Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORICAL INSIGHT
There is a good selection of poems including some very famous ones. All of them give a glimpse into a situation that, no matter how well illuminated, is beyond anything we can comprehend. The scenes depicted, the attitudes of the time, the devastation wraught upon every human feeling and emotion are encapsulated here. To a world now obcessed with human rights and health...
Published 14 months ago by I Kane

versus
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not ever so impressed...
I recently bought a Kindle in hope of being 'more of a reader' and to perhaps read up more on topics studied within my Open University courses. So... my first download was this book on war poetry including Wilfred Owen's Dulce et Decorum Est.

I was amazed and disappointed however to find the line 'Of tired, outstripped five-nines that dropped behind' had the...
Published on 21 Oct. 2011 by Ben1204


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of tragedy, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a big poetry fan, but these really evoke a sense of the First World War and what it's what like in the true aches and back at home. I read it for Wilfred Owen's 'Dulce et Decorum Est' which I did at school, and discovered some other talented poets in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully tragic and moving. Relaying images we should never hope to see again for our sake, our children's sake and generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good collection, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A good selection of works from different authors. A happy balance and one that I enjoy and would recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good insight into War., 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Quickly delivered by Kindle. A superb read byanyone who can feel and see what the human being, and soul, has to go through, in all its extremeties, in War - then and now. At least NOW we think of it as a democratic thing that all right minded people have to support - BUT then, we also did at that time - so is it all inevitable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Hiljay "Hiljay" (Ripon, Nth Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to replace a much older book that had fallen apart, this is excellant for all who love the poetry of Wilfred Owen, Rupert Brooke etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thank you, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I am a great fan of British war poets and this one is brilliant, because it inc some verse I hav'nt seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
poems rated grown ups
boring and it was just not my type but there were quite alot of poems I don't know there isn't ITS A LONG WAY TO TIPPERARY which is my favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars war poets, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. J. W. Oneill "jo 1" (aberlemno scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
absolutely love this book, the poetry is so poignant it stirs feelings of sadness and anger at the wasted lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving. What else can I say? Written with ..., 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Moving. What else can I say? Written with such depth and feeling, heartwrenching stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY NOW, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Poets: A Selection of World War I Poetry (2nd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
All the usual suspects. Still haiuntingly beautiful and disturbingly brutal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews