Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed and Amused
Director Richard Linklater's nostalgic 'Dazed and Confused' is a hilarious slice of '70s life. A superb ensemble cast delivers a funny, dead-on portrait of American teenage life in the mid-1970s. Released in 1993, look out for early roles from Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughy, Parker Posey and Milla Jovovich.
'Dazed and Confused' follows the exploits of various groups...
Published on 23 Jun 2004 by P. Fenichel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DAZZZED
OK A BIT DATED NOW WAS GOOD FOR ITS DAY I SUPPOSE WHAT AMERICA THOUGHT WAS COOL AT THAT TIME
Published 7 months ago by MR J A DUFFY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars fun fun fun, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
this is a brilliant movie lots of laughs and classic one liners .soundtrack is awsome and great cast top movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dazed and Confused, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Kiley Derek Spencer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
I got reminded of this film watching an episode of Family Guy where they made fun of Matthew McConaughey! It's a great film about teenagers in the '70s. Recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fuuny little film, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
Ok so there's no massive action or love scenes.No mysteries or any of that. This film is just one day shown for what it is. Fun and filled with things that make it unique. A good quirky film that is an easy watch and offer a great afternoons viewing. I would tell anyone to watch it at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dazed and Confused is the best teen movie ever..., 26 Oct 2007
By 
...in my opinion!
If you don't like movies where nothing major happens then don't buy this film. But you'll be missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School's out............., 1 Aug 2003
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
"Dazed and confused" masterfully captures the anxiety and exitement that the last day of highschool inevitably throws up for it's students.The contrasting scenes between mitch and his friends seemingly impossible efforts to escape for the summer without being introduced quite painfully to the seniors, and the organisation of a much anticipated party at the king stoner "slater's" sucks the viewer straight into this film.
You cannot but help yourself being up for Mitch in his desperate attempt to get home problem free.
The action really kicks off when Slater's party falls through due to parental suspicion, a beer delivery nervously handled sparks his parents to abandon their trip.
The film then flips effortlessly through to the beer bust at the moon tower expertly organised by Wooderson which will be the start and finish of some of Ridgemont high's most likeable characters and the tough decisions with which they are faced with on a beer fuelled night which definitely changed their lives.The delightfully nostalgic soundtrack raises this film to unparalled heights within the cult genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COOL MAN, 17 Jun 2003
By 
Yer gotta see this movie MAN cos its got this cool dude called Slater MAN - he's a teenage hippy with a cannabis leaf T-Shirt and smokes a s--t load of dope MAN. A nice guy, no hassle, no trouble, peace MAN cos this little pot-head is almost always stoned out of his head MAN. Uses MAN a lot MAN cos he's so stoned out of his mind he can't remember yer name MAN. No sweat MAN cos he's way cool MAN. Love to shake his hand and share a joint with him MAN He won't remember my name a minute or so later but we'll use MAN MAN. Real cool MAN over the top MAN. Cool ideas MAN - Remarks that dollar bills are weird and the same colour as grass MAN and instead of signing an anti-drug agreement suggests signing a joint MAN. Yer gotta see this cool guy MAN totally over the top MAN.
A stereotype teenage hippy pot head, fraternity pledging. This film is totally over the top and I've no hesitation in giving it 5 stars. PEACE MAN !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film I've seen for inspiring all over happiness, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I first saw this film as a special MovieDrome title on BBC2 TV and was so awe inspired I bought it. To this day watching it fills me with confidence and inspiration. The soundtrack is excellent and lifts your whole day. Given the chance I thoroughly recommend sitting down with a cold beer and chilling with this film for the evening. Everytime I watch it I notice something new which makes me enjoy it that little bit more... You cannot go wrong buying this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What times the party man?, 16 Dec 2000
By A Customer
There isn't a person alive between 16 and 25 who can hate this film, it is just so damn cool. Anyone who watches this movie can relate to one of the characters in it, every school has the bully, the stoner or the jock. I think what I like about this movie most is that it reminds me so much of my last day of school, although my last day was some 20 years after this movie was set the beer drinking, weed smoking and various other illegal activities happen in schools all over the world today! The plot is admittedly thin, but this movie is so much fun you don't care, it also boasts a great soundtrack and some great actors who have gone on to such bigger movies since this including Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Adam Goldberg and Matthew Mconaghey but Rory Cochrane stands out as the hilarious "Slater". A brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazed And Confused, 13 July 2003
This review is from: Dazed and Confused (DVD)
What I really like is when a film comes along which is an accurate depiction of a stage of life, which doesn't hang too much on some moral, or try to inflict some one elses ideals on the veiwer. Dazed and confused portrays an aray of reallist charachters who just do what people in their possition whant to do. You can follow several groups of friends or individual characters through the film and all of them are strong, well written and well acted. Dazed and confused is a story, in my oppinion, of that great night out that comes along every once in a while. You will surely associate the best times you've had with the antics of this film. Find yourself become coming part of the film and relcapturing those moments. Inspiration for a party? For sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dazed And Confused" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Criterion Disc..., 25 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Dazed & Confused [Blu-ray] [1993] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
As you've probably gathered most of the reviews are for the 'DVD' version of "Dazed And Confused". And just to make matters that little bit more confusing - there's a few BLU RAY reissues also. But therein lies a problem for UK buyers - which issue to buy?

Unfortunately the ultra-desirable USA Criterion release is REGION-A LOCKED. So it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which few are). Don't confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front - that won't help.

Opt for the UK release instead - a great movie and it's cheap too (part of Amazon's excellent BLU RAY '2 for 10' deal).

Simply paste the Amazon reference B004VLZV1C into the search bar and you'll get the right issue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criterion Collection: Dazed & Confused [Blu-ray] [1993] [US Import]
24.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews