Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinness still reigns in the role he defined.
Le Carre requires an expansive approach to translating his tales into film. These two BBC efforts benefit from the several hours devoted to unfolding each of the stories. And very successful efforts they are. Guinness's understated subtlety and that rich, expressive voice capture Smiley to the fingertips (e.g., the occasional displacement behavior of briefly removing...
Published on 25 Mar. 2012 by James Connelly

versus
179 of 189 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could do with a remaster on BluRay!
I'd personally rate these two 6-part serials as some of the best drama the BBC *ever* produced. The acting and direction is outstanding, BAFTA-winning stuff. Alec Guinness is superb, but there's over a dozen other cast members with hardly a duff performance between them - Beryl Reid for instance is excellent. The stories themselves are great, with complex plots that knit...
Published on 18 Sept. 2011 by feline1


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinness still reigns in the role he defined., 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Le Carre requires an expansive approach to translating his tales into film. These two BBC efforts benefit from the several hours devoted to unfolding each of the stories. And very successful efforts they are. Guinness's understated subtlety and that rich, expressive voice capture Smiley to the fingertips (e.g., the occasional displacement behavior of briefly removing his spectacles and fiddling with them and similar quiet "business" or even a smile or a glance that can ever-so-occasionally and ever-so-fleetingly remind you of Colonel Nicholson in "Bridge on the River Kwai" or even [yes, believe it or not] "Dutch" Holland in "The Lavender Hill Mob" [the smile that Smiley give to Peter Guillam when he first sends him to the Circus to surreptitiously retrieve certain tell-tale documents]). The supporting cast is well chosen all around (especially, Ian Richardson, who allows the inner demons of Bill Haydon to peek out from behind the mask of weary irony; Michael Jayston as Peter Guillam; and Hywel Bennett as Ricki Tarr). The settings are moody, suitably moist and overcast, and they give a feel of the texture of the London in that era. Whatever the merits of the recent "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" movie of 2011 (Gary Oldman, principally) or demerits (trying to tell a complex tale about many personalities in a couple of hours), it just cannot rival the expansive, unhurried BBC unfolding. (SPOILER ALERT: Perhaps the most impairing departure driven by commercial film's time constraint is the handling of the Spy's fate: i.e., dubiously substituting the long-distance sniper-shooting death at the end of the story for the up-close-and-personal broken neck shown in the TV film and implied in the novel). You have to wonder how many viewers of the recent movie who had not yet read the novel could actually follow so compressed a script as the 2011 film used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


179 of 189 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could do with a remaster on BluRay!, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
feline1 (Brighton, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I'd personally rate these two 6-part serials as some of the best drama the BBC *ever* produced. The acting and direction is outstanding, BAFTA-winning stuff. Alec Guinness is superb, but there's over a dozen other cast members with hardly a duff performance between them - Beryl Reid for instance is excellent. The stories themselves are great, with complex plots that knit together perfectly by the final episodes, and really repay repeated watching on DVD (heaven knows how viewers kept up when this was originally broadcast once episode per week! If you missed one you'd be stuffed!)

As other reviewers have noted, however, this "box set" is simply the BBC's existing DVD releases from 2003/2004 put in a new carboard box. The sound and picture quality really are a bit mediocre at times. Given that this is one of the jewels in the crown of the BBC's output, and there's interest from the film version, you'd think one of the suits at BBC Enterprises would see fit to have this material remastered. The sound could definately benefit from a clean-up with modern techniques... the picture was all shot on 16 mm film, so it's not capable of being "high definition" resolution, but other releases have shown that nonetheless, the superior compression codecs on BluRay make 16 mm film look considerably better than MPEG munging imparted by DVD (particularly if the original film negatives are still available...?)

Considering the BBC regular undertake this kind of remastering work for dodgy old episodes of Doctor Who, you'd think they'd make the effort for this!

So - 5 stars for the content, but only 3 for this repackaging, which smacks of the BBC trying to just flog a few quid out of their back catalogue without giving it the artistic respect it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Visual Excellence, Majesty and Genius, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I saw this TV programme back in the 1970's and was impressed then, but watching again this time on DVD made the programme (and the books - which I read before seeing these progammes), all the more incredible. Actually to my mind you really need to watch both progammes: "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier Spy & Smiley's People," to ascertain how these (fictional) Spies were involved in their machinations - that was part and parcel of the "Cold War."
The most relevant feature of this DVD is, the marvellous, glorious acting of Sir Alec Guiness - he brings John Le Carre's character of George Smiley to life. If these programme are new to you, or you weren't born in the 1970/1980's you are best advised to watch them especially for the very fine dramatic acting of Sir Alec Guiness, and the other associated great actors of this time period. If like me you like Espionage type thrillers (with very complex/convulted plots) this is the film for you. Its very dated time period is its key element - capturing a time of our pasts who great relevance to the contemporary world - because don't forget Spies work for goverments.
Good films to me are about showing you an alternative time periods - because the past is important. If spies and government plots interest you, then this is the DVD for you, because DVD's can be watched over-and-over again - without being boring. In my opinion this DVD is 20 out of 10 - truly magnificent. Seemleesly superb great acting - always watchable, and always engaging. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier Spy & Smiley's People - brilliant, exciting, interesting and enticing - buy this DVD now!Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy and Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic spy tales, 23 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
The late '70s/early '80s BBC productions of Le Carre's great espionage diptych of Tinker Tailor/Smiley's People are really without peer, amongst dramatized spy stories. Alec Guinness is at the height of his powers as Smiley and the tales unfold with the implacable force of Greek tragedy. They capture the dismal art of espionage with with a clear, harsh eye. Absolutely everything in Smiley's world is dingy and cold and depressing; much as one would assume it to be in reality. Consider how tatty and threadbare the Circus looks. Perfect. Every scene seems like it was expunged of anything warm or happy or glamorous. And that's as it should be. I haven't seen the new Tinker movie yet (not released in the US until next month), and I'm sure it's quite good. But it cannot be better than the original. Not possible. The caveat with these DVDs, though, is technical. I assume the shows were shot on 16mm. A crime that it wasn't done on 35mm. And these are dark, grainy, ugly transfers. I hope some day the BBC will remaster them and release something better looking. Still, I'm delighted to find these great shows at such a great price here at Amazon UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series which deserves more BBC respect, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I agree with other reviewers who have commented on the packaging and presentation of this double-set; it should have had a little more time spent on presenting it properly, rather than the feeling of cheapness it exudes.

These are two classic serials and the quality of the DVDs reflects the times in which they are made, not the quality modern audiences expect. There are many classic films, television programmes and audio recordings which have been digitally remastered to improve the quality and these deserved that treatment; although the graininess and older video quality do seem to suit the world of the stories, I doubt it was a deliberate stylistic choice not to re-master. The novels are classics of the genre and the BBC's original choice to make the serials was inspired, so much so that it has spawned a modern cinema version playing to large houses.

Two great serials which deserved better treatment at the hands of the advertising people and technicians to bring them up to today's market standard. Having written all of that, in the absence of anything better, I'd buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reprise on an old favourite, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
J. B. WOMERSLEY "Oldgit" (Bingley, W.Yorks, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I bought this copy in DVD as a replacement for a tape recording made some several years ago. The quality of reproduction is so very much better and the original suspense is still there even after some thirty years. Well worth the investment. I'm also looking forward to the new version just released to cinemas. The reviews are splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant spy series, one of Alec Guiness' swansongs, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Based on John le Carre's Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Smiley's People the two BBC miniseries (from 1979 and 1982) are a real classic of the spy genre. Totally different to the more dashing James Bond style spy flicks, this focuses more on the 'real' issues of trust, betrayal, politics, bureaucracy... and presents a fascinating world while doing so.

From today's perspective both series are pretty slow in the sense that it takes patience from the viewer to get the story unravelled, it is certainly not action packed and even in terms of suspense, in spite of the very well managed build-up, the overall levels are much lower than commonly demanded by modern audiences.

If this does not bother you, you will be in for a treat of fantastic acting, delivered from a truly star studded cast rarely found in a more modern TV production, led by Sir Alec Guinness in the role of George Smiley. On top of this the story is very well thought out, showing both the high levels of dedication necessary to the job and the strain on the people carrying it out.

Watching it in close proximity to the new Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) movie is quite interesting. In spite of the monumental performance of Gary Oldman there, Alec Guinness still comes across a tad more believable. On the other hand there is surprisingly little lost in terms of content, in spite of the running time (of the Tinker Taylor part) being almost three times as long here. Both are definitely excellent in their own ways, if different.

Last but not least, the special features contained in the pack. You get two worth mentioning, namely the documentaries - 'making of' type - featuring interviews with mainly John le Carre but also several others, who were instrumental for the making of the two series, as well as some quite interesting contemporaries, the heads of the East German Secret Service and KGBs London chief amongst them. It contains much of the author's autobiography as well, which provides an excellent perspective on the book and the series (with excerpt's from the largely autobiographical A Perfect Spy: Complete BBC Series (3 Disc Box Set) [DVD]).

Another point - the video quality is not outstanding but then it rarely is when material this old is re-released without a digital remastering. It lends the series a proper period feel, though.

Overall a series I would much recommend both to the spy thrilled, as well as to fans of Alec Guinness, or John le Carre for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special televisual production, 13 April 2012
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I adore these series. They encapsulate a mood that cannot be created on film, as they are allowed a methodical pace, and the smaller scale appears so much more representative of the era. The styling of the piece was probably simply of its time, however, today it makes it something special. The setting feels more austere, the concept of 'cold' is everywhere - including within all the relationships. I can recall the 70s well - and all too often the decade is misrepresented by contemporary media - my recollection was dark days, three day weeks, electricity 'melt downs', Football violence, as opposed to everybody walking around in Afghan coats and being 'funky'. Similarly, whilst we have all become more internationally literate, these series still hark back to a period when for the British, most foreign places appeared or at least sounded exotic.

Quite possibly it is my difficulty,nevertheless, Bernard Hepton's character appears to be so wildly different in each of the productions - I did struggle in understanding why this was the case...

Whilst I really enjoyed Gary Oldman's 'Tinker Tailor...' - it appears very much to be a homage to the original BBC production. Oldman appears to have lifted Alec Guinness from these series and undertaken an excellent impersonation. For this reason, I prefer the television series - and really wish that the contemporary movie had chosen another direction...

Seminal BBC viewing - fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with the remake!, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
When you have perfection, it can't be bettered. Frankly, I don't know why anyone would bother with the remake of "Tinker Tailor".

The cast is like a who's-who of the British acting profession, the way it is shot is compelling and yet understated. It grips you from start to finish and when it's over, you just wish it wasn't. I have seen the remake (was dragged along by the boyfriend who fell asleep). I decided to go with an open mind and not compare it with this (and had the good grace to remain awake). However, I didn't even think that worked as a film on its own merits (too many things unexplained which, if you hadn't seen the original, would have confused).

Go for this one EVERY time. I could watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new in this double pack, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
Sean Greenwood "Cinephile" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Just a quick note for the curious: This is simply a boxed set of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy : Complete BBC Series [DVD] [1979] and Smiley's People [1982] [DVD] in those exact editions and cases (see the scan of the back of the slipbox for proof) from 2003 and 2004, respectively. There is nothing new here except the cardboard slipbox. A shame that the BBC didn't see fit to at least produce new packaging for this release, let alone new discs, remastered presentations or new extras.

At least the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy / Smiley's People Double Pack [DVD] [1979]
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews