Customer Reviews


714 Reviews
5 star:
 (590)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic read!
The plot ever thickens!! This has got to be the most exciting and heartbreaking book so far, but despite everything that happens, you are compelled to read on! Also, don't skip the epilogue! Has to be one of the biggest twists yet!
Published 14 months ago by Damon Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same
The propensity of the author to kill off main characters - doesn't actually keep you on the edge of your seat but you develop an emotional coolness to all of them - and to be quite honest there isn't one of them that has any redeeming features.
Published 12 months ago by M. Stowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 372 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of Swords Part 1, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
George R R Martin has a new fan! His books are a complete revelation to anyone interested in fantasy, history or just wanting a great holiday read. I am in awe of the breadth of the "world" he has created. Each chapter is told from the point of view of individual characters as events unfold. Will Sansa escape the clutches of Cersei and Joffrey, will the Hound ride to her rescue? Will Arya be reunited with her family? Why do I like Jaimie? Will Part 2 provide the answers - I can't finish the book soon enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story line got to read the next one ASAP will buy it next thing I do onward can not wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold, 10 Feb 2003
By 
thomas galforg (Southend on Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
In a world full of "cheap" Lord of the Ring imitations, it is blessing to read a novel, which embrace both extremes of human nature.
The characterization allows the reader to empathize with not only the heroes, but also the villains, while retaining the feeling of being punched in the guts whenever a particular character is mowed down.
The structure and geography of the world develops into a rich tapestry, creating a blank canvas to paint a vivid portrait of deceit, love, envy, jealousy, courage, hope and despair.
This series of novel may help the whole genre to lose it’s ill-earned title of “ nerd- novels”, the same way that , Frank Miller’s Batman graphic novel, helped comic in the 1980’s.
I look forward to the release of the next part of the series and hope that there are many more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 15 Dec 2013
By 
M. Stowe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The propensity of the author to kill off main characters - doesn't actually keep you on the edge of your seat but you develop an emotional coolness to all of them - and to be quite honest there isn't one of them that has any redeeming features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful skill, 22 Oct 2001
Martin's skill with the written word, his magical ability to steal your attention and lose you in this magical world of his is utterly stunning. But it is not just his ability to draw a picture in the mind but also his capability in writing a hundred different twist and tricks into his plot that make it such an astonishing read. no character is safe from his machinations, no event is totaly predictable, nothing is obvious and everything is to be expected. One critic suggested that his books were on a par with J.R.R.Tolkien, i say that there has never been more truth to a statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Song picks up pace, 15 Aug 2001
The third book in this high quality series is the best yet. I'd give four stars to the other books in this series because though the scope of imagination and plot are far beyond most fantasy novels this often made the opening books in the series a liitle slow at times.
In this installment we start to see some resolution in the convoluted political situation of the Seven Kingdoms (although not quite as you might expect from the earlier books), and along with the growing influence of Daenerys the story feels like it is starting to shape itself.
Also, the as to now mainly suggested fantasy elements of the story, seem to be hovering on the horizon ready to push the characters in a direction they cannot foresee.
All in all both parts of the third installment were thoroughly enjoyable, especially the second, and the series seems to be building more and more momentum as it goes on. If you were one of the very few who didn't continue with the series after the first book go back and have another look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best modern fantasy series available., 28 Nov 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
THE STORY:
The War of the Five Kings takes a remarkable twist when three of them are suddenly killed. In the far east Queen Danaerys begins breaking the city-states of the slavers, whilst in the frozen north, the Wildlings reach the Wall, with the Others not far behind.
WHAT'S GOOD:
I simply cannot explain to a newcomer how good Martin's book's are. He is constantly surprising you, with characters you thought invincible dying and other you thought villains proving themselves honourable (Jaime Lannister). The author's not afraid to challenge our expectations, showing time and time again that nothing is certain. Of all the fantasy author's out there, Martin's characters are the most thoroughly developed and realistic and his plotlines are entirely believable. He has chosen to introduce magic to his series very slowly, an idea which I applaud for it's tension building qualities, and here we just begin to get the impression of a far more dangerous threat in the north.
WHAT'S BAD:
Only three things I can possibly complain about: 1) My favourite character, Tyrion, is always getting the bad end of the stick. 2) His stories are a little too historically realistic and as such, quite depressing. 3) I've got to wait until next year to find out what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent fiction, twists and turns at every corner. I've heard this series described as the soprano in medical times and I couldn't agree more. I'm not a fantasy lover but this grips you and due to the fact that there are so many characters and length of the chapters it's easy to read. I'm slowly watching the tv series but I'm staying ahead with the books and find them far better, although appreciate what a difficult series this has been to put to film. Highly recommended . Now book four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still wonderful!, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've definitely been sucked into this series now. It is so much better than the TV show. The controversial 'Jaime/Cersei rape scene' from the show isn't a rape scene at all! One has to ask what the motives of the TV folk were and why they thought - 'what this book needs is a bit more rape!'. Anyway, read this series, it's great. I particularly love Arya Stark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my!, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book in the series, got tired of the 2nd and 3rd, but by the time I finished reading this one I can say I enjoyed it as much as the first in the series! I cried when some characters died, cheered when others died, celebrated when others survived. Yes it was that good! It had me hooked all the way through! So unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 372 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews