Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Release...
As time marches on, there is an increasingly numerous and diverse product on DVD and Blu-ray available for those who appreciate and value archive British television. And long may it continue too!

However, once in a while comes a release which does something a little different. This is one of them.

Looking behind the scenes at ATV (and latterly...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Analogueman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Idea, not a good format
Great idea to see behind the scenes clips from the much loved and lamented ATV, but as usual in this type of look-back, too much attention is paid for 'today' and not enough of 'how it was'; I want to see whole sequences that were shot at the time intact, not a few snatches with overdubbed narration. Fill a few DVDs with uninterrupted original source material and it'll be...
Published 3 months ago by Silver Spirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Release..., 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
As time marches on, there is an increasingly numerous and diverse product on DVD and Blu-ray available for those who appreciate and value archive British television. And long may it continue too!

However, once in a while comes a release which does something a little different. This is one of them.

Looking behind the scenes at ATV (and latterly Central) covering nearly three decades, this two-disc set, clearly produced by those who care and have an enthusiasm for UK television heritage, uses a wealth of archive material to illustrate a fascinating history.

At a little over four hours in length, this is about as comprehensive a history as one is likely to see, outside a weighty written tome on the subject. Presented on DVD however, this proves to be far more accessible.

And if you might have a suspicious preconception that such a release might be rather dusty, dry and academic, let me reassure you it isn't. There are clips included that will have you grinning like a Cheshire cat!

Should you be an archive television enthusiast, or simply someone curious about a television studio complex that produced some memorable programmes between the early 1970s and late 1990s, then this without doubt should be on your wish list.

And given the amount of unique archive material used in illustration across both discs, it's surprisingly good value too.

I can only hope, after watching this, that other former ITV companies like Thames, LWT or Granada one day will have a similar collected history released to join this one.

As this DVD set amply demonstrates, there was more to a television company than just the programmes it once produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A power house of the ITV network, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
A power house of the ITV network, ATV was one of the big five that provided content for Independent television from 1955.
Responsible for great shows like, `The Golden Shot, Celebrity Squares, Tiswas, Spitting Image, Bullseye and of course the much lamented Soap `Crossroads'.
This 2 Disc set chronicles the inception and operation of 'the most advanced colour TV studio complex of its time' the ATV centre in Broad Street Birmingham. Told by the people who worked there.
Candid contributions from Producer/ Director Peter Harris, very amusing anecdotes from comedian Jim Bowen, and a fascinating insight into the day to day operation of the news and presentation departments from Bob Warman and many others. If you're a Tiswas fan, you will want to hear the reminiscences of Chris Tarrant. Equally fans of Crossroads will enjoy Jane Rossington's tales from the set of that famous motel. This is a complete history of Associated Television's output, also cataloguing the wealth of local and minority programming produced for the Midlands region.

The story is told in five parts entitled, `An Exciting new facility', `The Dawn of Colour'
`The Colour Heyday' `A New Era' and `The End of an Era' Total Running Time 245 Minutes)
We are taken back to the beginnings of the company in Aston when they shared facilities with ABC Television under the banner of Alpha Television, then the migration to the new prestigious broadcasting complex, the end of ATV and finally the start of Central television and beyond.

This is a comprehensive story of a treasured era in British Television. Narrated and produced by Lee Bannister. Without doubt this has been a labour of love, well crafted, rich in facts and archive content, this is a must have for any TV buff or aficionado.

Distributed by the Media Archive of Central England (MACE) and available from Amazon.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A labour of love!, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that this is one of the best documentarys i have ever seen. The attention to detail is surperb & i found myself glued to the screen from start to finish.

I am by no means a archive television enthusiast & can only name a few of the people interviewed in this film but i found myself fascinated by the attention to detail & actually wanting to know more about some of the programs & presenters featured here.

I have to say that for me Jim Bowen & Chris Tarrant where a highlight, but there's a curtain charm to all the people interviewed here. This definitely a fully comprehensive look at Television from a bygone era & more than sheds a light on just how much british tv has changed through the years.

I only came across this dvd by chance & after watching the trailer i decided to tie it a go & i can honestly say that i am glad that i did.

I have since shared this dvd with my parents who were equally thrilled with it & could see that it was a televisual trip down memory lane for them.

So if like me, your a casual docmentary fan or a outright enthusiast you will definitely find something of interest here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of work, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Radio Mike (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
Like others have said, this set was clearly a labour of love, and it absolutely shows. It's packed full of rare clips from the 60s through to the 80s. If you're a fan of television presentation (ie the bits between the programmes), you'll love the interviews with many of the Continuity Announcers, and there's even a short section devoted just to the Central logo. You don't need to have lived in, or even been to the Midlands to appreciate this set, anyone with even the slightest interest in TV nostalgia will enjoy it. It's never dry, always engaging, and an absolute pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent documentary about regional TV in the Midlands, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching "From ATVLand in Colour", so much so that I watched all five parts of the documentary in one day. This documentary features very interesting information on the history of Associated Television (ATV) and its successor Central Independent Television, even briefly mentioning some of the other regional ITV stations such as Granada Television and Yorkshire Television. A lot of thought had really gone into the making of the documentary, and the interviews with famous people such as Bullseye presenter Jim Bowen and newsreader Bob Warman were very interesting to watch as well. Even watching the ATV and Central idents was very entertaining as well as interesting. I would hope this documentary will give people the incentive to produce a documentary like this, but for all the other regions of Britain that were served by all their respective regional stations throughout the history of ITV, for example one documentary on regional television in East Anglia (Anglia Television, obviously), one documentary on regional television in the south and south-east of England (Southern, Television South (TVS) and Meridian), and so on. I would very highly recommend this documentary to anyone who is a fan of regional television, particularly those who come from the Midlands like I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extraordinary achievement !, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
Late last night i decided to watch the first episode before bedtime........i ended up sitting transfixed for 4 hours !

this is a unique work......comprehensive in information yet pacy , funny and thoroughly entertaining.

the dvd menus and features are nicely done. also there are subtitles which are accurate to the spoken words....full marks there.

from the first episode there is vast amount of technical information expertly given in layman's terms.

the interviews , current footage , graphics and archive footage are beautifully edited.

i sat for the entire duration of the two dvds grinning like a cheshire cat ! it shows that money alone does not guarantee a quality production , you need love and dedication as well !

i could weep over what has happened to television today , it really was better back in ''the good old days'' !

most of my dvd collection consists of BFI , pathe , coi and network dvd productions , now i can look forward to MACE for great high quality releases too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fascinating! A superb documentary., 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
Having grown up in the ATV region and, more specifically, having loitered outside the old Bridge Street base 'star spotting' for many a day when I was a lad, I was really looking forward to this release. I certainly wasn't disappointed when I popped it into the player; such was my enthusiasm and enrapture that I completely forgot to eke it out (as I had promised myself I would) and consumed the whole set in a couple of sittings.

The viewing time went by in a flash, because it was so engrossing and so very entertaining. It was wonderful to see again a host of familiar faces who we had grown up with 'on the box'; a number of whom I had met at Bridge Street more than once. The enthusiasm of the former ATV staff for their jobs and for their old workplace shone through, as did the passion of the documentary makers for their subject.

This story is packed with fascinating insights and a good dose of humour as well. This is not just a regional story - if you want to learn how television worked (or didn't!) in its 'golden years', this two-disc set is an absolute must. ATV's tenure ended too soon - as did this set, despite its considerable running time. Like many others I could have watched and listened for hours and hours more...

A wonderful story, brilliantly told. I am sure you won't be disappointed if television history is of interest to you and it is entertaining enough to entice the general viewer too. This is how documentaries should be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful labour of love..., 4 Nov 2011
By 
M. HICKMAN "Mike Hickman" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is everything the TV forums told me it was - full of insights into television's Golden Age and of interest even to those who weren't brought up with ATV's local output (although fans of television will know of lots of the personalities here from Lew Grade to Chris Tarrant to the cast of Crossroads). There are some interesting clips and generally very insightful and well chosen and filmed interviews. Given this was not originally intended to be a five part series - or a DVD - I have to take my hat off to everyone involved. One of the best archive television releases of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A facsinating look back at ITV in the Midlands, 30 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. P. M. Danks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
For anybody interested in the history of ITV in the Midlands, I would rcommend this DVD.

It is filled with interviews from many recognisable faces, and hs a very interesting commentary. This is a great DVD for thsoe interested in local media,or who just want to wallow in nostalgia from a time when ATV/Central was making great TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and remember the great days of ATV, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Anthony Harrison "Interceptor7" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] (DVD)
A real labour-of-love by the producers for this celebratory, upbeat look at the former ITV broadcaster for the Midlands. Reminds you of how powerful ATV and then Central were, not just within ITV, but throughout the television world. What a shame that this `powerhouse' has gone, along with the iconic Birmingham headquarters of ATV. The research is impeccable, the production quality good, and the obvious enthusiasm for the subject comes through on both discs. My only very slight quibble is that I felt that the place of ATV as a Midlands broadcaster wasn't really set in the wider context of the ATV group - eg: other parts of the empire, relationship with ITC, etc. However, that is so small that it won't stop me giving this brilliant DVD five very well-deserved stars. Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From ATVLand in Colour [DVD]
From ATVLand in Colour [DVD] by Peter Raven (DVD - 2011)
19.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews