Customer Reviews


438 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice (really) short story...
Have read all the Jack Reacher novels and eagerly awaiting the next one, came across this mini story, which turns out to be a nice little back story of Reacher's family.

It's nice to have a snapshot into a characters previous life, and adds some depth to the new books.

Just be warned this is a super short read, ie/ I downloaded around 9pm, and was...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by Superdad

versus
103 of 108 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been included as backstory in the next novel!
I am a great fan of Lee Child and Jack Reacher - but I was greatly disappointed by SECOND SON. I expected it to be a novela at the price but this, although containing some insights into the character we love, really could have been included as back-story in one of the existing novels, or the next one. I feel we already have a well rounded view of Jack Reacher's...
Published on 16 Aug 2011 by Jappa


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice (really) short story..., 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Have read all the Jack Reacher novels and eagerly awaiting the next one, came across this mini story, which turns out to be a nice little back story of Reacher's family.

It's nice to have a snapshot into a characters previous life, and adds some depth to the new books.

Just be warned this is a super short read, ie/ I downloaded around 9pm, and was finished by around 11pm - and that was reading in my iPad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 108 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been included as backstory in the next novel!, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am a great fan of Lee Child and Jack Reacher - but I was greatly disappointed by SECOND SON. I expected it to be a novela at the price but this, although containing some insights into the character we love, really could have been included as back-story in one of the existing novels, or the next one. I feel we already have a well rounded view of Jack Reacher's background/motivation and this is not only unnecessary, but blatant merchandising. I for one certainly don't want to see a spin off series of Jack Reacher as a kid - the adult version is much more interesting. Well written, as to be expected, and I will still be buying the next in the real series - hoping that it will make up for this. I think it should be clearer that this is more of an insert than a book and the price dropped accordingly to avoid readers' disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm. Bit of a disappointment., 30 Sep 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (N Yorks and France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The 3 stars because I'm a Reacher fan and this adds to the character. If this were a stand-alone short story it would be worth maybe 2 stars. I'm guessing Mr Child found himself at a loose end one afternoon and decided to knock out a shortie for some pin money. But at least he knows how to tell a story and, for fans, it is an interesting diversion and goes some way to putting a little more flesh (if needed) on Mr Reacher's character.

Unless you're a committed Reacher nut there might be a better home for your 89p.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars JIMBOB59, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
THE BOOK SECOND SON BY LEE CHILD WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT TO ME AS AN AFICIONADO OF LEE CHILD AND PARTICULARLY HIS JACK REACHER BOOKS.

I WOULD HONESTLY BELIEVE THAT IT WAS WRITTEN TONGUE-IN-CHEEK ONE WET SUNDAY AFTERNOON. WITH REACHER HE PUSHES OUR BELIEF IN AND ACCEPTANCE OF LOGICAL THOUGHT TO THE BOUNDARIES. BUT TO ACCEPT SUCH FROM A YOUNG TEENAGER WHEN ALL ADULTS AROUND HIM APPEAR TO BE " GORMLESS" AND ACCEPTING THIS ARMY KID'S LEADERSHIP AND INSTRUCTIONS.
SORRY, JUST UNBELIEVABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay short story!, 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an okay short story. No more or less than I expected. I did dither before buying and almost didn't bother as not in to short stories. However at .89p thought might as well give it a go.

Can't say I was disappointed, but on the other hand was not excited by it either, sort of somewhere in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little taster!, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Knowing it was going to be a short story, I didn't get my hopes up too much. I was just excited about having a little Reacher taster before the new book comes out. I wasn't sure how well a teenage Reacher would come across but i was left very happy with this little insight at Reacher growing up, his relationship with his brother and especially with his father, who we have never really learnt much about through all the Reacher books. I am left hoping that Lee Child will go further with the younger Reacher and his family as i think there could be some interesting storyline there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars second son, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
While I did not dislike this short story I felt that one or two jumps of logic were too great to leave a reasonable feeling of possibility and so did not have the same Reacher pleasant flow of just being possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Naive, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Ivan Buick (Carrickfergus) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just did not like this book at all. How a young boy could come to so many conclusions based on so little evidence is just a little bit silly. Perhaps better for a younger age group of readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad it was cheap, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers, the depiction of a 13 year old given in this book is a little difficult to swallow. Reacher acts like an adult, but with nothing to explain why such a young child might have developed so. Intuitive detective skills, strategy, and guile. Would have been nice to see Reacher the child, as opposed to Reacher the adult in a childs body. Despite this, can't help but enjoy Childs writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a start, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Second Son: (Jack Reacher Short Story) (Kindle Single) (Jack Reacher Short Stories Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Logical thinking outside the box, typical Child. This was a lovely taster and a good way for non Reacher afficianados to learn about the man. It's also a nice gap filler till the next full length story is released. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews