Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and entertaining
Some insightful, practical advice presented in a very funny, no-holds-barred style -- like your best mate, who happens to know a lot about writing, sat you down in the pub one night and said, 'Now, listen, this is how it is...'

Great fun.
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by Michelle Ann King

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No substance
The person who said this book contains 25 things repeated 10 times got it exactly right. It's also written in a style the author may consider to be direct and pulling no punches but is actually irritating and silly. If you wade through the rubbish you may find one or two useful points though mostly they're obvious. You cannot complain for £0.77, though and you can read it...
Published on 2 Sept. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No substance, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
The person who said this book contains 25 things repeated 10 times got it exactly right. It's also written in a style the author may consider to be direct and pulling no punches but is actually irritating and silly. If you wade through the rubbish you may find one or two useful points though mostly they're obvious. You cannot complain for £0.77, though and you can read it in ten minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 25 things, repeated ten times, 21 May 2012
By 
Niall (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
The problem here is repetition. The brash humour works on a list of 25 things, just. However, when what you're getting is the same brash humour, repeating the same advice, over and over... The overall effect is one of a stand-up comic who has been doing the same act for 25 years; his microphone stand knows the jokes as well as he does.

One piece of advice I did take on fully: Mr Wendig says that advice on writing is dependent on you. Good advice is good if it works for you. The style of writing Mr Wendig proposes, however, is his style of writing, not mine. The best advice I can give is to not read this book, because you will have heard all of it before. However, your mileage may vary; no advice is good advice, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and entertaining, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
Some insightful, practical advice presented in a very funny, no-holds-barred style -- like your best mate, who happens to know a lot about writing, sat you down in the pub one night and said, 'Now, listen, this is how it is...'

Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Intense Book offering Excellent Insight to becoming a Better Writer, 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
Chuck Wendig has written a book that gives excellent tips to being a better writer. What makes this guide different from others is this one is written in a in-your-face style that doesn't really care if you get offended or not, But does care if you get the points being made.

Overall, this has been a great book giving me some incredible insight, well worth the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 8 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
There are a lot of books on writing, and I've read an arm load, but I think this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. It's refreshingly honest, sometimes tongue-in-cheek, and very easy to dip into if you need a pep talk. On a par with Save The Cat for clear-cut, straightforward advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Puerile (in a good way). Recommended., 2 April 2014
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
Chuck Wendig, author of The Blue Blazes (and other novels that I’ve never heard of), dishes out 250 tips/opinions about writing. Each piece of advice (or rant, or comment) is written in a concise, humorous paragraph or two, and primarily littered with swear words. The advice, for the most part, is good, but there’s a chance some people will lose it amongst the rubble of Chuck’s twisted (and entertaining) sense of humour. Also, due to the length of each section, Chuck rarely elaborates on his points, which works for someone who already understands the mechanics of writing but might be annoying or frustrating to amateurs hoping to learn the fundamentals.

In essence, it’s a refresher guide: a quick, funny reminder of all the writing techniques and tips you probably already know. If you’re a beginner, however, it might not be the best teaching tool—but it’s worth a read anyway.

Unless you’re easily offended.

Then—stay away. Stay far, far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I think I just snorted instant coffee..., 5 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
This is my first exposure to Mr Wendig and I have to say I'm seriously impressed. He writes in a fast, aggressive, funny, sweary, informative and dizzying stream-of-consciousness style which made me feel invigorated. I feel like I've jumped out of a cold shower into the supersonic creative slipstream of a slightly mad genius, if you want to write: buy this book. Forget all those slightly dry motivational tomes about prioritising, goal setting and visualisation; my Kindle was showing 25% complete when I couldn't stop my self going out to my office to practice what he's preaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta go for Wendigo!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
Reading Chuck Wendig's '250 Things You Should Know About Writing' is like taking writing advice from a drunk bloke in the pub that you got talking to while waiting for the barman to change the barrel. Except the drunk guy is a great writer and knows what he's talking about.

The appeal of this book is that it's all in bitesize parcels instead of being in one large tome. Perfect for someone with an interest in writing and the attention span of a weasel on crystal meth, like myself. He's also fond of swearing, which is refreshing, in an inverse kind of way. This is the type of book that someone who writes themselves can refer back to easily, whereas a lot of the self-help style writing guides are often rarely re-opened after that first reading.

Highly recommended if you're looking for writing guidance that's akin to being harangued by a drunken novelist who's reading over your shoulder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
The most useless book I have ever bought about writing techniques and it is full of bad language too. The writer must have a limited vocabulary as he doesn't seem to use many adjectives apart from the F word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a shot of adrenaline to the writing part of the brain, 9 April 2013
By 
P. J. Coffey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love this book. It's as though you have your own personal writing trainer there, encouraging you, teasing you, reproaching you, telling you how to do it better, different techniques, different styles.

If you can read this book and not write _something_ then pack away your scarf and fake glasses. Put the latté down, switch off your laptop and get out of Starbucks, for you, sir, are no writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews