Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2012
This 2 disc set contains the very best of The Man From Atlantis - the quartet of TV movies. Sadly, when it went to standard 50 minute episodes, the quality dropped and most of the episodes were - frankly - awful.

The opening pilot tells the story of a mysterious man, green eyed and with gills and webbed fingers, washed ashore and found by Navy doctor Elizabeth Merrill. She realises he needs to immerse himself in water at regular intervals and may be the last survivor of Atlantis. He learns to speak English and she gives him the name Mark Harris. Mark agrees to undertake a mission for the Navy and this leads to his first encounter with the villainous Mr Schubert.

The pilot is well made and handles the concept with considerable skill, though I think some acknowledgement should have been made to Marvel Comics - the character isn't a million miles away from Prince Namor, the Submariner. In the second movie, Elizabeth has left the Navy and has joined the Foundation For Oceanic Research, taking Mark with her. This introduces CW Crawford, their boss, and Elizabeth's partner Miller Simon. This latter character would be written out after the four movies. We also encounter the submarine Cetacean and it's crew - though after the movies the crew would be replaced by a new one.

The 4 movies are all of a high standard and treat the concept seriously and intelligently. This set is highly recommended, but venture into The Complete Television Series at your peril!
22 comments17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
I've been waiting a while for this show to be released on DVD, and now it's finally arrived, I'm not disappointed.

I expected the quality to be seriously dodgy - poor picture and/or sound - but that's not the case. There are a couple of scenes in the pilot where the colour looks a little off (or maybe Pat's tan really did look like that?), but other than this, I was really surprised by how good the show looks. The colours are all bright and vibrant and there's no noise to speak of. I've seen shows from the 90's that don't look this good. I have no complaints regarding the sound quality either, it's not muffled or dull. All in all, it's a very well produced DVD & I have absolutely no complaints.

There are no extras at all on the DVD, not even English language subtitles, but I didn't expect them and certainly don't require them.

The show itself is complete mindless, fun for the sake of fun, Saturday afternoon entertainment. Some of the plots don't make sense, and the ones that do are rediculous. But it's awesome: non-taxing, good-natured fun. A *very* welcome addition to my DVD collection.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
The Man from Atlantis first premiered back in 1977 Wether you remember the series on its initial run or just viewing it for the very first time As a curiosity to the latest TV offering Atlantis you will on these four movies find something of real interest .The pilot episode introduces us to The Man from Atlantis played by Patrick Duffy found washed up on a beach and rescued by Dr Elizabeth Merril played by Belinda J Montgomery we soon learn this is no normal human being He his found to have gills given the name Mark Harris and sent to work for the government He is soon sent on a mission to locate missing scientists This is were we get to see Mark swim underwater And were the movie really hits it stride you can still view these scenes today And wonder just how they did that. The underwater scenes with Duffy swimming are really that good The villain of the piece is played by Victor Buno King Tut in Batman. In his underwater lair Buno almost steals the movie in his over the top performance And would return in episodes of The TV series playing the same character. The pilot movie spawned Three other made for TV movies and this is what you get on this collection And for the time these were made They hold up really well Excellent Science fiction plots The chemistry between Duffy & Montgomery just gets better with each movie The Discs themselves Though no extras show real vibrant colours even some of the night underwater scenes really show up clear you can tell they have done some remastering for this DVD release. Man From Atlantis would go on to spawn a 13 episode series before its cancellation But that's another story. Patrick Duffy would go on to star in another little known TV series of the time Dallas The rest as they say is history But just what did happen to Belinda J Montgomery. If you are looking for a bit of TV nostalgia or just another look at what might have been These four movies are just another reminder of TV Science Fictions Golden Age.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 July 2014
This set of the four TV movies commencing the Man from Atlantis series are of very good quality and well worth a watch.
Fans of Patrick Duffy will be happy to see their man in a role he filmed just prior to his long stint in Dallas.
Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
great release, takes you right back to the 70's
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
DVD received, blister packing, fast dispatch and care, perfect viewing without skipping movie, no scratches on the DVD but I haven't watching because there have audio only in english.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This brings back memories. Very good and seems to held up over the years. Good quality and plan on my DVD player which is multi region
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
brilliant i remember watching it when it first came out on tv. yet another must have for my collection
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
If you feel like a trip down memory lane, this is your chance. Suspend serious dramatic criticism and wallow in silly stories with Patrick Duffy in yellow swimming trunks. He was such a lovely young man! Unlike other critics, I think the TV movies weren't as good as the episodes, especially the one with Patrick in the wild west. Enough said!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Another classiuc 70's series my wife found and ordered for me,its a pleasure to add it to my growing collection.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse