Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
Bill Crawford "Big Bill" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have very recently (in last year) become a Sir Terry Pratchett fan, starting with "Going Postal" then a couple of other Discworld books, but this Bromeiad trilogy (Truckers, Diggers and Wings) is absolutely fantastic. A hugely engaging story for younger readers (say, 8 years+) but there are some very thought provoking themes about life and our place (as humans) in the grand scheme of things, that older readers will find engaging. This deeper aspect is not essential for younger readers to enjoy the story, but it might just get them thinking. The fact that these different aspects can be weaved together in one story (equally suitable for adults and juniors) so expertly, is a huge compliment to Sir Terry Pratchett. You really need to read the stories in the correct order (as noted above) as the trilogy is essentially one story broken into 3 volumes. I cannot recommend these books highly enough - all but the most cynical must surely enjoy reading this very rewarding trilogy. I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph for nome-kind!, 9 April 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In Diggers, the nomes living in a quarry found themselves besieged by humans. In the end, Masklin rescued them with nothing short of a miracle. This book is the story of that miracle.
This book is so funny that I often found myself laughing out loud while reading it. Not only that, the action is gripping, and the ending is touching. This book is a wonderful buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, funny and easy to read book, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings: The Third Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
I would recomend that to anyone who want to relax and laugh a bit - funny and easy, interesting story - typical Terry Pratchett... nothing to do with disc worlds (which is my favourite, especially witches), but still good read :-D
Easily recommended to children and teenagers, thou not excluding adults ;-)
This book I would personally recommend as last one, after reading Truckers (1) and Diggers (2)...
You can easily start from any but somehow story make more sense if you read it in from begging to the end (well.. if it is an end ;-))
I would as well recommend it to someone whose English is not first language to get to Terry Pratchett and get use to his writing style. Good way to improve your language skills :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings and all, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
K. J. Aggas "casa cluade" (Tuscany, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry Pratchett, how does he keep up this high standard of writing and imagination.
Everyone seems to find there different levels to read, me i just like the parody to real life. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for all ages, 14 May 2014
This is the last book of the Bromeliad trilogy, written for children. In this book, Masklin and two other nomes make their way to Florida so that their computer can communicate with a space shuttle…

Very well written, with some humour and lots of wry observations of life, typical of Pratchett. Most enjoyable, and a great end to the trilogy. Much best to have read the other two books (Truckers and Diggers) first as it would not make much sense without them. suitable to read to children from the age of about six or seven, or for older children or teens (or, indeed, adults).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wings, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
A. keir (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was struggling to find something for my nine year old to read after she had red the Harry Potter books twice. These set of three did the job, she loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great ending to the trillogy!, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was great fun to read. It was just as good as the first two books if not better. I think it was the most exciting book in the series. and a great ending to the trilogy. The book held my attention really well all the way through. I liked the ending as it was very exciting and left a really strong sense that the story still carries on going when you've finished the book. This series is definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read and great end to Pratchet's trilogy, 17 April 2009
By 
Ms. E. Hawes (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book very much. A great end to the bromiliad trilogy. Book was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent conclusion, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings: The Third Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
Marisa Parrington.
Even though it's over 20 years since I read the first book, the characters remained fresh and I was able to pick everything up where i's finished and enjoy the wit and humour as if I'd never put the first book down:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only very funny, but very intelligent as well., 10 May 2001
By A Customer
Wings is the third and final volume of the Bromeliad (following Truckers and Diggers).
Masklin, Gurder and Angalo have just left the quarry and are heading to the airport in hope to go to Florida, where they can put the Thing on a space shuttle so that it can call the Ship. Following Grandson Richard, 39, they board the Concorde.
What somewhat surprised me with Wings is that it's not only the conclusion to a tremendous adventure: the story really gets a level deeper, as the relationship between the nomes and the Thing develops. And don't worry, you still get those hilarious puns such as the one about frogs who have "such a tiny life cycle it still had trainer wheels on it"!
The Bromeliad trilogy is a gripping story, extremely funny and easy to read, but it's also a story about how the world around you can always amaze you if you only look a bit further than just at your direct neighbourhood. I highly recommend it to both children and grown-ups alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings: The Third Book of the Nomes
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews