Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! THEY'VE DONE IT AGAIN!
After their two other brilliant albums you'd be forgiven for thinking this is where they start going downhill to despair,not a chance.
This is everything i hoped for from a top band,fast,furious and fun.
IT'S A PARTY- good rocking track,nice start to let you know they're back.
WE DON'T NEED MONEY TO HAVE A GOOD TIME- very SUBWAYS,catchy and fast enough to...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by BAZ316

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Backwards step..........
The eagerly anticpated 3rd Album from the Subways is a big let down for me. Having issued a 1st album full of strong singles which glosssed over some of the weaker tracks and then seeing them follow it up with what is in my view their best record to date, I am underwhelmed.

There's nothing particualrly bad about it but it suffers the worst kind of rating for...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by M. Carritt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Backwards step.........., 7 Oct 2011
By 
M. Carritt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
The eagerly anticpated 3rd Album from the Subways is a big let down for me. Having issued a 1st album full of strong singles which glosssed over some of the weaker tracks and then seeing them follow it up with what is in my view their best record to date, I am underwhelmed.

There's nothing particualrly bad about it but it suffers the worst kind of rating for any record. It's bland. The tunes are generic Subways-lite, stifled by their own homogeneity. I've listened to this album all the way through circa 20 times and a side from one or two songs, musically I find it hard to differentiate between the songs.
Lyrically, I do not expect Bob Dylan or huge sprawling narratives but some of the lyrics on this record are banal to say the least.

I've followed The Subways since I saw them at the Reading Festival before the 1st album and to me they've been on a upward trajectory, seeing them move from playing The Vine in Leeds to holding their own when supporting AC/DC at Wembley, I expected the trend to continue. I hope this is a blip because they are a great band!
Billy , you can do so much better or maybe I'm expecting too much and should accept it for what it is........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! THEY'VE DONE IT AGAIN!, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
After their two other brilliant albums you'd be forgiven for thinking this is where they start going downhill to despair,not a chance.
This is everything i hoped for from a top band,fast,furious and fun.
IT'S A PARTY- good rocking track,nice start to let you know they're back.
WE DON'T NEED MONEY TO HAVE A GOOD TIME- very SUBWAYS,catchy and fast enough to get the blood pumping.
CELEBRITY- good point well made,another good rocking track that's ideal for a single.
I WANNA DANCE WITH YOU- keeping up the pace,soon gets you singing along.
POPDEATH- slows things down a bit,really good though.
LIKE I LOVE YOU- speeds things back up a bit,not the best perhaps,but could be a grower. I certainly don't dislike it.
MONEY- it's got a nice pace to it,the album remains strong.
KISS KISS BANG BANG- love it! Very SUBWAYS in that it soon gets you singing along. The chorus may sound a little silly,but i really like it,should be great live.
DOWN OUR STREET- it's right up mine,really good stuff. Great fun,nice feel,like it. Is it coincidence the word MADNESS is mentioned?
RUMOUR- can't fault it,no doubt another grower. A little different and it works well.
FRIDAY- it's got a great youthful sound to it,could well be a young people's anthem in no time. Very impressive that the album still sounds as good as it does,not a duff track on it.
LEAVE MY SIDE- a slower track with great guitars and a faster chrous to speed things up a bit,i really nice finishing touch to a darn good album. I can see my playing this cd for a long long time.

So there you have it. i can't fault it,it's a really impressive third album from a refreshingly stunning band with much to offer. I did get the 2 disc version,the second disc of which is mostly demos of what's on the album,but saying that,there's a couple of new tracks and very good they are too. Back to the album,i can't help but think there's a bit of a ZUTONS thing going on with some of the tracks,which i'm certainly not complaining about,but i just wonder if it's just me? However this is young sounding,professional and brilliant. If you like THE SUBWAYS,i'd say buy it,i think you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic return, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
The Subways return with new album 'Money and Celebrity' in 2011. The album is nothing short of fantastic and is a brilliant return for the trio. Free download 'It's a party' kicks off the album with a taste of things to come, followed by first single 'We don't need money to have a good time' set to be one of the bands biggest hits to date receiving great airplay from many radio stations.

If you have never heard of The Subways before now is the time. With a string of UK tour dates this autumn to coincide with the album release The Subways are set for big things over the next few months, and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money and Celebrity (MP3 Download)
I always feel The Subways are a criminally underrated band. This latest album is full of rado-friendly rock songs but somehow many people are unaware of this awesome band. Well, their loss I say - this is thoroughly excellent and I cannot recommend it enough. A particular highlight is Like I Love You, but the whole album is full of energetic pop-themed rock (but this isn't really pop-rock, its too heavy for that). Very summery and a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an absolutely amazing album, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
I have some amazing albums and this is now one of those that I class as amazing. Love the songs, love the band. Buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the SUBWAYS..., 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money and Celebrity (MP3 Download)
I assume I'm reviewing the SUBWAYS and not the CD their tunes came on.

A great British modern rock trio. Saw them several years ago at a gig and was lucky enough to stand on the T-shirt (for sale) table with the lads mum so we could get a better look/listen.

I love the sound simply because it's pretty much guitar, drums and voice - male/female depending on the track.

Check out -[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a powerful honest & beautiful affair of power pop punk, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
The reviews to this have been pretty harsh & so it was with trepidation that I began to first listen (both the LP vinyl & CD versions). 'It's A Party' has shades of Blur & why not because producer Stephen Street is now at the controls and it is a strong opening with our dynamic trio in fine form. 'We Don't Need Money To Have a Good Time' once I knew the real inspiration that was behind this song then it became more meaningful & powerful "no reservations no hesitations no bad reactions just celebration". 'Celebrity' is excellent via strong lyrics "she's got a dream & she'll never stop until she's dancing at the top" "she wants to be a celebrity with a face in a magazine" & drives along with again some elements of Blur. The album has been criticized for its poor lyrics but they are fine & perhaps even stronger than those of their first two outings. 'I Wanna Dance With You' as Billy & Charlotte sing together is again no pretext for intellectualism but simply good happy music. Next 'Popdeath' though is more reflective & gentler "too much sex & rock'n'roll" followed by a fine classic style guitar break. 'Like I Love You' again typical Subways energy with those trademark stuttering guitar chords as Charlotte sings "stop tearing out my heart". 'Money' back to a grinding chord fest "whoa oh oh". 'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang' is probably the star track & will surely become a live favourite "She's a devil with a kiss kiss bang bang bad blood running through her veins" apparently written about a fiery relationship between 2 lovers. 'Down Our Street' veers more towards pop & really like this "she walks around with no clothes on & her boyfriend is a Spurs supporter", great number with some shades of Madness. 'Rumour' is metal but with a psych 60s feel. 'Friday' another beautiful supercharged affair. 'Leave My Side' the most melodic here. Some of the criticisms are a little correct about it being samey, also wanting more of their acoustic type numbers & Charlotte's vocals, but nevertheless this is a powerful honest & beautiful affair of power pop punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
Not a patch on the last two albums. I love The Subways, and I'll continue to listen to this album because of that, but I have a horrible feeling they will continue to go downhill with their music. This album is boring and the lyrics just aren't up to scratch, the songs all sound the same and it just doesn't connect. I just hope I'm wrong and their fourth attempt will bring them back up to the standard of Young for Eternity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Nov 2011
By 
lou (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
Personally i think that this is equally as amazing as their other 2 albums! Love it. Subways.... carrying on making great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subways Money and Celebrity, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money And Celebrity (Audio CD)
A must buy for all Subways fans or those who want something to rock out to. An instant like for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Money And Celebrity
Money And Celebrity by The Subways (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews