Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (243)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


292 of 293 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, brilliant series!
It's great to own the COMPLETE series on DVD, the transfer to disc is of high quality...plus it takes up the space of only half of one of the VHS box sets!
If you enjoyed the series when it was first broadcast in the early 1990s then you'll love this set. All episodes are included in this set: Series 1, Series 2, Series 3 and BOTH Christmas specials. There...
Published on 1 Dec 2005 by Iceni Peasant

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Darling Buds of may
What can I say great program but I am sick of having problems with disc 3 part 2 it just will not play at all I have 5 DVD player in the house & a blue ray player as well as a PS3 and still disc 3 will not play on any of them so I made a back up copy of disc 3 & it works fine in all DVD players in the house I have had this problem with ITV discs before I have sent one box...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by Gizmo


‹ Previous | 118 19 2029 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Darling Buds of May - Complete Collection [DVD], 11 Jun 2011
By 
T. Forster (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
PERFICK! In the words of Syd Larkin. This is a great series and many may not realize that before this was an English series it was an American movie in 1959 called 'The Mating Game' with Debbie Reynolds and Tony Randall. Both this movie and the British series are fun to watch and very enjoyable. They have it all love, Laughter and the battle faced by a large family yet they maintain a great attitude toward life they just enjoy life! We could all take a lesson out of the Larkin family's view on life. I think the thing I like the most is how much love there is between the Larkins and a great lesson for all those people who like skinny women this series shows a women can be well built and still be loved by her husband and they enjoy each other for who they are not what the world thinks they should be! And the greatest thing of all Mrs Larkin never even worries that she is big built. As they say in the classics built for comfort and not speed. As a big girl myself Mrs Larkin is my role model for women. My husband agrees. Great, Great series and movie. A must have in any DVD collection. If you have or are getting this series you will love it but buy 'The Mating Game' as well it's a great movie to have in your collection as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfick!, 28 May 2011
By 
How can anyone not fall in love with Ma & Pa Larkin? This is true English escapism at it's very best. For anyone that loves living in the country this is just ideal. From Pop Larkin's wheeler-dealer escapades to Ma's wonderful home cooking, we are taken on a magical journey in the Kent countryside and living the "ideal" life. It's simply.....PERFICK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darling Buds of May, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never tire of this wonderful series. It just has such a feel good factor, brings out longings for times gone by. Just good clean fun, David Jason is just fantastic as Pop Larkin, cheeky, a little bit on the wrong side of the law but with a heart of gold. Well crafted stories, with every spectrum of human emotion, but mostly you sit watching it with a silly smile on your face, wishing life could really be that idylic. FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DARLING BUDS OF MAY, 10 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IN THE WORDS OF POP LARKIN "PERFICK!" COULD NOT FAULT THIS ITEM FROM THE ORDERING DOWN TO THE DELIVERY! MUST BE WATCHED WITH A GLASS OF WINE, CHEESE BOARD, AT THE CARAVAN PERFICK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 4 Feb 2011
By 
J. CAMPBELL-SCOTT "Fiction Fan" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A really smart box set with all the disks fine apart from the Enemy at the gates episode which jumped a little, but apart from that I really enjoyed this purchase and it arrived on time too. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. S. B. Graham (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This boxed set of the whole series is worth every penny. Great family viewing, wonderful scenery, great acting and far better than most of the tv that is put out now! Enjoyed the extra version of the first episode that also has a running commentary from Pam Ferris and Philip Franks. If you want the feelgood factor, these are definitely the dvds to buy - PERFICK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True enjoyable humour, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Peter Ryan "aeropal" (Availles-Limouzine, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived safe and sound and we have had such pleasure viewing them.True British humour and clean entertainment at it's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 5 Oct 2010
By 
J. F. Naylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good product at an excellent price, what more could you ask for in the run up to Christmas. money saved here means more money for other items on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjyable viewing, 9 Sep 2010
I had never seen the series on TV and I wasn't disappointed, very enjoyable good quality dvds. It's refreshing to watch and makes a change from all the murder and violence on TV. I would definately recommend The Darling Buds of May and I know it's a series I shall enjoy watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darling Buds of May, 31 July 2010
Really great DVD set, watched with fascination how great this series really was and how much fun life can be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 2029 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darling Buds of May - Complete Collection [DVD]
£11.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews