Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2015
A pre-Code Hollywood masterpiece and the finest film adaptation so far of H G Wells' disturbing novel about a vivisectionist who believes he has beaten evolution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
I've been waiting for this one for years. It's just great, far and away the best version of Doctor Moreau on film. The book is, in my opinion, Wells' best work, so it's a win win here. I've only ever seen this once on a ropey VHS in Africa, so a spanking high quality copy will be just great. Now, if only someone would release 'Mask of Fu Manchu'...
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
A really good film that shows that you don't need todays special effects for a film to be good. Get it, watch it...you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
A Brilliantly Eerie horror Classic.The Black and White Imagery does wonders for the Atmosphere and Laughton is Chilling as the Doctor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
been waiting to see this for so long. it was well worth the wait. great atmosphere and the best film version of the story i've seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
The steelbook is great. It's also nice to actually get a booklet with discs anymore. The quality of the film is outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
This title has been very hard to get hold of, but finally, its here! This is a fantastic film and Charles Laughton is absolutely blow away fantastic! He is an actor's actor & steals every scene with ease. The Panther Woman (KATH BURKE)is exotic & erotic at the same time, & again, is one of the many things you will remember watching this film. Island Of Lost Souls is a horror movie which should be up there with Lugosi's Dracula & Karloff's Frankenstein. it most definatly stands the test of time. However... as for the BluRay Hi defintion look, no, sorry, doesn't really cut the mustard. Don't get me wrong, the film looks great, but not to bluray standards. Now, I know alot of fans of the genre are already putting pen to paper to tell me "I'm wrong", & "remember the age of the film", but stop it NOW! Films like The Wizard of Oz, Gone with the Wind & Snow white & the seven dwarfs look magnificent because the studios involved in the transfers took their time, money & effort in showing us (the general public) what can be done to a classic old film. Its so important to criticise the bluray transfer because when Universal decide to transfer the forementioned Dracula & Frankenstein they get it right. We don't just want to watch Lugosi as Dracula, but, (with the help of a great transfer), have him in our living rooms giving it the old "children of the night" routine. We want to be launched to the top of the tower when Karloff's monster is being fed the electricity. This can be done, we've all seen it. Don't take second best when it comes to 'our' classics (you know who you are)? Insist on the best & the cleanest bluray transfers - We Monster Lovers deserve it.
66 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
A masterpiece with a nice booklet inside (not simply a different box). Good price too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Excellent addition to my collection. Delivery & service 1st class, i'm very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
... for those fans of this staggeringly good movie who are living in the UK and howling at the moon waiting for the Eureka DVD, the film has just been released in the US by the ever-dependable Criterion Collection, in a glorious new, restored edition with lots of extras, and it's garnering unqualified raves. So. If you have a multi-region player...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)