Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally bought it.
I resisted buying an imported copy for years, despite the second series not being available here in the UK. I didn't want a DVD where i'd have to trawl through dubbed episodes with english subtitles or watch english language episodes with foreign subtitles constantly running over the bottom of the screen but when i started watching this i was presently suprised.
OK,...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Simon28UK

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun
I am a big Friends fan so following Joey in these shows has been fun. Ofcourse it's not as fun as Friends but I had a lot of fun watching any way :)
Published on 30 Jun. 2013 by Stefan Gudmundsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally bought it., 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I resisted buying an imported copy for years, despite the second series not being available here in the UK. I didn't want a DVD where i'd have to trawl through dubbed episodes with english subtitles or watch english language episodes with foreign subtitles constantly running over the bottom of the screen but when i started watching this i was presently suprised.
OK, first off, let's get one thing clear - 'Joey' isn't the best thing in the world. I think the main reason is that it arrived too soon after the end of 'Friends'. Having said that, it isn't THAT bad for what it is: a decent little sitcom with a reasonable premise, passable writing and a good cast. The problem was it was all eclipsed by the legacy of it's parent sitcom. Friends is just too recognisable, too beloved. People hoping for that same dynamic, that comfortable feeling they got when watching good old Friends were BOUND to be disappointed to see Joey, their Joey seperated from the scenarios and characters they were used to and starting from scratch. There was a mention of Chandler in the first episode of the first series and one of Rachel in the last episode but that was it.
But if, like me you could put that aside and just watch the programme for what was rather than what it could've been, this is a good purchase. Looking at the back cover you are met with four foreign languages - i can't remember which, i think one is Swedish - and that's off putting but once you open the box you can see on the inside cover all the episodes listed and descibed in English. Putting on the DVDs there is a menu with 'United Kingdom' at the top and, clicking on that, everything else is in English (Please understand, i'm only mentioning this to reassure possible buyers that this means you're not settling for anything. It's good value for money).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as friends but still in a league if its own!, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
R. Knight "Peppermint Hippo" (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
Obviously you will get the comparisons to Friends, after all it has taken one of the shows strongest characters (IMO) and given him his own show. The adorableness of Joey is still plain for all to see, the well meaning, often innocent but never naive Italian American rolls through his new life in Los Angeles with a new collection of friends, ok the characters of these aren't as strong and are a little stereotyped at times, but the writing and sketches are still good humoured and provide a break from the mundane. If you liked Joey in Friends you'll like Joey in Joey. Don't compare it to friends, why they stopped at series 2 I don't know, were they expecting similar results to friends (because that was never going to happen) with friends more ppl could see themselves in the characters portrayed so had a wider demographic of audience, this just had the Joey Character so will ultimately fall into that percentage of fans. Watch it, make your own decisions, and keep an open mind. Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a funny series!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit pricey, but finally I got it. I like Friends and I like Joey series, both seasons as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I gave the show a second chance and so glad I did!!, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I might be in the minority here when I say that I love the show Joey! I must admit I was not completely convinced when the show originally aired. I think the problem was that it came out so soon after Friends - one of the best shows ever made, that altered life as we knew it - and that meant expectations were impossibly high, and alas it did not live up to those expectations. After a few years I decided to rewatch Season 1 (as I found it on dvd quite cheap) to see if I still felt the same... but I was really surprised to find that I actually loved it! Remove the expectations and just enjoy the show to appreciate how good it is. I watched the entire Season in just a couple of days! The cast are fantastic and It's such a shame that the last 8 episodes of Season 2 were never aired. I always wanted to know how it ended for Joey and now I do! Personally I think it's definitely worth getting! Yes it is not the best show ever made, but it's a lot better than some shows that are on these days! Give it a another chance, you may be surprised...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled far too early, 28 Dec. 2014
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I loved Joey and enjoyed watching the first series on Channel 5 back in the day. Was gutted when it got cancelled and had been waiting for the second season to get a region 2 dvd release when I stumbled across this on amazon. The case exterior may be in a foreign language but the DVD's are in full english and play with english as the default audio. Even the episode guide on the inside of the case is in English so all is well.
Season 2 is where this short lived sitcom gets into it's full stride. The introduction of Zach as Joey's new friend adds an hilarious dynamic to the show, and it would have been interesting to see how the show would have developed if it had been renewed for further seasons. Unfortunately once the cancellation was announced the actor that played Zach left the show before the end of the season. The few episodes following his departure demonstrate how much he brought to the show.
Joey is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
Amazing so good! I love it! I have the season 1 and it is amazing lol this is so fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series that didn't have a chance, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved season 1 of Joey and thought season 2 was another great year. The comedy is top notch, the characters are loveable. Joey's sister Gina (Drea DeMatteo) provides tough girl comedy and her son Michael has comedic timing that reminds me of The Big Bang Theory. Ditzy blonde lawyer Alex is adorable... but my favourite character has to be Joey's agent Bobbie, drug addicted, 12th most powerful woman in Hollywood, she's basically insane and portrays it hilariously (played by Jennifer Coolidge). Joey is a smart comedy that could have been huge if people had given it a chance... unfortunately people didn't give it much of a chance- A) Because they didn't have 'Friends' actors guest star in every other episode. B) Because a lot of people would rather watch the same Friends episodes for a 1000th time than try something new. Joey Tribiani is as funny as ever, try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont be fooled!, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
The cover is in a foreign language as is the episode descriptions on each case and you be thinking the whole thing is in a foreign language but NO! The discs are in english!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good watch., 4 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Joey: Complete Season 2 (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
if you like friends, get this and the first season. very funny. wish there were more episodes and seasons made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joey & friends fans, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant great price and service.If your a fan of the show its a must buy so u can watch it over & over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews