Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars454
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2005
It's great to own the COMPLETE series on DVD, the transfer to disc is of high quality...plus it takes up the space of only half of one of the VHS box sets!
If you enjoyed the series when it was first broadcast in the early 1990s then you'll love this set. All episodes are included in this set: Series 1, Series 2, Series 3 and BOTH Christmas specials. There is a special feature of commentary from both Philip Franks and Pam Ferris in the first series, which is a nice addition.
This is the kind of series you can just sit back and enjoy. Timeless entertainment, and excellent acting and on screen chemistry from all the cast. David Jason and Pam Ferris are fantastic together and the first major role for Catherine Zeta Jones is good too. Highly recommended set!
11 comment|312 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Darling Buds of May series is a trip into total nostalgia where it cannot fail to stir the emotions. Watching these DVD's not only take you back to a time when life was far more simple and straightforward, but full of the joy of life itself. The way the original stories have been adapted and portrayed is wonderful.
There are very few DVD's that I would watch over and over, but these are top of the list and will be for many years to come.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I never saw the television series when it was first broadcast, but managed to see one episode when it was repeated some years later. I bought this boxed set to see if it was as good as I remembered. The first episode' "The Darling Buds of May" starts as it means to go on. The way in which the book has been interpreted is simply amazing. Even now, after seeing the video several times, I still have tears in my eyes when at the very end, Pop says that it was raining and he describes it as, "Soft as cobwebs." One of the best videos I have ever seen, I only wish it will come out of DVD - if it did, it would be all the excuse I need to buy a good quality DVD player. If you like nostalgia, a simple story well portrayed by brilliant actors and a good old-fashioned storyline, then go out and buy the whole three series - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
Wonderful family entertainment, delightful storylines, superb acting. Suitable for everyone from 9 years old to 99 years old! The episodes with the Ma shaped swimming pool and supper in the bath scenes are classics. Darling Buds of May will never date, it's over 10 years since it first hit our screens and if anything it improves with age. It is lovely to be able to follow the Larkins from the first to the last episodes of Darling Buds.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2007
I purchased this collection about a year ago and have watched it several times since then. It's great to be able to watch episodes in the correct order. I really recommend this collection. I never tire of watching it, it's such a comfortable story and makes you wish you lived with the happy go lucky Larkins as their story unfolds.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
Living in Africa can have its downfalls, one is I missed the T.V. release but we did get it eventually and wow was it worth the wait. David Jason was born for the part of Pop and Pam Ferris is the only choice as Ma. Catherine Zeta Jones and Philip Franks certainly give 100% as do the supporting cast. Life with the Larkins is a gentle stroll down memory lane and their genuine enthusiasm for their parts shines through in every episode. If H.E. Bates himself had done the casting I don`t think a single actor would have been changed, everyone is perfik
11 comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2004
I have loved The Darling Buds of May since I was seven and recorded every episode on VHS, this is great because I have watched them many times, however, VHS doesn't last! When the DVD was released I ran out and bought it. I'm sure people purchasing this item are fans of the programme and the wonderful episodes are unchanged. For me the bonus of owning the DVD is that I don't have to fast forward through the adverts from 1993 and I know it won't run out in a couple of years! Buy it, it will be an asset to your collection and if you can't remember one or two of the episodes or subtle jokes then you can curl up on the sofa and refresh your memory, don't worry if you find yourself grinning at the TV, this is a normal reaction!
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2006
This is a fantastic box set featuring all of the episodes from this marvellous series.
The stories are heart warming, nostalgic, gentle & funny, in equal measure.
David Jason & Pam Ferris are truly superb in their portrayals of Pop & Ma Larkin & the rest of the cast are just brilliant.
A real favourite with my family. The kids love it & it's one of those DVDs they like to watch on a frequent basis.
I can't recommend this highly enough - treat yourself,you surely won't regret it !!
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 June 2009
Just finished watching the entire series. Absolutely bloomin perfick, as Pop would say.

The Larkins are the kind of family I could go on watching forever. Funny, kind, generous, warm - and boy do they know how to eat well. This is family viewing at its very best, with something for all ages to enjoy.

Brilliant acting, wonderful rural scenery and plots which are gentle as the rolling hills with a view to take your breath away.

If you're looking for pleasant, family entertainment you can't do any better than this.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"And summer's lease hath all too short a date." from Shakespeare's sonnet XVIII

The "Darling Buds of May" is a 1991 TV series about a quite unconventional and flamboyant family in rural England in the 1950s.

While each episode is unique and fun to watch and actually picked up the series to see the early works of Catherine Zeta-Jones playing the part of Mariette the voluptuous daughter in the family. Little did I know that I would fall in love with all the characters.

I came to this series originally after watching "The Mating Game" starring Debbie Reynolds, Tony Randall, Paul Douglas, and Fred Clark, which is more of a PG comedy based on the same characters based on first book of "The Darling buds of May" written by H.E. BATES; which was written and set in 1958.

Series 1
1. "The Darling Buds of May" (7 & 14 April 1991)
2. "When the Green Woods Laugh" (21 & 28 April 1991)
3." A Breath of French Air" (5 & 12 May 1991)
4."Christmas Is Coming" (22 December 1991)
Series 2
1. "Oh, To Be In England!" (26 January & 2 February 1992)5. Stranger at the Gates
2."Stranger At the Gates" (9 & 16 February 1992)
3."A Season of Heavenly Gifts" (23 February & 1 March 1992)
4."Le Grand Weekend" (26 December 1992)
Series 3
1."The Happiest Days of Your Life" (28 February & 7 March 1993)
2."Cast Not Your Pearls before Swine" (14 & 21 March 1993)
3."Climb the Greasy Pole" (28 March & 4 April 1993)

Mating Game ~ Debbie Reynolds U.S. ASIN:6302641969
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse