Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not outstanding
Lou Mason, a defence lawyer, is called on to defend "Blues", a club-owner who is also Lou's investigator. Blues is accused of the murder of a very influential local lawyer as the pair had argued earlier. This is not a legal thriller in the traditional sense in that there is very little courtroom action.

Lou acts as the investigator as he tries to get Blues...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by johnverp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to shout about.
I have read similar story lines, characterisation not bad but didn't make me want to rush onto the next in the series.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs J Dench


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not outstanding, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Lou Mason, a defence lawyer, is called on to defend "Blues", a club-owner who is also Lou's investigator. Blues is accused of the murder of a very influential local lawyer as the pair had argued earlier. This is not a legal thriller in the traditional sense in that there is very little courtroom action.

Lou acts as the investigator as he tries to get Blues released. He finds himself in a lot of trouble at various points and in the midst of a few local political battles.

Lou is a very likable protagonist and I must say the mystery elements here were pretty good as Goldman throws in a good cast of people as candidates who could have committed the crime. The novel is reasonably well-written and flows nicely, but doesn't really carry a "wow" factor as the story progresses. I guess this means for me that it could have been a little more challenging.

This was not the most riveting of books, but it did have page-turning qualities and was enjoyable. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lawyer who steps over the line, 18 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have been sent this book to read on my kindle. The story line is gripping about a jewish lawyer Lou Mason, caught up in a murder. A friend of his becomes involved in a frame up for the murder, Lou has to turn detective to help solve this. Several people are killed before the end, many twists and turns help to keep you guessing.
This is the second book in the Lou Mason series and I now want to read the first book as there is references to it which has made me curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Witness, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have only recently discovered this author and would highly recommend this book. The Lou Mason thrillers are extremely good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I enjoyed, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Not really my cup of tea, I gave it a chance and got to 20% of the book but it just didn't grip me enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to shout about., 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have read similar story lines, characterisation not bad but didn't make me want to rush onto the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the last witness, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Twists and turns like a dog trying to catch it's tail with little success. Well worth the read though. Page turner .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting semi military theme new kids on the block, I would look forward to reading more of "The Detachment"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast moving read, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
love reading her work its fast and well written will try and read more of her work on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd book of the 5 book series, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book kept me in suspense all the way through, bread read. Looking forward to reading the cold truth now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deadlocked, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Lou Mason Thrillers Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
i purchased a book by joel goldman and when i finished the book i immediately purchased every book he has written i find his stories to be very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews