Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2012
I've bought a couple of these (10" and 12") in the last few months to turn into banjos - the 12" is quite impressive as a banjo head. Now that Tone Deaf Music have cranked up their prices and always seem to be out of stock, these are the "only game in town" in the circa-£10 tunable hand drum niche (the Staggs are not tunable and are a similar price). The drum head looks like natural vellum cf. TDF's Remo-style heads and the finish of the metalwork is not quite as good, but they are really good value. They come with a nifty little wooden beater and a tightening key (flat screwdriver). Strong enough to take some 50kg of steel string pressure so they should take quite a beating!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
Just what it says "on the tin". A great little tunable hand drum....I use it in my small chamber choir when we do early music. Good sound for the price.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
If you feel your music is a bit sanitised, you can always hit something! I recommend this drum, rather than your drummer.

The tunable feature works nicely, although you have to take care of the tension, for obvious reasons.

I like the tactile nature of the drum, the fact that it is easy to pick up and use (you can stand it on edge), has a thumb-hole on the rim for a secure grip when things get slippery, and is so nicely made. The tuning key that comes with the drum is by default tied into the thumb hole, although you may want to keep it elsewhere if you are not always tuning it. The tuning is good for gelling with the music, although it can take a little practice to tension things just right - not rocket science, but I'm more used to tuning stringed instruments and find the drum a little different!

Best of all is that it helps to humanise machine-based rhythms, give them a little character, and by creative beating on the drum (moving the beater across the skin, or moving a thumb over it to adjust the pitch in real-time, or even just damping it with a finger from beneath the drumhead (using the holding hand) there's a lot of nuance you can inject into even a simple instrument such as this. It also looks nice to have around the studio too - a reminder of how music used to be made before we surrounded ourselves with machinery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
The drum arrived promptly and neatly packaged. It has a lovely tone, especially once it has warmed up. We use a leather covered beater in preference to the wooden one that it comes with but that's personal taste. Good value
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This is the latest one of the percussion instruments for an Alzheimers music group. Tunes up well to give a great sound and seems to be quite sturdy. These and the other instruments will give a great deal of pleasure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Beautifully loud and does the job! Only disappointment is there is only a thumbhole to hold it with (a 'slot' would be better). A very reasonable price for a drum of this quality.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
I teach music to young children and I'm building a collection of decent percussion instruments. This drum is fine but it doesn't have a great sound. Alright for the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Bought for a rugby match on Friday. It arrived promptly, in pristine condition, and was easy to play for our drummer-boy. Very satisfied.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Also it is tuneable, quite brilliant for the price. It makes a good extra drum with my percussion set up and cant recommend it any higher
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Nice drum that works well with the ancient style Hebrew music i play alongside other instruments keeps a nice tone and rythym.Excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.