Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good hiking / trekking watch
I purchased this watch a couple of months ago to use mainly for hiking as it is waterproof and has a compass. I have found the compass to be very useful and very accurate once properly calibrated. The watch is also smart enough to use in the office and the face is easy to read with nice big numbers. However, it is quite chunky so you may find that it does not fit...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. M. Freemantle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning watch ...... yet mechanism could be better
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, yet many, like myself, will find this watch looks stunning ..... especially after opening the dull, uninspiring box!!
With a case diameter of 4.2cm and such a thin bezel, the dial is very large, making this watch very easy to read. The Indiglo produces a very pleasant bright light.

As per description, the watch is...
Published 2 months ago by A. Camilleri


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good hiking / trekking watch, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. M. Freemantle "Dedicated Muppet" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
I purchased this watch a couple of months ago to use mainly for hiking as it is waterproof and has a compass. I have found the compass to be very useful and very accurate once properly calibrated. The watch is also smart enough to use in the office and the face is easy to read with nice big numbers. However, it is quite chunky so you may find that it does not fit within all shirt sleeves. Also, it seems to be quite durable as I have dropped it a few times by accident on to various surfaces and it is still working without a scratch. The only reason I gave this product four out of five stars rather than five out of five stars is the strap; while it is very soft and looks smart it does seem to have warn considerably in only two months of use but this is a part of the watch that can be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning watch ...... yet mechanism could be better, 25 Jan 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, yet many, like myself, will find this watch looks stunning ..... especially after opening the dull, uninspiring box!!
With a case diameter of 4.2cm and such a thin bezel, the dial is very large, making this watch very easy to read. The Indiglo produces a very pleasant bright light.

As per description, the watch is very well specified, with 100 meters water resistance and sporting a compass.

Now to the not so glamorous part of the review:

Compass is hit and miss. Even after calibrating the watch numerous times (and yes I stay away from magnetic field areas during calibration), the compass fails to indicate correctly more often than not. You would still need to carry a compass for trekking, and a cheap compass will produce better results. This defeats the whole point of having a compass in the first place.
So a definite fail in this arena...and hence a star knocked off.

I could be nit picking here, but the fact that the second hand does not stop on the corresponding markers really bothers me. In contrast to automatic or hand wound watches, where the second hand just glides graciously around the dial, the quartz watches' moves once per second. I have no quibble with that yet when the second hand is not aligned well with the indicated ticks, than that's another story. ... and hence another star off. And its not a matter of a simple offset, as it tends to overshoot in the first 20 seconds, and undershoot in the final 20 seconds.

The leather strap looks and feels really well made yet I cannot comment on it's longevity (as I collect watches).

I do feel that Timex is not keeping up with the competition when it comes to the watch mechanism and movement. The surely do a great job in design though.

I cannot really recommend this watch for use in the field without a backup compass. Yet if you are looking for a great looking watch and not really finicky about the points I mentioned, than all I can say is that you get a lot of watch for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
This watch is a very nice one which my wife bought me for Christmas, it does what it says on the box.
Comfortable fit, there's a plus my wife says I'll never get lost with the built in compass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Timex self-destruct mechanism, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
Very foolishly I bought one of these watches shortly after having one of the Timex Expedition watches which became useless after the shaft for the middle time adjustment knob broke. This happened just over a year after purchase and Timex refused to repair the watch.
Yesterday, about 6 months after purchasing a replacement exactly the same thing has happened with a different model.
Ironically I bought a 10 reproduction Russian Army watch at the same time and it is still working perfectly.
The Timex watches are poorly designed and flimsily built, stay clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars groovy, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
Looks nice, accurate, did not calibrate compass yet, good quality solid feel, i like timex watches, they have good designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smart watch, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
Nice chunky feel, bright night light and easy to read dial. Compass accuracy a bit variable, but it looks so good I don't care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comment, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
After ten days (changed for the black chrono,who's paint started coming off the bezel after only six weeks) I'm really pleased. No probs. works a treat and accurate. Easy to set up and good looks. Recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compass does not work correctly., 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Intelligent Quartz Men's Compass Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Brown Leather - T2N725 (Watch)
I bought this as a present, but find that the compass does not read correctly. After re calibrating many times, the compass is still useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa637d1b0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews