Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling read.
I believe this was Peter Haining's last published title before he died and he has gone out with a bang.
Enclosed within are 'true' stories and recollections of many creepy and ghostly happenings.
Whether you believe them or not is entirely up to you but I challenge you to read them alone at night and not feel an icy chill run up your spine.
A great book for...
Published on 4 Dec 2008 by M. Crossman

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost enough ghost stories to feed a craving...
I purchased this book to feed a ghost story craving and my craving was nearly satiated. There are a few weird stories that I thought might have been put in a separate book (sexual encounters with ghosts? OK! Whatever!), but with 457 pages of actual stories, this book is a bargain. I think I love "true" ghost stories because most of the story is left out and I can wonder...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Cari Hislop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of True Hauntings (Kindle Edition)
Came in plenty of time. Looks good. Good value for money. Was pleased with the item. No problems with the purchase, would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very intresting, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
im hooked on this book, very informative and they is hundreds of documented sightings and also a section on famous ghosts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting collection, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of True Hauntings (Kindle Edition)
This is a lifetimes worth of stories, well written and some great original content. Especially loved the celebrities section where we hear about various film stars and the tales they have to tell about ghosts...great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic value for money, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of True Hauntings (Kindle Edition)
As an afficionado of true ghost tales, I've waded through through many works of wildly varying quality and originality, and have found this to be one of the best. It covers a wide range of experiences, many of which were new to me, and does so with style and verve, yes, and with a pretty high chill factor. The only comparable works I can think of are Ian Wilson's In Search of Ghosts and pretty much anything by Joan Forman or Hans Holzer. Highly recommended, a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars True Hauntings, 18 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book a little while ago, as I've always been interested in the paranormal, and I was looking for new stories that I hadn't heard before. I thought this was a good book to get as the other product reveiws were pretty good. It came in about two days,, a lot less han the estimated delivery date. As soon as I started reading it I couldn't put it down! It's got some great stories and theories and is very interesting. Good price too, as it's a very big book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best haunting book in the market, 15 Sep 2009
This book is collection of paranormal incidents in Europe and USA. There are some paranormal investigation in the book. At the end the book has glossary of commonly used ghost's names that the local people use in the Europe and around the world. Overall this book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Hauntings, 6 Mar 2010
By 
V. Heaton "Martha L." (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
True Hauntings is truely a superb collection into the paranormal.
Very interesting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressed, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Ms. L. Hall (Hebden Bridge, W. Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this book as a pressie for my mum who likes a good ghost story. The issue I have is that she is in her mid 80's and the text is absolutely tiny and she certainly won't be able to read it without a magnifying glass! Furthermore, the front cover reads a Chronology of Hauntings, Famous Ghost Hunters and SEXUAL ENCOUNTERS WITH GHOSTS!............somewhat inappropriate for the giver/recipient. Also, the first section of the book is full of extremely short stories/observations which don't even provide a shiver! The second section offers stories with a bit more depth but these are interspersed with a lot of detail about the author which is soooo boring and sooo not what I was expecting which was just a good straight forward scary easy read. Never mind. At least this review will prevent anyone with similar expectations purchasing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ghost book, 12 Jan 2010
This is a really good book which I brought as a Christmas Present for my husband, definetely worth the money, and really good value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More true than I anticipated, 23 Jan 2011
This book is both matter of fact in style and yet fascinating. Many of the stories behind the hauntings are tragic e.g. the man who was buried alive to punish him for trying to run away with a nun. At least some parts of the world are now more enlightened than that.

Reading these descriptions of hauntings (which include a few hoaxes), I feel that most of the were probably genuine. It's fairly worrying to think just how many ghosts there are. I feel so sorry for them with their obsessive compulsive behaviour, especially as some seem to "last" for over 100 years. That's a long time of unhappiness, though not all are unhappy. Some are helpful, guiding planes to prevent accidents and the ghost of Oscar Wilde just saunters around looking stylish!

I read this book after reading "The Night Side of Nature" by Catherine Crowe. Though she was writing in the 19th century and some of her interpretations of events are very different from ours, she has a similarly systematic presentation of accounts of hauntings to the Mammoth Book of True Hauntings. Neither book is spooky or sensationalist. Both books just try to tell you what people are saying about the paranormal, despite the sneers and jeers of those who don't want to take account of this information.

A much more pleasant book is "Seeing Angels" by Emma Heathcote-James. People experience angels as being reassuring and calming and inspiring whereas ghosts usually unsettle people and often terrify and dismay them. Sometimes people become so frightened that they get sick and die.

There were some simple, useful tips in "True Hauntings" for dealing with ghosts. One is to just say, "Bless you but please go away". Apparently that often works. The other is to leave some food and drink out for the ghost. A ghost which is fed will apparently be contented and not do disturbed and disturbing things.

A more complex response is to try to work out what the problem is. Sometimes a ghost wants people to know where he/she has been buried and what crime was committed causing his/her death. One endearing ghost wanted to ensure that his tobacconist got paid and that the slides borrowed for his magic lantern were returned. So if you have the patience and nerve to try to figure out what the ghost wants, then they really can go and rest in peace.

I also think that it is important to pray for their repose. A woman I talked to said that she saw a man walk off into the bush and she experienced a deep sense of chill and foreboding. She was told that it was the spirit of a man who had returned from WWII and had gone into the bush and killed himself. She very kindly went back to that spot and prayed for him. After that the sense of foreboding was gone and she felt sure he was at rest.

So let's not just giggle about how strange ghosts are and use them as tourist magnets. Let us pray for them and try to help them to complete the tasks that are worrying them.

And we should try to lead non-frantic lives so that we don't go to the grave all restless and feeling incomplete. Take the time to do the things that matter, see the people that you should see and clear your conscience. If even half the stories in this book are correct, then the time after death can be turbulent if you don't get yourself sorted out first.

You may like to do some of the meditations of Anthony De Mello. They are calming and help us to focus on what really matters. Best to do that on this side of the grave. That is the impression I get from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of True Hauntings
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews