Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
The story was an adult romance. We did not have to watch them having sex, or eating each others face off!!!
The acting was great (usually English movies have better actors then the U.S. A.)
Published 19 months ago by barbara simas

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Films
I adore Colin Firth so it pains me to caution against buying this DVD, but this is not due to his performance because he was brilliant as always. But even he could not save this film. The script was a mess and the cliche-ridden director of the piece kept dunking it in an awfully gluey-mess of patronizing contradictions. This must be Firth's only collaborative...
Published on 29 Oct. 2011 by Egenti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
The story was an adult romance. We did not have to watch them having sex, or eating each others face off!!!
The acting was great (usually English movies have better actors then the U.S. A.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Laughter Takes You to a Secret World, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
Hats off to Colin Firth and Nia Long for their performances in this hidden jewel! I adore this movie because it gives us rare insight into a culture that you'd be hard pressed to find in Hollywood filmmaking. The script is exceptional; the cinematography is flawless and the characters are beguiling. The young actor that plays Sammi is absolutely beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Firth fan., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this to Colin Firth fans, unusual story, good acting, easy to watch, loved the characters Mark, Nime and Sammy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin FIRTH, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
i'ts very funny and it's good family viewing and it was enjoyable to watch and t the clothes of Nia Long and her family were beautiful to see Elizabeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful for the eye., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though it was not the best story, I really liked this film. I would have wanted more background of this exile Nigerian community in southern France, I found that fascinating. The characters were a bit complex and the relationships lacked depth, however I was totally swept away by the most captivating colourful surroundings and fabrics. It's a treat for the eye. Nia Long was stunning as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Films, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
I adore Colin Firth so it pains me to caution against buying this DVD, but this is not due to his performance because he was brilliant as always. But even he could not save this film. The script was a mess and the cliche-ridden director of the piece kept dunking it in an awfully gluey-mess of patronizing contradictions. This must be Firth's only collaborative disappointment in Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining viewing, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
easy to watch & a good story line enough to keep you watching to the end of movie & its happy conclustion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The story is not necessarily bad but the plot, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely dreadful. The story is not necessarily bad but the plot, delivery and production did it no justice at all and jumped from place to place, no real opportunity to get to know or understand the characters. As a Nigerian myself the most nigerian thing about the community were their attire and that's about it. Lastly, the cliches were particularly horrendous, bordering on offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointingly tedious. Stilted acting, jumpy plot - a bit like a student's first go at film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but.., 20 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] (DVD)
Colin Firth is as English (and inexpressive ) as normal. The film is really about the relationships and attitudes of the family of a black family to life and marriage in particular. It has a few funny moments but I wouldn't bother watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD]
The Secret Laughter of Women [DVD] by Peter Schwabach (DVD - 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews