Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!
This album is a fantastic collection of new works (and some familiar tunes for those PBF fans...) a very clever mix of traditional Scottish and celtic style music (pipes, whistles and fiddles), with modern beats, Jazz and brass, innovative sounds effects and Tom's brilliant sub-saharan guitar!

I love the trance build up in The Naughty Step... a real foot tapper...
Published on 31 Aug. 2011 by Gilvray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band
Good band, but not their best CD
Published 7 months ago by SteveGG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 31 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
This album is a fantastic collection of new works (and some familiar tunes for those PBF fans...) a very clever mix of traditional Scottish and celtic style music (pipes, whistles and fiddles), with modern beats, Jazz and brass, innovative sounds effects and Tom's brilliant sub-saharan guitar!

I love the trance build up in The Naughty Step... a real foot tapper (as I cant dance - as my lovely wife points out everytime I try!)

My 5 year old daughter loves the dancing tracks on the album too and will be found jumping round the kitchen with me, much to everyone's amusement!

Personal favourites - Naughty Step, Room 215, Abhainn A' Nathair and Ascent Of Conival!

This is a steal at £9!

Looking forward to the UK tour next March! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEATBOG FAERIES - Dust, 2 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
With an effects laden opening track "Calgary Capers" showcasing the Peatbog Faeries strengths this is the kind of band who know how to capture the wildest stretches of your imagination without over-egging things. OK, so repetitive techno-loops may have been done before but if (like me) you can let it wash over you in much the same way as those records normally relegated to spa resorts this album will seriously surprise. Like a sort of sonic ceilidh band the music permeates your senses in much the same way a hypnotist might propel a subject to succumb with gently cooing messages steering you in the right direction for your own personal Nirvana. A neat trick if you can pull it off and I've no doubt Peter Morrison (pipes/whistle), Peter Tickell (fiddle/effects), Tom Salter (guitar), Graeme Stafford (keyboards) Innes Hutton (bass/bodhran) and Stu Haikney (drums/percussion) can do just that particularly as an end of evening festival act. Like a fine malt whiskey, this album will mature with age and with most tracks coming in at over four minutes the listener will be amply rewarded with an ambient sound that is further dignified by a doffing of the cap to its traditional styled themes. This is the kind of album that beckons with a Mae West "...come up and see me sometime" approach being deliberately provocative with a bit of sauce on the side. That reminds me...perhaps I'll have to start digging out my old Tonight At Noon and Colour Of Memory albums.

PETE FYFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PBF get better and better!, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
I saw the Peatbogs in concert the day before this album was released, they played most of their new tunes from the album and straight away I was captivated by the new stuff. There's always an element of apprehension when a new album is released, is it going to be good as the old stuff?? It was a definite yes, I loved it! I ordered the cd the next day and it's been on in my car constantly. There's something about listening to the Peatbogs when driving, it has to be cranked up loud and I feel myself bouncing along! My favourite has to be 'The Naughty Step', on par with Dancing Feet and Folk Police!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album for Celtic rock fans!, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
I first saw the Peatbogs years ago in marquee at Henley Music Festival. They were electric! I've tried to see them live regurarly ever since, and they do tour in the sticks a bit so it's been possible! They are still absolutely sensational and have you boogeing in the isles very rapidly! The bagpipes and haunting melodies of celtic pipes create a stunningly beautiful atmosphere. Yet other tracks are stirring and pelt out the Celtic rhythms that the Peatbogs do so well. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust (MP3 Download)
Their best album yet. I thought Fairie Stories was good but taking out the Sax etc.. improves the PBF sound no end. They were brilliant playing this stuff live. Go and see them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant album, 13 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
So, after a reasonably long wait, Peatbog Faeries return with their sixth studio album, 'Dust'. All albums of the band before 'Dust' were different, unique, and absolutely brilliant, and 'Dust' is no exception. So, some of the band's original key members left the band and therefore do not feature on the album, and with replacement memebers at hand, 'Dust' takes a rather ambient but enthusiastic approach. The album arrived after a four year wait and the new direction of the band, both musically and as the band themselfs, was something that takes time. I suggest you play the album over and over again. The first track is possibly the weakest of all the band's first track-on albums so far, but it's still good. It goes to show. "The Naughty Step" is a really good anthem and showcases the new move well. "Spiegel and Nongo" is also a really good track, and with a really odd two minute intro too. One of the tracks which also stands out is the last track, "Room 215", with it's African vibes added to it. It's brilliant. So don't let the lineup change put you off, The Peatbog Faeries have made another brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funkadelic TechnoFolk, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Dust (MP3 Download)
File this genre somewhere near Martyn's Bennett's Bothy Culture and most anything by the Afro Celts. Good modern rhythms and percussion underpin fiddle pipes and whistles.
I'm liking Jarlath Henderson's contributions on Uilleann pipes. Mostly Scottish style tunes and instruments otherwise.
Easy listening and feels modern & contemporary. Well done to the Isle of Skye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoever thought the Naughty Step could be so good?, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
I defy anyone to listen to 'The Naughty Step' and not be furiously tapping along (at least)within the first minute. A real stand-out track but the rest of the album is no slouch. The new additions seem to have energised the band and they have produced an involving album that draws you into the world not just of the music but also the places, events and imaginations that inspired and created them. Above all, it is a thoroughly enjoyable listen, as all good music should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh Sound from the Faeries, 17 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
Recent summer gigs have provided an excellent showcase for the Peatbog Faeries new album 'Dust' with its fresh new sounds and directions. However, it still remains full of the Faeries usual energy and pounding rhythms making 'Dust' a 'must buy' album for existing fans. Peter Tickell's fiddle playing creates waves of sound that can transport you far far away and every track has its own story to tell. Die-hard and new fans can't fail to add 'Dust' to their collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars faultless album!, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust (MP3 Download)
saw them live at Cropredy festival 2013, was blown away and the album lives up to the expectations of seeing them live. amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dust
Dust by Peatbog Faeries
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews