Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive step up from Singstar Dance
Picked this up not really knowing what to expect. I own Singstar Dance and frankly along with the Guitar aspect of Singstar it fealt tacked on and unsupported DLC wise in comparison to the titles which focus either solely on dancing or band play.

Dancestar though is a completely different proposition, they seem to have toned down the scoring system and made the...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by J R Hartley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars poderia ter mais musicas
could have more songs ... the first week the game is funny after that starts to get boring. makes for some fun
Published 21 months ago by Rui Real


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive step up from Singstar Dance, 25 Oct 2011
By 
J R Hartley (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Picked this up not really knowing what to expect. I own Singstar Dance and frankly along with the Guitar aspect of Singstar it fealt tacked on and unsupported DLC wise in comparison to the titles which focus either solely on dancing or band play.

Dancestar though is a completely different proposition, they seem to have toned down the scoring system and made the moves more fun, the tracklist for this type of game is ideal in that it blends some classic tracks and modern tracks with the type of silly stuff which a title like this needs.

Community as was always the case with Singstar is a blast, some very funny and very talented people putting videos up for this.

My only concern is DLC and the pricing structure of future DLC. Will they support this title or will it turn out to be another Singstar Dance and the current pricing and structure for buying tracks on PSN isn't the best. Prior to release 2 tracks packs went up on the store each costing around £5.50 and each so diverse that only a handful of people would want all 4 of the tracks in each pack. None of the tracks in the track packs seem to be available at present individually and on top of that im wondering how much there going to charge per track given that track packs are generally cheaper. Are they going to release DLC weekly etc given that tracks have a dancers choreography recorded onto them/a music video and singing scoring.

Other than that a great way to spend £15. Haven't played Just Dance 3 yet but this wipes the floor with MJ Experience, Dance on Broadway and Singstar Dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to look very, very silly - but lots of fun!, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Dancestar Party makes pretty good use of the capability of the Move controller and camera as this dance game sees you able to watch the original music video or flip to a video of yourself (using triangle) on screen. The manufacturer hasn't included the track listing here, so I've included it below, it's a pretty varied mix from the right up to date to classic tracks. For each track you see a discrete grayscale dancer on the screen next to a block which shows the original video - or in the case of the Barry White song pictures of him (presumably the song was released before videos).

You need to mirror dance following the dancer, we've mainly played at beginner level so far and it's pretty intuitive and fun from the start. The game has a guideline of 12 on it, presumably as some of the lyrics are not appropriate, but I've found an 8 and 5 year old fully able to play - we just chose the songs. You can play at various difficulty levels and also with two or more players - unfortunately we only have one controller so can't do this at present - but we plan to buy another controller to make use of this, though not to tweet/facebook the videos of ourselves as let's face it no one really looks their best waving a ball on a stick around! You can use a microphone or activate the one on the camera if you wish in order to increase your score further and you unlock varies trophies along the way as you play, though all the songs are available right from the start.

This game is pretty well done in my opinion, they've made the dance moves just the right level of difficulty and tried to make the dancers blend into the original look of the artist, the graphics manage to avoid being naff - just and it's a good point that the music is actually the original rather than an imitation, though the promised "more tracks to buy" just don't exist in the playstation store at present, I hope more may be released over time.

The game itself is great fun to play once you get past feeling slightly silly - there are "energy level" guides to each song which don't necessarily equate to difficulty, for that it's trial and error you will need to play to find out, we've found "kung fu fighting" sees us easily getting 5 stars and being encouraged with lots of "flawless!" and "awesome!" on screen, where other songs are more challenging and take a while to pick up. They certainly get the players moving, and it's good that you can choose a long or shorter version of each song as you play. There are enough tracks and variety to ensure the game doesn't get repetitive too quickly. Though you don't have the level of tracking that I assume you would have if playing on the kinnect platform, the move does work pretty well here in my opinion and this is an enjoyable family game.

Track listing as not included in the product description:

1. Amerie - 1 Thing 2. Barry White - You're The First, The Last, My Everything 3. Basement Jaxx - Where's Your Head At? 4. Billy Idol With Generation X - Dancing with Myself 5. Bodyrockers - I Like The Way You Move 6. Carl Douglas - Kung Fu Fighting 7. CeCe Peniston - Finally 8. Chemical Bros - Hey Boy Hey Girl 9. Chromeo - Night By Night 10. Deadmau5 ft. Rob Swire - Ghosts `N' Stuff 11. Diana Ross - Upside Down 12. Duck Sauce - Barbra Streisand
13. Ellie Goulding - Starry Eyed 14. Elton John - I'm Still Standing 15. Example - Kickstarts 16. Groove Armada (Fatboy Slim remix) - I See You Baby 17. Ida Corr vs Fedde Le Grand - Let Me Think About It 18. Iggy Pop - Lust For Life 19. Jay Sean featuring Lil Wayne - Down 20. Jessie J - Do It Like A Dude 21. Kool & the Gang - Get Down On It 22. Lady Gaga - Born This Way 23. LMFAO - Party Rock Anthem 24. Los Del Rio - Macarena 25. Miami Sound Machine - Dr Beat 26. New Kids On The Block - You've Got The Right Stuff 27. Nicole Scherzinger - Don't Hold Your Breath 28. Ok Go - Here It Goes Again 29. Outkast - The Way You Move 30. Republica - Ready To Go 31. Rihanna - Rude Boy 32. Snap! - The Power 33. Tavares - Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel 34. Tiesto vs Diplo ft Busta - C'Mon (Catch Them By Surprise) 35. Tinie Tempah - Pass Out 36. Usher ft. Pitbull - DJ Got Us Falling In Love 37. Usher ft. will.i.am - OMG 38. Venga Boys - We like to Party 39. Willow Smith - Whip My Hair 40. Yolanda Be Cool - We No Speak Americano

ETA additional songs are now available (rick astley anyone?) but are £5.49 for 4 songs on the playstation store.... 2 mixes available - this strikes me as expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the party started!!, 7 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Excellent game for when you have friends around or even trying to lose weight (which I am). It's not like the wii game just dance 3 where you just swing your wrist around with the controller. You cannot cheat as it is watching you like big brother! The only fault I have with this game is for my downstairs neighbour god help him listening to jumping around like a fool!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 1 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this as a Christmas present and I think it's the best party game I've ever played. Great single player mode (move controllers are quite expensive at the moment so this is a particularly important point) even more fun in two player. Huge diversity in the track list so there's something for all music tastes. The DLC seems expensive at first, but if you considered downloading each of the four songs in a pack as an mp3 they'd be about 80p each, plus they come with a video and choreography for the game, so it's not as bad.

Great value for money as we've had hours of fun and I expect it won't be put down for ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance yourself silly!!, 21 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Received in good time and the price was right.
Sooo much better that Sing Star and Dance (which I traded in).
The steps are easier to follow and you can see what the dancer is doing, plus the next step comes up on screen like "Just Dance".
The sing star part does not take over the screen so it's still a great game for up to 4 people and following your score is easy enough. There is also a practise mode to make it even easier.
My daughter and I spent a great evening burning some calories! Absolutely recommended and great fun. Get down and boogie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll keep you fit!, 20 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this for my grandaughter, she loves it, obviously the rest of the family including myself have had to demonstrate our dance skills, unfortunately after two dances I'm kn****rd, however the children really enjoy it and can go on forever. You do need need a minimum of 6'X 6' and once the novelty wears of it will probably only come out again at parties or family get togethers, shame really as it will give both kids and adults a good workout which some of us a could well do with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant party game.., 31 Dec 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
You will need Move Controls for this game and I suggest two at least for multiple player games. I can honestly say that after playing it straight for an hour I need an oxygen tent, a zimmerframe and I won't be able to move a muscle tomorrow. There are songs with different dance styles and paces, so you could be doing 70's in one, then a hip hop in another or something that is a mix between the Charleston and Breakdance. The most hilarious thing is watching yourself in playback, during which I looked like I was demented monkey having a spaz attack. All of this can be posted to Facebook and online, to my great horror. It is a great family game and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hours of fun for all the family good way to keep active ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Got this for my daughter's birthday, hours of fun for all the family good way to keep active without even realising it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
considering that it was £6 i wasn't expecting very much but i was very surprised that it was brilliant. easy to set up and you could play straight away. you do look an idiot playing but that is only because you don't think about the camera until you see the highlight at the end but i would recommend the game to anyone as it is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Just Dance, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) (Video Game)
Dancing with the stars, it's fabulous. Just Dance, it's great but Dance Star party it's very cool. Songs are cool and choregraphy too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3)
DanceStar Party - Move Required (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews