Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality
I bought this Microwave Steamer because the two that I already have are now quite old.

The Sistema is very well made of quality plastic.

Please be aware though, that despite the description and the comments in other reviews, I would warn that it is not burn proof, so please take care. When taking it out of the microwave, heat can be felt on the...
Published 23 months ago by Mrs C

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag
On one hand I feel I should praise the effort, because availability of BPA free containers is so limited and this one has very good design and features, and as such, this container is a must have in every kitchen (I honestly believe at some point in near future we will be looking back at BPA and phthalates in and around food the same way we think of lead and mercury now)...
Published 23 months ago by V0n


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 11 May 2012
By 
Mrs C "Chris in Hampshire" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this Microwave Steamer because the two that I already have are now quite old.

The Sistema is very well made of quality plastic.

Please be aware though, that despite the description and the comments in other reviews, I would warn that it is not burn proof, so please take care. When taking it out of the microwave, heat can be felt on the upturned corners and the container does get hot. Make sure the centre vent is fully open and that you take great care when unclipping and opening the lid so that you do not get burned by the steam escaping. The plastic also becomes a bit pliable with the heat.

If you do as I do, and use the bottom of the steamer (underneath the basket part) for food, there is not much room. I only use a steamer for vegetables, putting the potatoes at the bottom and the other vegetables in the basket. The potatoes have to be cut fairly small, which is no problem if you are going to mash them. I find that with my 900w microwave the cooking time with veg for the 2 of us is around 14 mins, but you would need to refer to your own Microwave Instruction Booklet for your timings.

The Microwave Steamer has such a nice snap shut system that it could also be used for storage in the freezer. This product is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Microwave Dishes Ever Used, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
I have searched long and hard for decent microwave dishes and am glad to say that I have finally found them.
Yes they don't seal 100% and may leak but at the end of the day I was not looking for travel bowls I was looking for microwave dishes.
All you have to do is keep them upright.

The vent delivers the perfect amount of steam to allow my sensor microwave to work perfectly and the clip on lids are a fantastic feature preventing accidental spills from happening.
The colour is sensible as it doesn't show stains and they are easy to clean as well.
I also like the fact that you can freeze, transfer to microwave and eat from the dish all in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 15 April 2012
By 
M. goldin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Really great product, saves getting out the electric steamer and once you get the right microwave timings it turns out the same every time

Products feels good, easy to disassemble to clean and clip back together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Mar 2012
By 
ozzy (leeds. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
good little piece of kit,works well bright and well made.also saves energy.put it in the microwave for 15 minutes on power mark 7 then stand for 5 minutes for perfect results.worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag, 17 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
On one hand I feel I should praise the effort, because availability of BPA free containers is so limited and this one has very good design and features, and as such, this container is a must have in every kitchen (I honestly believe at some point in near future we will be looking back at BPA and phthalates in and around food the same way we think of lead and mercury now). It has epic steam tray, it doesn't stain, without a steam tray it makes for a nice, deep container to repackage your ready meals into and despite its big size it's designed to fit perfectly on a turn table of a standard 17 litre + microwave.

On the other hand it's a bit of a fail for use with any food that needs 10+ minutes cooking time. Because of the hard plastics used, this container heats like crazy. Way more than any container I have ever had. I'd even say it could be dangerous to use by kids. It gets hot. And I mean HOT. If you take the typical floppy, thin, food tray that usually comes with supermarket ready meals as a benchmark, at least after 10 minutes + 1 minute standby you can safely lift those trays up and remove them from microwave by the corners without burning your fingers. The Sistema container after 10 minutes reaches such extreme temperatures that it's impossible to hold it by any part of the container. The see through top has four handles on the corners and is fastened to the container with four clips, but the lid becomes very soft in high temperatures despite top vent and it bends easily. And as you hold the container with roughly 5 pounds of boiling food or liquid inside by two corners of the softened lid it often lets the scorching air/steam out of the corners thus burning your fingers even further.

Forget about "cool to touch stem" and marketing blurb, know its shortcomings, never ever, ever, and I mean ever, try to lift it with just two out of four clips fastened (they will fail), don't let kids use it without oven mitts and it will be perfect. You will love it. You will have to. It's not like there is a lot of choice of BPA free kitchenware anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microwave Steamer, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant item. Use it for steaming vegetables mainly. Major plus is that the kitchen is no longer filled with steam as with standard steamers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars usefull in microwave but basket takes lot of room, 21 May 2012
By 
Ztanto (Belgium, EU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Works nicely for microwave cooking (low setting) without added water WITH inner basket. But then you lose a lot of room.
Microwaving Rhubarb or Onion in a good Tupperware or without the inner basket causes boil over. The basket seems to solve that problem. But it takes a lot a (inside) room and you can't stack in the cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Steam release. 4 lifting tabs. Strainer. Perfect for rice, noodles, veg, and anything else you wish to heat in the microwave. Nice design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars micro steamer, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
I found it difficult to get a medium (ie will do veg for 2 or 3 )container which didn't cost an arm n a leg ...this was it !! very sturdy !!cant recommend enough as I had my other for 15 years so was very fussy as to wat id get next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves an odd taste, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistema 2.4 Litre Medium Microwave Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Very well built and has survived very well so far after c20 uses

Unfortunately it has left an odd taste on the food on occasions - trying to work out what is causing this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xace0299c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews