Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel back to 1971 and Doctor Who
Watching Doctor Who and Colony in Space was really like a trip in the Tardis for me...all the way back to 1971. This six part story commenced on BBC1 on 10 April 1971 at a time when Saturday tea time meant that virtually every child in Britain was gripped by Jon Pertwee's portrayal of Doctor Who.

Now in his 3rd incarnation, the Doctor was still getting used to...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Stephen R Johnson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not the best Pertwee
Of the Doctors in the original series Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker stand out. Each has their inconditionals. I really enjoyed Jon Pertwee's style and panache as against Tom Baker's entertaining irreverance. This series is fun, but it is not classic Pertwee, although it is very watchable.

When you watch a few of these old series off the reel over a weekend you do...
Published 21 months ago by M. Kidger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel back to 1971 and Doctor Who, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Watching Doctor Who and Colony in Space was really like a trip in the Tardis for me...all the way back to 1971. This six part story commenced on BBC1 on 10 April 1971 at a time when Saturday tea time meant that virtually every child in Britain was gripped by Jon Pertwee's portrayal of Doctor Who.

Now in his 3rd incarnation, the Doctor was still getting used to his new assistant Jo Grant played by the ever-so-lovely Katy Manning and was clearly irritated at not being able to freely travel in his Tardis because the Time Lords (his own race of overbearing superiors) had grounded his time machine and exiled the Doctor to Earth as his punishment for "borrowing" one in the first place. Colony in Space was one of those unique stories during the Doctor's exile that actually saw him fly to an alien planet - in this case Uxarieus in the year 2472 - because the Tardis was being controlled by the High Council of the Time Lords on Gallifrey.

Although aware that he was being used as an inter-planetary puppet of the Time Lords, the Doctor's natural sense of curiosity gets the better of him when he discovers human colonists on Uxarieus whose very existence is threatened by savage natives and representatives of a ruthless mining corporation.

The Doctor and Jo face an even greater danger when they come face to face with the Master played by the brilliant late Roger Delgado. The Master impersonates the Adjudicator from Earth sent to sort out the disputes between the colonists and the mining corporation but in reality he is after a secret weapon hidden and looked after by the Guardian on Uxarieus - a planet that once had an advanced civilisation . The Master stole a top secret file from the Time Lords that informed him the whereabouts of this weapon. The Guardian and the Doctor are determined that this weapon must not fall into the hands of the Master who is desperate to control and use it for his own evil intentions.

This story was the fourth out five stories of the 1971 season that was known as The Master season because Delgado's Master appeared in every story. But Colony in Space was the first time that saw Jon Pertwee fly the Tardis since his exile. Some literally scary monsters appear in this classic story by Malcolm Hulke who brought us the Sea Devils and Silurians.

This story is brilliant and gripping and well worth buying because you will never tire of watching it again and again. Watch out for a very young Helen Worth - Gail in Coronation Street. Maybe David came from Uxarieus...that would explain a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maligned interstellar Pertwee, 6 Aug 2011
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I only got to see Colony In Space for the first time quite recently and its fan reputation went before it -overlong, drab, bit of a runaround in a quarry... And yes, to an extent these criticisms are valid, but I still enjoyed it. For me, the DVD releases have benefited the Pertwee era most of all. As I watch the stories again and the accompanying extras, I'm appreciating the work that went into this experimental era.

This is Pertwee's first space adventure, which already (like The Mutants) makes it feel a bit special. The Doctor and Jo are sent to a colony in space (you see?) to stop the Master finding a doomsday weapon, but on the way get caught up in a dispute between colonists and an unscrupulous mining corporation. As another reviewer has stated, the doomsday weapon plot is actually the less successful of the two, but we do get some interesting-looking aliens (and a funny but cute puppet with a normal-sized head). Yes the visuals are fairly colourless but then that's the point - this is a tough, harsh vision of the future (like Frontios) where life is hard. Malcolm Hulke's writing is always strong as well as thought-provoking, and I have grown to love Jo Grant in recent years - here she has to deal with an unexpected trip to another planet. The Master was overused this season, but at least this time they let the plot develop for a bit before they bring him in to complicate matters for the Doctor.

Yes like most Pertwee six-parters (to be fair, most six-parters in general) there is padding, but watch it in installments and enjoy a bit more Pertwee in space...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best! Great DVD, 1 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Running for six episodes, this story has drama, action and adventure. A really great storyline and great location work. There's time travel, alien world, fight scenes and explosions. What a brilliant Dr Who story. You may recognized many faces from this show, notably a very young Helen Worth (Gail from 'Coronation Street)

I vaguely remember the first broadcast, but when this was repeated on UK Gold in the early 1990s I was impressed by the story and production values.

The DVD may not have many extras but those that are featured are real gems.
IMC Needs You! is the making of Colony In Space really absorbing; the interviews from Barry Letts, Terrance Dicks and Katy Manning are well informative and entertaining also Michael Briant (Director of another Jon Pertwee classic 'The Sea Devils') and Graeme Harper (Classic/New Series Director). My only gripe is the cartoonish characters dipicted at the beginning of the programme I thought was rather silly and gimmicky.

'From the Cutting Room Floor' is probally worth the price of the DVD alone. This was absolutely fantastic!! that showed Jon Pertwee, Roger Delgado and others from unused film footage. Running for over 12 mins. Absolute gem!

The Photo Gallery was quite impressive with some great shots.

The coming soon trailer features a very impressive combined trailer for Invasion of the Dinosaurs and The Android Invasion. I think many people may watch this trailer again and again!

This DVD is a must buy. Fantastic viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great example of Classic Doctor Who, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
If I were to pick a representative of Classic Doctor Who, I would pick this one.
All I will say about the story is that it is brought to life by powerful acting from the majority of the cast, which overcomes the cheap budget special effects. Which I always thought added plenty of charm to the show.

I would certainly say this is a contender to the best of Doctor Who nowadays.

Final Verdict - Fun for any fan of science fiction.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
ok the special effects are what you expect from the early 70s but the story was as usual for this era very good. maybe messers moffat , t davies , and the rest of the modern writers should watch these old episodes and learn somthing about how to approach a good story and not try to bamboozle us with little clues in each episode only to have a big reveal at the end of the series , a reveal that most of us got after one or two clues . when i watch old pertwee and tom baker episodes it reminds me how good dr who was and also why i dont have any of the new rubbish in my dvd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor, The Master, A Puppet & Corrie's Gail Platt, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Doctor Who - Colony In Space (DVD.

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 4:3 - 1.33:1
Number of discs: 2
Classification: PG
Studio: 2entertain
Running Time: 146 minutes

Special Features
* Commentaries with cast & crew
* Documentaries
* Photo Gallery
* Coming Soon Trailer
* PDF Material & Production Information Subtitles
* Digitally remastered picture & sound quality

Cast.
Jon Pertwee - The Doctor
Katy Manning - Jo Grant
Nicholas Courtney -- Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart
Roger Delgado -- The Master
Graham Leaman, Peter Forbes-Robertson, John Baker -- Time Lords
John Ringham -- Ashe
Helen Worth -- Mary Ashe
David Webb -- Leeson
Sheila Grant -- Jane Leeson
John Tordoff -- Alec Leeson
Nicholas Pennell -- Winton
John Line -- Martin
Mitzi Webster -- Mrs Martin
Roy Skelton -- Norton
Morris Perry -- Captain Dent
Bernard Kay -- Caldwell
John Herrington -- Holden
Tony Caunter -- Morgan
Stanley McGeagh -- Allen
Pat Gorman -- Long/Primitive/Voice
John Scott Martin -- Robot
Roy Heymann -- Alien Priest
Norman Atkyns -- The Guardian

Production
Writer - Malcolm Hulke
Director - Michael E. Briant
Script editor - Terrance Dicks
Producer - Barry Letts
Series - Season 8
Length - 6 episodes, 25 minutes each
Originally broadcast.
10 April-15 May 1971

Trivia.
1)This episode was watched by 7.6 million viewers on its original transmission.
2)This episode takes place on Uxarieus in March 2472.
3)This is the only serial of season 8 in which Captain Yates & Sergeant Benton do not appear.
4)The Doctor mentions that the Brigadier mistook The Spanish Ambassador for The Master. This is an in-joke - Roger Delgado played The Spanish Ambassador Mendoza in the ITC Entertainment series Sir Francis Drake from 1961-1962.
5)Actress Helen Worth would go on to play Coronation Street's Gail Platt.

What's Up Doc.
The Time Lords discover that the Master has stolen their secret file on the Doomsday Weapon & decide to send the Doctor to retrieve it for them.

The TARDIS takes the Doctor & Jo Grant to the desolate planet Uxarieus in the year 2472, There they become involved in a dispute between some beleaguered colonists & the crew of an Interplanetary Mining Corporation (IMC) spaceship over the ownership rights to the planet.

The Doctor learns that the indigenous Primitives & their High Priests worship a large machine tended by a creature called the Guardian.

Timelord Thoughts.
This was the first time that the Third Doctor was able to travel to another world in the TARDIS since his exile to Earth by the Timelords & was a script pushed upon by the late Malcom Hulke who quoted Earthbound story's consisting of two plots- invasion from outer space or mad scientist.

Colony In Space sees the third Doctor's exile being suspend briefly by the Timelords to undertake a mission of great importance that involves the Master trying to get his hands on an ultimate weapon capable of destroying planets.

The story itself takes place on a distant planet where it's inhabitants are getting forced out of the land they've farmed by a ruthless mining corporation.

The story has some very strong written characters by writer Malcom Hulke, Bernard Kay as Caldwell is a good man who just happens to work for a bad company & brings a conflict of interest to his character & this adventure is a refreshing change of storyline to the continual Earthbound stories that were very much part of the first three seasons of the five season Jon Pertwee era.

The late great Jon Pertwee is excellent throughout this six parter & adds a dashing man of action to his incarnation & plays a Doctor who's unafraid to speak his mind while Katy Manning gives a convincing performance as the Doctor's companion Jo Grant who ventures out on her first interplanetary adventure & shares such a warm wonderful chemistry with Jon Pertwee's Doctor.

Roger Delgado never delivers a bad performance as the Master but his character sort of feels tagged on to the plot here & this adventure could've easily have worked without the Master's apperance, Delgado however & those hypnotic eyes of his gives a charming & sinister performance as the ex friend & now enemy of the Doctor known as the Master.

The production is fairly decent considering the shows low budget although I wasn't sold on the robot with the paper mache claws which didn't look convincing or threatening.

This being Doctor Who the location filming hasd to include a Quarry while the main villain is seemingly a glove puppet that's been discarded from a Punch & Judy show as the production values have a cheap & cheerful feel.

The restoration is brilliant on these episodes that look clear sharp & viberant while the sound clear & the remastering by the restoration team is as good as it could possibly be.

The extras features a insightful commentary with the lovely Katy Manning, Bernard Kay, Morris Perry, the charming Terrance Dicks an anecdote driven Michael Briant & a over enthusiastic Graeme Harper, while making of documentary - IMC Needs You is a thoroughly entertaining watch for Who fan's with excellent contributions from Director Michael Briant and Graeme Harper.

Overall, Colony In Space is a cracking story & a entertaining third Doctor adventure that deals with relevant issues of the time & features great performances from the cast, plus a early apperance from Corrie's, Gail Platt actress Helen Worth who does well in her small role as Mary Ashe.

This six part adventure is well worth watching for it's the third Doctors first outer space adventure & a good one it is too.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story much better than its reputation., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
If there is an era of Doctor Who which has benefited most from the DVD restoration treatment, it must surely be Jon Pertwee's era as the Doctor. I must confess not being much of a fan of the 3rd Doctor prior to the stories of his era being released on DVD - many were in a terrible state picture wise, and the only way I had seen many was via UK Gold's omnibus format. Given many of his stories from his era are at least 6 episodes: with commercial breaks as well they seemed to go on for an eternity.

Here is Colony in Space restored then: looking crisp, but not perfect (from NTSC copies, remastered) and probably one of the most epic and ambitious stories in Jon's 5 years as the Doctor.

The story is classic Doctor Who fare: earth colonists facing greedy industrialists (The Intergaltic Mining Corporation). Interesting how here the miners are portrayed here as the villans: ignoring the views of the planet inhabitants for their own personal financial gain.

As ever, the Doctor champions the underdog, and foils the attempts by the Master to use his deadly weapon on the sun.

Many complain that this story is too grey: ironic for the 1st story to be made in colour and set in space. But perhaps that is the point: it's meant to be a harsh, drab, utilitarian version of the future for earth colonists in space. The choice of a clay pit, rather than the regular quarry, makes for an unusual and less formulaic landscape, and indeed the choice of vehicles and exterior set design for once makes you believe you are looking at something not of this world. Given we'd seen the 3rd Doctor earthbound for quite a while by this point, it makes for an interesting change.

The set design is enhanced by the direction, and the action packed sequences. Yes, this is the 1970s answer to 'Caves of Androzani' - a story with which I see a lot of parallels : the morals of unrestrained capitalism, an action packed adventure set in space, which both happened to be clay/ sand pits. There are shoot outs and fight scenes.

For a 6-parter, I did not feel the story dragged, and Jon Pertwee is great as the 3rd Doctor. Katy Manning gets to do the 'oh - it's bigger inside than out' for her first trip in the TARDIS, and reacts as most would when realising the police box has actually transported her in space - disbelief and a desire to return.

My only criticism of this story is the incidental music. It's hard to believe it's from the same composer that brought us City of Death (Dudley Simpson), but for Jon's era mostly electronic scores were in vogue. It just doesn't seem right, and I've always wondered why the early Tom Baker era feels much more polished. It's the orchestral music, something they got right from day 1 on the new series. It's the only element which lets Colony in Space down really: it seems random and 'clunky' - not fitting the visuals at all.

So for the extras:

-Commentary with Katy Manning, Bernard Kay, Morris Perry, Terrance Dicks and Graeme Harper. Graeme is so enthusiastic about his work -it's infectious, and Michael Briant is full of anecdotes. I agree with his observation that the fight scene would not be allowed today for the actor with today's health and safety brigade.

-IMC Needs You - a fantastic look at the making of the story. As with the commentary: obvious both Michael Briant and Graem Harper loved their jobs. It shows on screen.

- From the Cutting Room Floor- deleted scenes

- Picture Gallery. Good selection of mostly studio based shots.

A story which doesn't deserve its fandom reputation. It's actually quite good. An action packed space adventure with a moral tale - surely what's Doctor Who's all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic television., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
There are many great Dr Who incarnations. Peter Cushing was fantastic, Tom Baker brilliant, William Hartnell wonderful, Patrick Troughton was great and of the modern Dr Who actors both David Tennant and Matt Smith gave truly good performances.

But let's be honest here the Muhammad Ali of Dr Who is John Pertwee and when you watch this DVD you will see the definitive Dr in action.

For any true Dr Who Fans watch the greatest in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First interplanetary outing for Pertwee - with mixed results, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
This was the first time the producers had acknowledged the limitations of the series limiting the Doctor to primarily "invasion of the Home Counties" and let him off Earth (albeit under the control of the Time Lords) to an alien world for a bit of variety - with mixed results. Hard to criticise the acting with Pertwee, Delgado and guest cast turning in good performances (even Corrie's Gail Tilsley/Platt/Hillman/Beelzebub in one of Helen Worth's earliest performances); effects/setting ok (yes, another quarry stands in for an alien planet but, hey, at this stage just get over it). If I have a 'problem' with this one, it is because it doesn't have the pace of other stories in this exceptional Season Eight (perhaps I was spoiled by the Target book?). Although this appears to be a negative review, it really isn't. This 1971 story stands up very well in 2014 and you should get it (although it has a noticeable lack of quality extras which is unusual for this range of titles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Old Fayre, 25 Mar 2013
By 
David C. Morrison (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The first Dr Who I ever remember watching was Dr Who and Terror of the Autons - I was 3 yrs and 8 months old, but needless to say, I was so terrified that it seared itself on to my memory ! - and I've loved vintage Who ever since, amassing all the Target books as a kid and watching the show devoutly ... well, until around 1978 when I felt a sea change and that it had begun to hit the skids (I was 11) and it was all downhill from there.... but I do still enjoy the vintage stuff, especially the 2nd, 3rd and early 4th Doctors - and of course the New Who !!!
So I missed this story - being just too young. I read the reviews here and saw that it had the usual quarry settings and seemed too long to some ...
But I picked it up and loaded it in and ... I enjoyed it from beginning to end.
Yes, it's set in a quarry (again) - but this one is IMMENSE ! It creates a grand ad convincing sense of scale. The story did not plod to me and Jon Pertwee clearly relished his role at this point and he put in a great performance.
Similarly, Katy Manning's Jo Grant is a convincing and enjoyable companion to the Doctor on her first extra-planetary adventure.
And The Master is The Master. You simply can't go wrong with Roger Delgado. They were afraid of over-exposure of The Master in this season - but I relish his appearances.
The villains of the piece are well realized, as is the chief alien - I was impressed with the puppet. I'd only ever seen b/w photos of it as a kid and here it was in colour - and I'd have been creeped out as a kid. I was sorry to have missed that !
The extras have some interesting items on there too - not superfluous rubbish which can sometimes feel that it's there for the sake of it. Just enough to keep the interest.
A good yarn well spun and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971]
Doctor Who - Colony in Space [DVD] [1971] by Michael E. Briant (DVD - 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews