Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior acting
I don't think people who watch this series will fail to see the sheer quality performances of all actors involved. The acting is so real that it makes you forget that this is entertainement. The interaction between the professional and personal lives of the characters is breath-takingly brought to the screen. There is no holding back for commercial reasons on depicting...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by Vanilli

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series
Wonderful to watch this series again. Time has not diminished its relevance or the fantastic performances given by the entire cast. Extremely enjoyable to be able to watch an episode without any interruptions. My only criticism would be the poor packaging - the plastic box is very flimsy and brittle and has already chipped and cracked. The discs are moulded very hard...
Published 7 months ago by Inkwork


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior acting, 4 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think people who watch this series will fail to see the sheer quality performances of all actors involved. The acting is so real that it makes you forget that this is entertainement. The interaction between the professional and personal lives of the characters is breath-takingly brought to the screen. There is no holding back for commercial reasons on depicting the personalities as they really are, for better for worse. This show is the closest to real life I have seen so far and it is a tribute to how people actually are. So if you have been hard done by then this will be your déjà-vu and probably bring back some surpressed memmories as the series is somewhat 'noire'. Nevertheless it is a masterpiece and a must see for serious drama lovers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No wonder Helen Mirren is so highly thought of...., 13 Mar 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This series is the epitome of what a good cop series should be about. An in-depth investigation, showing the failures as well as the successes, showing times when the police can so easily be knocked off the scent by what appears to be a good lead but most of all:- a really top quality actor/actress in the lead role, supported by other great performances.

Helen Mirren's character has all of our insecurities but also has something we all wish for - a true inner strength. From the first story, where she is almost fighting against her own team to find the guilty party, right through to the final episode at the end of her career, the character development is second to none. There have been a great number of long running cop shows including Frost (UK) and Columbo (US) but none have such a character development as this.

When you compare the '18' certificate of this series to the '18' certificate of, say, "The Sopranos" (one of my other favourite series), the latter is full of very vicious killings and almost continuous (and on occasion very crude) swearing. Prime Suspect is different, it's an '18' because there is alcoholism, in-depth details of murder, abortion and the like but never "in-your-face" violence or foul language. Good acting, good storylines and good productions don't need it. This is an '18' solely because of the story content.

If ever there was a series that deserved more than 5 stars, this is it.

Very, very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as christmas present for better half great idea theese series sets good way to pass wet cold winter days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime Suspect, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the forerunner of (in many ways} of a string of high quality British Crime / Police Dramas which have stood the test of time
over many years 40 plus . With due respect to USA productions which love un realistic car chases , guns that never run out of ammunition , fighting 10 baddies alone , falling of 10 storied buildings and walking away unhurt . This series depicts what may be viewed in my opinion as an a realistic policing operation with police officers working long hours under pressure , DI's and ranking officers not always in agreement but team orientated ,with Top Brass subject to Political passing the buck . A great series with a brilliant actress in the lead role . In my opinion if you want a realistic Crime or War films the Brits have it over everyone .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV History. Timeless, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I had never watched this until 2012 and was blown away. It had alot to live up to as i watched the full boxset of Cracker before this - so ofcourse i thought no way will this do well in comparison. Well i was wrong - it is just as good. It is timeless so if you feel oh its an old dated drama and are contemplating about giving it a miss then please dont. Buy this, watch this.
I cant complete this review without saying how more sexy Helen Mirren becomes in each season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant production., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Hours of enjoyable TV.
These Collections are invaluable for the many times when there isn't
much to watch on TV channels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
We like Helen Mirren. The stories were different enough and not predictable, and it was nice to see the characters develop. We liked how the last story rounded up the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best crime dramas i ever seen, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have wanted to purchase Prime Suspect for a while now,and every since it was stated somewhere that it would eventually come out on a DVD box set i decided i wanted to buy it.
Prime suspect The complete collection has all the series on 9 DVDSs and additional bonus DVD which takes you behind the scenes and the series.
When Prime suspect was first on television i only saw the first two or 3 series of it so to my surprised i was able to actually catch up with the remainder Prime Suspects.
The Main character DCI Jane Tennison is played by Oscar winner Helen Mirren who plays her character with some gutso and professionalism amongst her male police officer collageues.The First Prime Suspect is where this police character starts off,shes in a male dominated police station who never really gets her cases she wants because the main police boss doesnt feel shes capable of heading up a serious police investigation especially headup a murder squad and as the TV drama series plays out,gets her chance to do this just by chance.
I wouldnt like to spoil what happens especially if you havnt seen Prime Suspect before but if you have and are avid fan of dramas that are written by novelist Lynda La Plante then i would defiantly recommend having this DVD Boxset amongst your dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime Suspect - could be anyone, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Prime Suspect excellently produced with outstanding stars and storylines - has you guessing from start to finish we wish they had made more of this series - we followed the stories from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime viewing, 8 April 2014
By 
J. Blackburn (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Detective drama par excellence! Helen Mirren is quite superb as the female DCI battling the demons, some of her own making. Gripping stuff, done brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prime Suspect - The Complete Collection [DVD]
15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews