Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2012
Seeing that I live in the United States, the only way up until now to watch ALF on DVD was via the Region 1 sets released in the USA from Lionsgate. Although these releases contain a flawless restoration from an an audio / video perspective, the prints are not the original broadcast episodes. Instead they are syndicated versions lopping anywhere from 3 - 6 minutes off of each episode and are not arranged by broadcast date. Finally, a release worth of ALF. These are complete UNCUT episodes as orginally broadcast. Although I did have to get a region free DVD to player to view them here in the States, the cost of the player and the extra cost of getting the from overseas was well worth it. The only thing that prevents them from getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that the transfer is not as crisp as they could have been, but I will take the trade-off any day!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
if you had seen this 80s tv show you will love it and dont worry about having to learn french as its in english apart from the box packaging also they have not been edited like what i heared on other sets.why cant they make more tv shows like these as i could not stop laughing at what alf gets upto
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I remember watching 'ALF' as a kid in the late '80s/early '90s, so finding this collection was definitely a trip down memory lane.

The collection includes all 4 seasons of 'ALF' and a small toy of the infamous alien.

As other reviewers have pointed out - this collection is tailored for the European market. However, despite the packaging, the actual DVD soundtracks are in English.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the excellent picture quality.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
This is an absolute gem of a find. Don't be put off with the cover being in French. These are the original recordings and the quality is excellent. They have done a brilliant job in giving us back our favourite TV character Alf.

I love the plush toy that comes with this collection. He is not quite the exact likeness but at a glance, you can clearly see its Alf.

I am so glad I have found this set as there is nothing else that is anything as great as this. I now have many happy hours of nostalgia.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
This is a great collection of this series. It's a bit round the houses kind of way...it's a French product, but does have English as a choice of language. The doll is okay, but not a big one. Fond memories of when I first watched this in my early teenage years.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
First of all, why hasn't this iconic series been released in the UK? ALF was extremely popular in the UK during the 80's and 90's, airing on ITV and then SKY 1. Secondly: the DVD releases of ALF have been odd to say the least. In arguably its most popular market (minus Germany) the USA, ALF was released cut to bits, the syndicated episodes, losing many of the songs and funny throwaway gags. However, it did have a few notable extras, mainly the unaired pilot and some great DVD artwork. These episodes lost between two and six minutes per episode. Some of the episodes (like Wild Thing) no longer made sense.

Thankfully, in Europe the show was almost released uncut. The Germans wouldn't have bought a shoddy, edited version. The Christmas Chipmunk song is missing due to rights issues (shame, it was always a standout moment) and the episode where ALF electrocutes himself is changed to the version where he slips and bangs his head. This is because they were / are worried that kids will copy the scene. Not that ALF is just a kids show, the show regularly brought in sixteen million viewers, in prime time, in the US. The only episode that is completely edited is: Somewhere Over the Rerun. This is the syndicated version, probably down to missing / poor quality footage remaining. Once again, this is a shame, I want to see the whole thing uncut.

So what of this boxset? Every episode (102) is included in four seperate DVD boxes, with slipcases and episode guide inserts. These four DVD sets are housed in a nice red and white box, which isn't as big as you might think. It sits nicely on top of my bookshelf. The free, small, ALF puppet looks nice from a distance but boy is it cheap! It would cost you around £2 in a shop. The eyebrows aren't in the correct place on the puppet and the white cotton is clearly visible on the nose. It is much worse than those clip on ALF's from the 80's. But, it serves its purpose as a toy for modern youngsters to play with. Overall, as a set it does look nice.

The writing on the covers is in French, as are the episode guide inserts. The writing on the boxset is also in French. However, the writing on the DVD menus is in English! And there is an English soundtrack. Grab it while you can! This is a limited edition, and at ten pounds a series, well worth the asking price. It's sure to become a rarity, if the puppet stays in the box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
love it :-) arrived promptly tho as everyone says the alf toy isn't like the original but I have the original and only wanted the DVDs so i'm very pleased
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
The episodes are very good quality. Recommended to all Alf fans. The Alf plushie does look like a bit different, though
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
A big fan of ALF and really really pleased with this DVD collection.
The plush ALF toy was a added bonus.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
I happened to find this TV series by chance on Amazon France because I didn't remember Alf. Now I can only say that this character is familiar to me but I don't really remember the episodes maybe because I was very young at the time. Looking forward to watching it soon! See some pictures attached! Good price (less than €30). Thank you very much!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)