Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Salamander
The 'Best of British Releases' provide a refreshing and compelling look into the many UK films from the 50's. Long forgotten gems are finally seeing the light of day on DVD thanks to ODEON ENTERTAINMENT. 'Golden Salamander' is a typical black and white thriller originally released in 1950.
The story,adapted from the popular selling novel by Victor Canning tells the...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by David Turner

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can`t see Howard as a leading man
I can`t see Howard as a leading man. This is a good but not great film noir with good picture and sound quality.
Published 16 months ago by Jay Holder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Salamander, 4 Nov 2011
By 
David Turner "David Turner" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
The 'Best of British Releases' provide a refreshing and compelling look into the many UK films from the 50's. Long forgotten gems are finally seeing the light of day on DVD thanks to ODEON ENTERTAINMENT. 'Golden Salamander' is a typical black and white thriller originally released in 1950.
The story,adapted from the popular selling novel by Victor Canning tells the tale of archaelogist David Redfern (Trevor Howard) sent to Africa to retrieve priceless treasures for return to England. During the project he runs, unexpectadly, into a group of smuggling gun runners.
The film moves into a superb cat and mouse game of who and whom not to trust. Co starring Herbert Lom, Anouk Aimee (later star of the award winning foreign movie 'Un Homme et Une Femme'). The film is well paced and edited. This together with a continual atmosphere of suspicion and distrust makes for compulsive viewing. Only one small obervation. The love attraction between between Howard and Aimee seemed unconvincing . That said, Odeon are to be congratulated on the excellent programme notes and remastering of this and similar films from times past.

David Turner London UK)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the "Best Of..", 19 Jun 2012
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
I do like it when Odeon release a "Best of.." and it is - well - one of them. This 1949 film had a great (Victor Canning) plot, good (Ronald Neame) direction (Come on Odeon - Roland Neame??), and casting to wonder at - Miles Malleson as Police Chief! I bet he was amazed when he read the script. Hyde White in a part he could play so well, that of a seedy bar fly. Lom in a good early very villainous part, and, not forgetting Trevor and the ever gorgeous incredible Anouk Aimee, (who really made this film for me - does anyone else think she looked just a bit like a young Pier Angeli in certain shots). Sadly I agree with David Turner (Excellent Review) that her attracion to Trevor didn't really ring true, but that's a small point, and overall I highly recomend this thriller to film lovers everywhere. I would like to end on 2 minor negative points. 1) The opening sequence is VERY dark-could something not have been done? 2) And this is a favourite grump of mine-Odeon produced a very good little booklet full of interesting facts-but...No Cast List. If Renown can do it so can Odeon. I had to stop the film to check a ref book to get Peter Copley's name. Driving me mad it was. Good film. Good fun. Good Price. What more can a film fan want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Adventure Story, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
Trevor Howard was always a favourite of mine and in this film he plays an honest man, who, by accident, gets mixed up with a number of very nasty people. The picture was filmed entirely in Tunis so we get lots of atmosphere and some great views of the area and scenery. Based on a book by best selling author, Winston Graham, there is plenty of action and romance.

Herbert Lom is a particularly nasty character but there are plenty of others too. The romance is supplied by charming French actress Anouk Aimee.

Not a great film, but entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All star cast, 11 July 2014
By 
J. Higgins (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films made from Victor Canning's books. An archaeologist is sent to North Africa to pack up a collection, accidentally sees a truck load of rifles. Who should he tell? Trevor Howard looks far too old for Anouk Aimee, but the rest of the cast is splendid, especially Wilfred Hyde-White as the bar pianist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Then There's Wifred The Lush, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
One of the many pleasures this film has to offer is the opportunity to see Miles Malleson & Wifred Hyde-White given the chance to do something different. The memory of Wilfred, the unwashed bar room pianist, languidly playing Clopin Clopant is still with me. Well done chaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 12 May 2012
By 
P. D. Roberts (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
This is what Sunday Afternoons were made for! A good B/W which held your attention from start to finish. Good alround acting with herbert lom playing a small role as the local thug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can`t see Howard as a leading man, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Jay Holder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
I can`t see Howard as a leading man. This is a good but not great film noir with good picture and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it through, struggled through would be a more accurate phrase and then threw it away. What a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Salamander, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Salamander [DVD] (DVD)
When we received this it was in excellant condition on receipt plus a good movie, the price was right, would recommend this to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Salamander [DVD]
Golden Salamander [DVD] by Roland Neame (DVD - 2011)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews