), 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not buggy, passes the time and relatively fun (albeit occasionally a touch repetitive), but has far less customisability than I was led to believe. You basically get an option of 3 sets of powers and then it's a simple hack and slash game. If cheap enough, worth a go before selling on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360)
X-Men Destiny (Xbox 360) by Activision (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £6.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews