Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....but!
Well researched, and an easy read. The author obviously knows his subject.

But, the author obviously didn't bother with a proof reader, as it is liberally included with typo's and glaring errors, such as bearly when barely was the right choice of word, and that is not the only one. Silly really, spoiling what is an excellent read but finding oneself looking for...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by Mr. Peter Lewin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Interesting but some of the facts are a bit obvious & probably easily found using Google. There are some obscure facts to balance it though. Overall I liked it.
Published 18 days ago by Alan Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good....but!, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Peter Lewin (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
Well researched, and an easy read. The author obviously knows his subject.

But, the author obviously didn't bother with a proof reader, as it is liberally included with typo's and glaring errors, such as bearly when barely was the right choice of word, and that is not the only one. Silly really, spoiling what is an excellent read but finding oneself looking for the errors.

Having not seen or read the paper version I cannot comment on it but, this is the first Kindle transfer I've seen where the layout is as disjointed as it is here with such huge paragraph breaks and chapter titles often at the bottom of a page rather than the top. But maybe that's how the paper version is.

Still, having ranted, it is a good read and looking forward to book two, which I have but haven't started yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book & it has opened my eyes to the history behind the numerous streets I walk along every day. The author keeps you guessing who the mysterious figure is that is involved in each story before delivering a famous name you have heard of but never known why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book, 26 Nov 2012
By 
A. Arnold (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
As a frequent leisure visitor to London this book as a fascinating read. Little bit of history on the streets, little stories told with characters to bring them to life. Bought the second book too.
More excellent reading.
So much so that my best friend and I are planning a weekend in London in the spring to go and hunt down some of these lesser known parts of London that are still in the City and will be doing a photo story based on the books.
Rather than just use the normal tourist routes, I would highly recommend that you read this book, plan a route and go off to explore London away from the normal packed places.
Looking forward to spring. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stories behind London streets, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting. Once started had trouble putting down. Looking forward to reading next one. Always been interested in London as worked all over London for many years. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
This book revived a lot of memories for me as i used to work in the city back in 1960,
the streets covered by the book were all within walking distance of my place of work.

However there was a lot i didnt know so it was a very intresting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
This book was absolutely fascinating - I learned so much about London that I did not know. Would be a great read for tourists coming to London in the Olympics. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
Interesting but some of the facts are a bit obvious & probably easily found using Google. There are some obscure facts to balance it though. Overall I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
i found it very interesting and informative and lots of information that i did not know about london that was new to me although i had lived there all my live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
This is a fascinating volume of well known and some less well known historical spots of our capital city and it's environs! If you have any interest in history then you should read this book! It is fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stories Behind London's Streets (Kindle Edition)
Scatter-logical in nature, sensationalist and inconsistent. Will entertain those not to bothered by accuracy, but disappoint those looking for facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stories Behind London's Streets
3.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews