Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start for The Man From Atlantis
This 2 disc set contains the very best of The Man From Atlantis - the quartet of TV movies. Sadly, when it went to standard 50 minute episodes, the quality dropped and most of the episodes were - frankly - awful.

The opening pilot tells the story of a mysterious man, green eyed and with gills and webbed fingers, washed ashore and found by Navy doctor Elizabeth...
Published on 7 Aug. 2012 by Christopher Nash

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trivial nostalgia
If you feel like a trip down memory lane, this is your chance. Suspend serious dramatic criticism and wallow in silly stories with Patrick Duffy in yellow swimming trunks. He was such a lovely young man! Unlike other critics, I think the TV movies weren't as good as the episodes, especially the one with Patrick in the wild west. Enough said!
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by Lynnz15


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start for The Man From Atlantis, 7 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2 disc set contains the very best of The Man From Atlantis - the quartet of TV movies. Sadly, when it went to standard 50 minute episodes, the quality dropped and most of the episodes were - frankly - awful.

The opening pilot tells the story of a mysterious man, green eyed and with gills and webbed fingers, washed ashore and found by Navy doctor Elizabeth Merrill. She realises he needs to immerse himself in water at regular intervals and may be the last survivor of Atlantis. He learns to speak English and she gives him the name Mark Harris. Mark agrees to undertake a mission for the Navy and this leads to his first encounter with the villainous Mr Schubert.

The pilot is well made and handles the concept with considerable skill, though I think some acknowledgement should have been made to Marvel Comics - the character isn't a million miles away from Prince Namor, the Submariner. In the second movie, Elizabeth has left the Navy and has joined the Foundation For Oceanic Research, taking Mark with her. This introduces CW Crawford, their boss, and Elizabeth's partner Miller Simon. This latter character would be written out after the four movies. We also encounter the submarine Cetacean and it's crew - though after the movies the crew would be replaced by a new one.

The 4 movies are all of a high standard and treat the concept seriously and intelligently. This set is highly recommended, but venture into The Complete Television Series at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete "Television" series, 15 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If (like myself) you're thinking of buying this expecting the pilot episode, think again. Starts with Meltdown which is episode 5 in the series. The first four are on another DVD compilation, Complete TV "Movies".
Episodes on this Television compilation are: Meltdown: Mudworm: Hawk Of Mu: Giant: Man O' War: Shoot Out At Lands End: Crystal Water, Sudden Death: The Naked Montague: C.W. Hyde: Scavenger Hunt: Imp: Siren: Deadly Carnival.
There are no subtitles available, only English audio, and no added extras. Both video and audio are what you'd expect of the 70's era, not top of the range. It's decent enough and if you remember the series and are looking for some nostalgia, then it's worth buying.
>
>
> *EDIT*: Buyer beware, Amazon have placed this review for the Complete "Television" Series on both the "Television" Series AND the "Movie" Compilation.
Unless buying both, ensure you pick the correct one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been waiting a while for this show to be released on DVD, and now it's finally arrived, I'm not disappointed.

I expected the quality to be seriously dodgy - poor picture and/or sound - but that's not the case. There are a couple of scenes in the pilot where the colour looks a little off (or maybe Pat's tan really did look like that?), but other than this, I was really surprised by how good the show looks. The colours are all bright and vibrant and there's no noise to speak of. I've seen shows from the 90's that don't look this good. I have no complaints regarding the sound quality either, it's not muffled or dull. All in all, it's a very well produced DVD & I have absolutely no complaints.

There are no extras at all on the DVD, not even English language subtitles, but I didn't expect them and certainly don't require them.

The show itself is complete mindless, fun for the sake of fun, Saturday afternoon entertainment. Some of the plots don't make sense, and the ones that do are rediculous. But it's awesome: non-taxing, good-natured fun. A *very* welcome addition to my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four good quality stories, 4 July 2014
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set of the four TV movies commencing the Man from Atlantis series are of very good quality and well worth a watch.
Fans of Patrick Duffy will be happy to see their man in a role he filmed just prior to his long stint in Dallas.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was fun, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
maybe far fetched and not as enjoyable as it was first time around but still worth a trip down memory lane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ask Refund, 14 April 2014
By 
Liberatore Jc - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
DVD received, blister packing, fast dispatch and care, perfect viewing without skipping movie, no scratches on the DVD but I haven't watching because there have audio only in english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLEARLY THE BEST OF TV, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Yes I was very young when this came out first but I did like it then, but now I'm hooked it's dated of course, you can see the strings on the monsters but overlook this and enjoy the era we just about remember, no sex or filthy words to be concerned with enjoyable family programming even a three yr old was watching it laughing at him swimming so I'm pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes i loved it it's a pity that the pilot movie was not included as well becouse you can't watch the tv series without the pilot, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great series a bit disappointed that the pilot movie was not there as that would make 5 DVD discs. But anyway it's a brilliant tv series is it available on Blu-Ray?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Man From Atlantis: Complete Television Series [DVD] [1977] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This brings back memories. Very good and seems to held up over the years. Good quality and plan on my DVD player which is multi region
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great release, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great release, takes you right back to the 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews