Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars99
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£44.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2013
I have only watched the four Mallen films so far.I wanted to see why reveiwers were complaining of poor quality with these.As they were i believe filmed in the seventies the picture would be slightly below par compaired with the more recent ones.If you run them in a blue ray player the picture is very good indeed and will enhance the quality.I need subtitles with my poor hearing and these on films are perfect word for word. I look forward to watching some more which i am sure will be great.Marvellous value for money.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Delightful, I enjoyed every DVD in this series but then again I've always been a Catherine Cookson fan. The filming is excellent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
I LOVE all things Catherine Cookson! The movies don't always follow the books, especially the ends, but I still enjoy both.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Love these films and most really good quality and I am very happy.
However by the time I got round to watching 2 of them I had thrown my receipt away and discovered they wouldnt play at all so disappointed about that.
Would recommend a quick check of all discs when received.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
My mum has played these so much, I'm surprised they haven't worn out. It's a great gift for anyone who appreciates Catherine Cookson. Great present! Great seller! Thank you!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Absolutely loved this box set. The only disappointment was the first dvd of The Mallens. The sound quality was very poor and the acting seened almost like pantomime. I am glad I persevered because I became really absorbed with series 2 and 3 and thoroughly enjoyed them. While I have been watching these wonderful Catherine Cookson stories being acted so well, I have loved every minute.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I absolutely love these series of Catherine Cookson DVD's - I would be happy to more than recommend them to my friends who I am sure would enjoy them as much as I have. These stories give you an idea of what it would have been like to live in the past in early last Century in England - I love them when the bad guys get their comeuppence and the good guys reign supreme and a happy ending is assured. I first saw an episode on television and knew then that I would have to rush out and buy the series for my ollection.
Was very happy with price and service from Amazon and order varrived much sooner than anticipated
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
These stories are thoroughly good: a little predictable after you've seen a few - but well constructed, vigorous, and very-well acted by good casts. There are racy, violent and sexual elements, of course, but these are never gratuitous; they are entrenched in the necessary structure and characters of the narrative and carry conviction. In so many films these days, sex and violence are seen almost as required ingredients and are often nothing more than add-ons, concessions to the general demand that the thirst for these things be satisfied. In Cookson's novels, they arise out of the raw, tough environment in which she flourished and in which most of her stories are located. This is good, honest, credible drama. I have now watched nine of the films and have not fallen asleep in any of them ( scarcely blinked at times ) which is, for me, a record. There is beauty in them, too - both natural and human - much tenderness and some genuine nobleness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I must confess I used to see Catherine Cookson dvds on the shelf and think she was light weight like Barbra Cartland, but she really is quite gritty and much more like a Geordie Dickens. First class writing and 1st class acting and scripting of some not so great times.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
The price reflects the quality - not the best. The sound is quite distorted on some of the earlier episodes and the picture quality is murky. Also, the series was filmed in 4:3 size, so become misshapen on a wide screen tv.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)