Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable read from Lily Baxter
'Spitfire Girl' is Lily Baxter's (aka Dilly Court)3rd 2nd World War novel and like 'Poppy's War' and 'We'll Meet Again' it is hard to put down once started. You know what you are going to get with Lily - a light, well written, carefully researched novel with engaging characters, romance and a satisfying ending. What more can you ask from a novel? She already has a...
Published on 28 Oct 2011 by I Readalot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars World War II Fairytale.
Half way through reading the story. Seems more like a fairy tale than reality; but will persevere. Without meaning to be "sexist" it is easy to see it was written by a woman without noticing the author's name; heroes and villains and the like. I am expecting a rainbow to appear at the end of the story after the London Blitz is over. However, the book is worth the...
Published 1 month ago by Normiesladdie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable read from Lily Baxter, 28 Oct 2011
By 
I Readalot (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Paperback)
'Spitfire Girl' is Lily Baxter's (aka Dilly Court)3rd 2nd World War novel and like 'Poppy's War' and 'We'll Meet Again' it is hard to put down once started. You know what you are going to get with Lily - a light, well written, carefully researched novel with engaging characters, romance and a satisfying ending. What more can you ask from a novel? She already has a loyal fan base but I think that her novels deserve more recognition. If you are a fan of the 'family saga' then you should enjoy her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan's journey as she follows her dreams..., 7 Nov 2011
By 
Petra "I love to read" "book addict!!!" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Paperback)
Spitfire Girl by Lily Baxter was a very good read which I would recommend to all readers who like fiction based on the Second World War. From the moment I started reading the book the author immediately grabs my attention as I just wanted to know why this girl was out walking her dog on Primrose Hill in the middle of the Blitz.
The book tells the story of a girl who was told she was a foundling and she accepts this like a 'badge of disgrace', and feels that she is not worthy of anyones love as not even her own parents could love her so why would anyone else love her.
Susan continues to think that she is unloveable, even when she meets a very handsome man called Tony Richards and he is the first person to show her any kindness. We follow Susan as she goes from facing heartache after heartache and having nowhere to call her own. The only thing she has ever owned and ever loved her with pure devotion is her faithful dog Charlie and he provides many laughs throughout the book. We follow Susan as she holds on to her dream of flying a spitfire and having friends who love her just for being her. She soon meets friends and they become like family to her and she soon feels what love is all about. This is a book which will have you as a reader wishing nothing but happiness for this beautiful girl with a heart of gold and have you believing that your dreams can come true.
This is one book I highly recommend as a very addictive book but if readers think as I did to be honest I thought it was going to be based on the Air Transport Auxiliary but this was only mentioned briefly at the end of the book along with its founder of the female department Pauline Gower. I still recommend this book as a very good read which keeps the readers attention fully throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Lily Baxter read that I just couldn't put down!, 19 Aug 2011
By 
A Moore "Scarlett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Hardcover)
Susan Banks is the loveable heroine in this tale who's always dreamed of flying a spitfire. A tribute to all the brave women who flew for the allied forces during the war, this is a splendid, heart warming tale of a young girl's dreams and aspirations, and not forgeting the occasional love interest along the way of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Paperback)
First time I have read a Lily Baxter novel but it won't be the last. Spitfire Girl was hard to put down. a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spitfire girl, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Hardcover)
An excellent read which highlights life and circumstances for women in WW2. Employing lots of histoical facts, the story tells of women breaking into a mans world, Unable to be fighter pilots in the RAF, girls took to training as pilots to deliver spitfires from the factory to the airfields . This is a tribute to all those brave women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 May 2012
By 
Mrs. N. Hargreaves "Norma" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Paperback)
I couldn't put the book down, it was excellent!!
I had never read any of Lily Baxters books but will certainly order some more!!

Fabulous read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read, 23 Jan 2012
By 
H. E. Greenslade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Lily Baxter book I have read and again, it was another great story. Your typical love story, but with a great setting of WWII and the RAF. Well researched and well rounded characters. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars World War II Fairytale., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Paperback)
Half way through reading the story. Seems more like a fairy tale than reality; but will persevere. Without meaning to be "sexist" it is easy to see it was written by a woman without noticing the author's name; heroes and villains and the like. I am expecting a rainbow to appear at the end of the story after the London Blitz is over. However, the book is worth the price and worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spirited girl., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Kindle Edition)
I have just started reading Lily Baxter ,one of the best stories I have read .I am going to get the rest of her books,and if they are half as good as spitting girl I will be
happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My type of book ATA girls, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spitfire Girl (Kindle Edition)
Unless you have a knowledge of the ATA, you may find this unrealistic, but take my word for it, this sort of challenge did happen. Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spitfire Girl
Spitfire Girl by Lily Baxter
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews