Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you would expect from a David Attenborough Documentary, with the bonus of 3D.
We have all come to expect a certain quality and commitment to science, from documentary films associated with David Attenborough and this is no different. Despite having no link to the BBC, this has the same underlying premises as all the great documentaries going back many years, like Planet Earth & Life .

So we are introduced to the serious science which...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Bruce

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite a hit.
The concept of investigating the history of aviation through the animation of flying animals from prehistory is an intriguing one and, I think, partly successful. I wonder if these monsters flew over Gondwanaland? Why else would a dinosaur with a wingspan of thirty feet be granted the ability to glide half way round the globe with a twitch or of a wing muscle...
Published 6 months ago by spotty


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you would expect from a David Attenborough Documentary, with the bonus of 3D., 2 Feb 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
We have all come to expect a certain quality and commitment to science, from documentary films associated with David Attenborough and this is no different. Despite having no link to the BBC, this has the same underlying premises as all the great documentaries going back many years, like Planet Earth & Life .

So we are introduced to the serious science which shows how the fossil record has been discovered and analysed, starting with Mary Anning in Lyme Regis - to document the whole story of how dinosaurs took to the skies and eventualy evolved into Birds.

David is shown in various real-world locations in stunning HD and 3D - then animations are gradually introduced, to show what these creatures looked like and how they flew - developing things like hollow bones and different shaped beaks and wings.

There are some wonderful sequences where bones are animated and lifted out of their fossil base, to become first the complete skeleton in 3D and then into wire frame creatures, as well as the complete thing.

The "making of" documentary shows how the animators were allowed no licence - their creations had to be verified by scientists and experts in this field, to be the best possible representations, based on the data we have. Attenborough explains how he is proud to be involved in popularising the story of the evolution of flight and especially in 3D.

This is an entertaining film and the 3D certainly adds to this - we can see how the creatures actually moved and you get more of a sense of them being living animals, rather than projections. The overall package is nicely presented with a lenticular 3D image on the cover.

You basically get the 3D documentary and a 2D extra showing how it was made. But the latter shows the huge amount of work that went into this and the difficulties of filming in 3D, with tons of equipment. So this is a worthy addition to the Attenborough catalogue and one that is a "must-have" for anybody with a 3D TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D Trial., 20 July 2012
By 
Denis Halls (Folkestone SE England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having recently bought a 3D LED TV I needed a good reliable Blueray 3D DVD to try it out and thought that a documentary like this would be a good inexpensive tester before launching into regular films. Very impressed. The 3D effect is exactly as expected and makes for enjoyable watching. Anybody that gives this a negative at any level just hasn't got their 3D TV or 3D equipment set up properly. A great 3D test and fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive feat, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This documentary is an interesting tale of the evolution of land reptiles to flying 'monsters' detailing the incremental steps that are evident through the discovery and detailed analysis of fossils around the world.

The 3D quality is very good (and apparently very difficult and expensive to film), and seeing David Attenborough in 3D is a selling point alone. The legend, as always, brings fantastic commentary and unique authority to the topic.

I recommend.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Monsters Viewed on a 42" LG (Passive) 3D, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
3 reasons to buy this Blu-ray: 1. David Attenborough, 2. The 3D is *amazing* and shows off your 1080p TV perfectly, 3. Value! Just over 7 quid (at the time of writing) for something the whole family can enjoy. A thoroughly recommended start to anybody's 3D collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 3D joy to behold!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A thoroughly great introduction to how 3D TV can actually do more than 2D. Of course it helps that we have the ever great David Attenborough on board - and here he is reveling in three dimensions and showing us details from the fossil record that are better explained by putting the objects right in front of us and giving us a real sense of what the scientists can see and what they have discovered. For about £7 on Amazon, it's a bargain, and a must-have for 3D-TVs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough at his best!, 4 Jan 2013
By 
U. Breimaier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Living in south-eastern Germany not too far from Solnhofen where many flying reptiles have been excavated from lithographic limestone, I have long been an admirer of pterosaurs. And for decades now, I have been admiring Sir David Attenborough for his documentary work. This one is just superb! How he has exerted himself again - at age 84! - in order to present his work showing breathtaking shots is simply applaudable. Not to speak of the great 3D techniques... Don't wait too long, folks: Get it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 3D experience, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Very few 3D films live up to expectations but this one does. The depth is great and the terasaurs actually seem to be flying outside the TV. A good addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping, 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I would rate this as the best 3D production I've seen so far. All the quality of documentary that you'd expect from David Attenborough along with appealing special effects and convincing CGI dinosaurs. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D & Content, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Terry Daniels "Beebop" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
David Attenborough...... his usual brilliant self. Content very good indeed. 3D amazing. An excellent DVD and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome 3D, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have just watched this for the first time and was blown away by the 3D, this is by far the best 3D that I have seen in a long while and would give it 10 out of 10 if I could. If you want to show off your 3D setup then this programe along with Avatar are a must. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free]
Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [Region Free] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews