Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy
Really liked this book, historical fiction i really enjoy, at times with the devil beast it swayed to being a bit of a fantasy. Apart from that all the chapters going on about the troubles in the middle east i found quite interesting. Have already down loaded the next instalment.
Published 13 months ago by mark.kilby

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible
This is quite possibly the worst book I've ever read. The basis of the story is good, but the author's compulsion to over-explain everything, and the amateurish attempts to build tension made for a very frustrating and disappointing read. I'm glad it was cheap!
Published 17 months ago by ChrisH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is quite possibly the worst book I've ever read. The basis of the story is good, but the author's compulsion to over-explain everything, and the amateurish attempts to build tension made for a very frustrating and disappointing read. I'm glad it was cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather a hotch-potch of themes., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this and the 2nd book straight after each other, which kept the momentum of the story flowing. Arnold has clearly researched ancient and modern history against which the premise of these stories is set. Unfortunately his desire to inform the reader of historical fact slows the pace of the narrative for no really good reason. I skim read large sections of the lectures without feeling that I lost anything. My main gripe is that the author is not really sure who his audience is. There are some fantasy warrior figures that seem to segue from statues, so is this supposed to be a sci-fi fantasy? There are shadowy powerful figures manipulating world events - is this supposed to be a conspiracy story? There are US marines, a renowned historian and his trusted, attractive female assistant all apparently investigating a long-hid ziggurat built into a mountainside. Trying to stop all this are jihadi suicide warriors who might or might not know what is inside the mountain. So this might be seen in the same light as Dan Browne's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was going to be a good book after the first chapter or 2, but then things took a turn for the worse with the insertion of a seemingly random chapter on Iranian politics. It then returns to the story and manages to bundle along implausibly until more Iranian politics crops up. It settles down into a rhythm of 2 or 3 plot line chapters, more Iran, 2 or plotline chapters, then more Iran - at one point even we were treated to an entire UN Security Council discussion on ..... yes, Iran.
If you're starting to lose the will then hang on - because it gets so bad it's brilliant, with the discovery of a secret Sumerian temple, hidden in a mountain - yes, that's right ... hidden in a mountain, which the protagonists manage to get trapped inside and cannot get out. Which is probably good in the round, because if they could get out then we wouldn't know about the 6,000 year old half man/half horse/lion thing that still lives in there and posesses a big, shiny knife. What it does with the knife I'll leave to your imagination.

Overall, it started well but the writing is almost childlike in places, and is so bogged down in irrelevant historic detail, much of which is delivered via lengthy, clumsily written dialogue, that entire chapters are given up to conversations that you don't need to know about anyway. I don't know how it got past the publishers' editing team.

Oh, and those chapters on Iran - there's a point to them, right ?
Well, it turns out no, there's not. It just helps explain where some rockets came from. Hmmm, that was worth it wasn't it ? Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars where is book three, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great read but Where is book 3 in the set does anyone no where to find it paper back or kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really liked this book, historical fiction i really enjoy, at times with the devil beast it swayed to being a bit of a fantasy. Apart from that all the chapters going on about the troubles in the middle east i found quite interesting. Have already down loaded the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clumsily written and overly detailed, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Damon Jebb (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a story that had a great deal of potential, but it was spoiled for me by the author's insistence on putting in two things;

1) A sequence of chapters written in a news report style which attempt to set a contemporary context for the region in which the story is based. They fail miserably and I ended up simply skipping the entire chapter each time one of these was presented.
2) The author is clearly an expert in the subject of the Akkadian/babylonian era but his attempts to inject interest by adding minute detail of the history fails to generate interest and adds little to the story

I found the book tedious and hard going and would not have finished it without skipping large tracts of irrelevant detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Palladian Dynasty, 11 Sep 2013
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Total hogwash.No author should use his misplaced beliefs in his writings.It does nothing to help the plot.This was based on.badly researched archaeology.Not a grain of belief can be attached to this waste of what could have been a good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the story to begin with, but found the chapters on the political situations distracting from the whole point of the story. once I had fast tracked these chapters the story is intriguing. unfortunately I had read the extract of the following book and realised I had read that one first. The story is quite hard to follow. However I realise an enormous amount of research went into the material, and all credit goes to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars did enjoy thou skip it a bit, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
its not a bad read thou has other reviews did skip a few pages good story but took a while to get there and what happen to the demon thingy that was killing them all in the first book perhaps he went back to the stars, could have been brilliant fiction if he,d cut to the chase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, if meandering, story, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akkadian Dynasty (Akkadian Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that the chapters that focused on the current political events within which the story is based did not do a lot for me. I know they set the scene but I felt there was a little too much volume here.

This did not however mean I didn't like the story - in fact I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like the historical detail that the author brought to the story as well as the introducing of strands of alternative thinking as well.

The result was a good read - I was into this as we were packing to move house and it was the perfect book to get lost in as a means to relax at the end of a busy evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews