Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Get Digital
Any potential reader's first question about a how-to book should be, does the author know what he is talking about? In David Gaughran's case, it might be reasonable to wonder. He's published a few short stories and this book. While that might not seem like much in the way of experience, it also proves one of his contentions, that self-publishing is something that anyone...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by BigAl

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Motivator
First off, this is not a "How to", but is a good kick up the backside as to why you should. If you've already failed the scenic route, agents and publishers all rejecting you, then perhaps you should try the alternative. Guaghran writes well in an informative manner but you will still have to do the hard work yourself.
One thing I disagree with is paying for...
Published 13 months ago by William J. Fox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Full of useful information, upbeat style, lots of material to help the writer self-publish. I especially liked the individual stories of self-published writers. Can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars engaging , lively and enthusiastic, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. Nicholas P. G. Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very enjoyable book, and the author comes across as interesting and lively. He has good advice for all those of us who want to launch our writings into the digital world. He reminds us that writing has to be good, and presented well, however it comes to publication. However the digital world is opening up publishing, and takes it past the opinions of editors at publishers, and instead allows us as readers to dot he reviewing and assessment of worth post publication.

If you've got a novel tucked away in a draw upstairs, the digital age gives you a chance to see if those rejection letter were right, or if in fact you're sat on a gem that readers will love.

A good book about writing and the new digital context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Life-Saver!, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This fantastic book is a must-read for any aspiring e-book author. David makes sound and compelling arguments for self-publishing, and then holds your hand throughout the execution of turning your manuscript into a finished high-quality e-book. And just in case you were still unsure about making the leap, David gives you a final nudge with the inclusion of inspirational interviews with successful e-book authors. What's not to love? Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I've read about self-publishing in the new digital environment. I found it highly informative and enjoyable. It gives a readable, detailed and thought out description of the situation at time of writing. The publishing industry at the moment is in flux so I was delighted to find that the Resources section is full of useful links which will help me to stay up-to-date.

There's a lot of factual information in the book. I'm now more aware of what decisions are important as I embark on my self-publishing journey.

I would recommend this book to anyone who's thinking of self-publishing.

Off to release my first story... can't wait to get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - a must-read for self-publishers, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well-reasoned, well-informed and backed up by his own experience and that of others. Worth reading just for the arguments about why you shouldn't worry about piracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for Potential Self-Publishers, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well-written and thoughtful self-published guide to self-publishing. David Gaughran is an advocate for online self-publishing who avoids the zealotry of the convert and pays due respect to other opinions, all the time being clear in his own belief that the world has changed and for the better. You don't have to agree with every point made to believe that we are only at the beginning of the transformation of the publishing industry.

"Let's Get Digital" is at its most persuasive when the virtues of the new world for unpublished writers are extolled. The argument that exciting opportunities now exist for aspiring writers to get their work into the public space is made forcefully, and I am sure I am not the only person to have taken the plunge after reading this book. If you are currently umming and ahhing about self-publishing, "Let's Get Digital" is strongly recommended.

"The most satisfying aspect [of self-publishing]? The freedom to write whatever you like and publish it when it's ready. It's a great time to be a writer."

Hear, hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digitally Mastered, 19 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We downloaded Let's Get Digital because we've been thinking about self publishing for a while, but didn't know where to start. David's book is incredibly inspiring, informative easy to read and has a section of really useful links at the back for further information. It starts with why you should self e-publish then moves on to how to self publish before giving 33 stories from authors who have self e-published their own books and had huge success. We highly recommend this book to anyone thinking about self e-publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for e-book writer/publishers, 7 Dec 2011
By 
R. Mcneill "rbmcneill" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Let's Get Digital covers every aspect of publishing with Amazon's Kindle and other e-book stores. A well-written, entertaining and hugely informative book.

A must-buy for anyone considering this increasingly popular publishing platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For prospective ebook authors a must read, 26 Sep 2011
By 
B. Searle "Brysea" (Abergavenny, Monmouthshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Their are many books on the subject of ebook authoring. But this is a must read.Covering all aspects of how to get you book up and running, and hopefully future wealth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Advice and an Inspiring Read, 31 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Digital: How To Self-Publish, And Why You Should: Updated Second Edition (Let's Get Publishing Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
With feet placed securely on the ground, David Gaughran leads the reader through the state of the industry as it is now, tips for bringing work to market, and ensuring it is seen. I've already embraced indie authoring for my back-list, but "Let's Get Digital" was more than worth the money for its worthwhile suggestions. The appendices are superb, and I'd like to thank all the individual authors who shared their experiences, and their sales figures, for being so candid. Overall I consider it to be an invaluable aid to anyone on the brink wondering which way to jump. Jump this way first, you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews