Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
17
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2013
This book is quite an interesting read in the area of unsolved homicides & serial killings from around the world. It is quite hefty so you will certainly find some interesting cases. What I really liked about this book is the depth & breath of cases covered!

Cases covered range from The Austin servant slayer killings which predated Jack the Ripper , to an Atlanta ripper style killer whose only known description is said to have been that of a smartly dressed colored gentleman ! There are also modern cases some of which are less well known for example Atlanta`s own Son of Sam style killer in 1977 ....
Some murders written about happened in Ireland ,Scotland,Argentina etc.

For a single volume it presents an exhaustive well research effort by the author into killers at large. This book is certainly worth reading if you like the more scarier violent unsolved murders ranging from pre- Jack the Ripper all the way to the late 90`s , however some of the killers mentioned in the book are no longer at large as some of the cases have been solved via DNA e.g the Glasgow strangling of a prostitute on a bitterly cold morning, and one of the woman who was raped,murdered and dumped in a mountain in Ireland around 1979 ....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Some evil killers here! What scares you the most is the fact some of them are walking amongst us send shivers down your spine just thinking about it! It's a shame they can't catch them all. I thought they found out bible John was Peter Tobin!? And jack the stripper could of been that Welsh killer Harold jones?
And Steve Wright as been linked to some of the killings in this book. But this book was obviously written before they knew this. A very interesting but scary book. I wouldn't read it on your own late at night though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
This book put me off more than a little by the long list of Mammoth Book titles inside the front cover. For example
The Mammoth Book of Errotic literature, but there are plenty of other dubious sounding Mammoth titles.
This particular Mammoth tome obviously deals with Killers at Large and therefore loses some interest as many of the killers are not captured or only suspected of the crimes. The most interesting segment for me is on the Guatamalan
mass killings of the population during Guatamala's recent bloody past.I must have known of this terrible history but it had got lost in all the other horrors that we are constantly bombarded with.
A book to dip into rather then read from cover to cover(for me anyway).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Very interesting unsolved serial killer compendium,that is well put together and couldn't put down.Would recommend to anybody into true crime or forensic criminology.Far better than any other anthology of unsolved crimes for me ,worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
After a while I grew sad and tried of reading about killers still on the loose, I am pleased that I do not live in America even though these offences are world wide. It did bring home the inconsistency in state laws and their application.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
The title should read 'American only' killers at large. Some of the stories were far too long with too much unnecessary detail and several were, to my mind, 'scraping the bottom of the barrel'. I doubt if many british readers would either know, or care about the majority of cases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I bought this as a like books like this, but felt this wasnt as good as i thought it would be, although it wasnt bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Its frightening to think they are OUT THERE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Very interesting read opened my eyes.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Got a little boring 3/4 through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)