Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Already had the 2011 version installed on three computers which was due to expire. Looked at the online update offer and couldn't believe the price they were asking (around 50).

Bought the 2012 version from Amazon for around half the price.

Once received - inserted the disk into the master computer and it installed immediately. Simply asked for...
Published on 7 Dec 2011 by Mr. A. Smith

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor compared to previous McAfee
I have used McAfee for many years now for my internet security. Buying from McAfee is much more expensive so I always buy from Amazon as this also ensures that you get a disk so that in the even of a problem you can reinstall. However this version was a nightmare. The disk did not run automatically until the sixth attempt. Then it removed my previous McAfee (this is...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by spArkle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. A. Smith "Avid Viewer" (Akrotiri, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Already had the 2011 version installed on three computers which was due to expire. Looked at the online update offer and couldn't believe the price they were asking (around 50).

Bought the 2012 version from Amazon for around half the price.

Once received - inserted the disk into the master computer and it installed immediately. Simply asked for security key then told that it would update each computer when they were next turned on, faultless.

In all took me about five minutes from it coming through the letter box to having renewed my McAfee subscription on three computers.

Thank you McAfee for making it so simple. Thank you Amazon for saving me money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor compared to previous McAfee, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
I have used McAfee for many years now for my internet security. Buying from McAfee is much more expensive so I always buy from Amazon as this also ensures that you get a disk so that in the even of a problem you can reinstall. However this version was a nightmare. The disk did not run automatically until the sixth attempt. Then it removed my previous McAfee (this is usual) but then when the PC restarted and connected to the internet it still didn't install the new version. I was therefore connected to the internet without protection and had the same problem of trying several times to install the software. Eventually we had success but that was only temporary. Three weeks later it then stated that my security protection was due to expire and needed to be activated but would not allow me to do so. I then had to allow a McAfee technician to have access to my PC whilst he "repaired" my subscription - this took 30 minutes. Only to find that two days later a laptop using the same software on our wireless network had the same problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mcafee Total Protection, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Graham Fields - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Good value for money but certainly carries a pay load when it comes to processing power, particularely if its doing a scan at the time.

Used it for about 10 years, will probably continue to do so.

You pays your money you take your choice.

Cant say its particularely good at stopping spy ware, use spybot for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing purchase, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Have purchased this twice previously, however, this year the software causes too many problems. Every time McAfee does a software update, I have no internet and spend around 30 minutes with Sky on a regular basis to get it sorted. Not ideal when studying for a MSc. I have also had to switch off the firewall in order to use my laptop. It has slowed down my laptop too. I won't be purchasing this product again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Install problems as usual, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
The latest version works ok when installed. But there are still lots of problems when installing and activating. On each of two PCs, had to install three times. The interactions with the McAfee website were very slow and contributed to the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling support, 29 Jan 2012
By 
M. Short (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Do you like dealing with Indian Helpdesks?
Do you like hanging on the phone for hours getting nowhere?
Do you like dealing with people who make it as difficult as possible to resolve problems in a simple time-efficient manner?
Then this is the product for you!

4 times on desktop and for their mobile app, I have been unable to register the product from trial to purchased status. Each time it has taken days and cost me a lot of telephone time to resolve; talking to people who quite frankly don't deserve our custom.

Anyone noticed that Mcafee's market share of personal users is shrinking? Not the quality it used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars protection for camera, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
i have used mcafee for several years and to the best of my knowledge have never been hacked . however every time i have tried to update it i have had problems so i am going to try something else this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars McAfee, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Thought I was buying a years use of McAfee but sadly wasn't, not sure what it "upgrades" because I had the lot. McAfee not the company it was before the take over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Protected, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Got it to continue with McAffe's protection (despite what they said he did). The product is good & I will buy again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars McAfee Total Protection, 29 April 2012
By 
IKB (Highlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2012, 3 PC's, 12 month Subscription, Upgrade version from previous 2011 versions (PC) (CD-ROM)
Does what it says on the tin... Had a small hiccup after installation but this was quckly sorted by McAfee and they threw in 2 month extension because of the (small) amount of hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews