Customer Reviews


486 Reviews
5 star:
 (297)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Andrea Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by PhilipStirups


‹ Previous | 1 2 349 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It wont flush down the kiddie toilet (bidet), 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Best british comedy film since the full monty. The uk's version of American pie meets porkies. Hope there's some sequels planned. The dancing scene is just brilliant most memorable moment of the film.
Unless you have a special relationship with your parents i wouldn't watch it with them, deffinately a lads film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better on tv ?, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
The characters were good fun as usual and the film was very funny but it did lack a certain edge which does come across better on TV. Maybe the 15 rating had something to do with this as if it was an 18 rather like the tv offering it would have been funnier. The characters work so well together so let's all settle for watching reruns rather than sequels or spin offs please .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars in-between good and great, 18 May 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Let's be honest, there aren't many great UK youth movies out there, it is something that I have to begrudgingly admit that the Americans do a lot better. So hats off, then, to The Inbetweeners Movie, because it has managed to put it's self out there with the panache of a Yank flic but with the fundamental feel of the best of Brit comedy. If you have Kevin & Perry Go Large in your head, forget it. This is much closer to Superbad... but with more jokes about lady parts.

What I really love about this movie, when looking at it from a production side of things, is that it is essentially just a feature length inbetweeners episode. I hate it when a TV show is made into a movie and all sorts of "improvements" are made, but in this movie we have the same cast, same feel, same dirty old jokes. Happily though, you can see that some money has been spent on this film, but not in the way that the production values have got in the way of the story, or mythos of the TV show, which it so often can with this sort of film.

From the direction and editing side of the film, one thing that stood out for me is that there are so many strategic uses of slow motion to great effect like the boys in `Pussay Patrol' T-shirts coming out of a hotel like rubbish Reservoir Dogs or the inevitable mid film montage with "the dance" (if you have seen it you will know what I mean) the affect is used very skilfully, increasing the comedy, without laying it on too thick.

At the end of the day, The Inbetweeners has always been about its central friendship and amidst the vomit and the virginity losing, the film delivers a realistic believable portrait of four young blokes, look out for a touching discussion as the penny drops that university might spell the end of the friendship. The performances from Bird, Thomas, Buckley and Harrison are pitch-perfect and amplify a sweetness that is only an undercurrent in the show. Lessons are learned - one huge element of the show is laid to rest - and friendships cemented, although never in a soppy way. As they arrive back in Blighty, the unthinkable might have happened: they might have come of age.

For fans of the show I don't think a much better movie could have been made for them, for casual viewers, like me, this is a reasonably entertaining movie when compared to comedy movies in general, but when comparing it to the Kevin and Perry's of yester year, it's a bloody masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down, 29 Dec 2011
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
If you have seen the tv series you will be disappointed by this effort. The humour falls flat and the movie overall is pretty dull. It starts off promisingly with the usual awkward atmosphere the lads create wherever they go. However once they reach their hotel and venture into the night it quickly becomes a dull re-run of Kevin and Perry go large. The tv series succeded because there was always something you could relate too. There is nothing here you can seriously say has or would happen to most people. Since when has Jay had a thing for larger ladies? When did Neil become a magnet for old women? Why are we still going down the Simon and Carly on off relationship route? It has a flimsy premise to start with and never expands on this and actually becomes quite dull for the majority of the middle of the film. Its also painfully predictable. There is no suspense as the storyline is signposted all the way through. It has its moments of humour which harks back to the tv series, but this only serves to remind you of what could have been. Unfortunately this is another case of a step too far. The movie just does not live up to the series in any way and misses the mark by quite a margin. It was great to see the lads again, but next time they should go their separate ways and let everyone remember what it is we loved about them in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny film but the "Digital Copy" is Rubbish, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Firstly, this is not a review of the film itself, but of the digital copy feature. I can't speak from a Windows users point of view as i'm using a mac, but I imagine its the same thing.

The digital copy is not a free iTunes download or anything like that, instead it seems to rip the dvd to your hard drive in a standard definition proprietary format which can only be played back on a VERY basic media player which you have to download. It comes with a rewind, fast forward and pause button, and thats about it. You can't import into iTunes or any other media software, you won't be able to play back on an AppleTV or any other home media system. Apparently you can view it on an iPad if you download the iPad version of this shoddy software. Personally I'm not bothering. Just Google Handbrake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the funniest film of the year, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
The first two series of The Inbetweeners were fantastic unfortunately the third seemed to be lacking. I felt that they had fantastic idea's for each episode however either the execution or the script was lacking in comparison to pervious (the episode where Will thinks he's high is a prime example of this). Don't get me wrong i still enjoyed the 3rd series but i felt it let me down in much the same way as the 3rd season of the Mighty Boosh.

I was worried that when the film came out it had the potential one of two things it was either going to destroy my enjoyment of everything Inbetweeners or it was going to be one of the funniest thing's I've ever seen. Fortunately it was the latter and I would heavily recommend this film to any one and everyone.

Lets just hope the rumors about a sequel are true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dogs Balearics..., 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to write a review which is pretty much long winded drivel, like the the reviewers giving this movie 1 & 2 stars.

You just need to know that this movie is awesome. It wasn't in Number 1 spot for over 6 weeks for being poor, was it?

Exactly.

If you love The Inbetweeners series, then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The inbetweeners movie - how to ruin a brilliant series, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of the series and having read quite a few positive reviews, I was expecting to be amused for 90 minutes. And while the characters are still their old selves, the jokes are just not good enough. So yes, Neil still does a brilliant robotic dancing but apart from a couple of jokes, the laughs are not there any more. This is a very disappointing end to a very funny series and while it's not the worst movie ever, any fan of the show will be thinking they have just been sitting through a not so funny over long episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film BUT don't buy the Triple Play version, 19 Dec 2011
By 
Wai Ming Lee "calvinandhobbes" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
No problem with the film but the Triple Play version is an utter let down. I managed to install the Flux Player but couldn't transfer the movie. Their support people said to disable my virus protection, but this had no impact. Then my digital code expired, they reset it and I still can't access it and the code has expired again. What sort of software/method is this? Talked about feeling cheated and ripped off. I had no problem with Rise of the Planet of the Apes, downloaded and synced to my iPad in minutes.

If you want a digital copy, stick to buying it off iTunes and if you have a new Web TV, stream it to your TV via the PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SO funny, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It was with great trepidation that I approached this film. When someone tries to turn a television series into a film there are usually groans all round as fans prepare themselves for the on-screen slaughtering of their (soon to be ex) favourite show. However, fans of The Inbetweeners have nothing to worry about because this is genuinely one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.

Essentially, school's out for Will, Simon, Jay and Neil, and their lives as adults are just beginning. It's been a rough last week of term for all the boys as Jay's grandfather dies, Simon is dumped by Carli and Will discovers that his father has unexpectedly married his much younger mistress. In order to pull his friends out of the depression that they've sunken into, Neil decides to book the boys a holiday to Malia, Crete. So, the boys set out for 'two weeks of sun, sea, booze, minge, fanny and sex and tits and booze and sex', but of course, things don't exactly go to plan.

Personally, I hate it when producers try desperately to hang onto a television show that has run its course. Thankfully, in the case of The Inbetweeners, viewers across Britain were devastated at the end to such a brilliantly funny television series and I think that in itself is a huge part of this movie's success. Almost every single Inbetweeners fan rushed down to the cinema at the end of the summer to see this movie, hoping for anything even vaguely amusing to satiate the withdrawal symptoms that had developed after the end to this series, and they were rewarded. The Inbetweeners Movie is pure class comedy and had me in hysterics from the beginning to the end. I thought that perhaps the jokes would be a bit dry and and a bit of a flop really, especially since the boys have moved away from their usual scene and ventured abroad, but I was proven wrong as this film was just as funny, if not funnier, than the original television series.

The acting was absolutely brilliant - as expected. The cast of The Inbetweeners are absolutely brilliant and are probably what I would call some of Britain's finest young talent. A holiday in Malia really was the perfect place for Jay as it gave him so much opportunity to brag about how much he knows about women and James Buckley captured his character perfectly. Jay probably undergoes the biggest development and change of character and thanks to James Buckley it was a smooth transition and seemed perfectly natural. Simon Bird brought all of Will's sarcasm and wit across the ocean with him to make him the funniest that he's ever been. Blake Harrison's dance skills are now known by all teenagers in Britain as he showcased his brilliant and funny moves across the clubs in Malia. Joe Thomas did not disappoint with his bizarely spiked hair and Simon's pathetic persona. It was nice to see Simon finally grow a pair and stop being a blundering fool. In addition, we saw a different side to all of the boys as they develop throughout the film and finally become men at the end. It was a perfect end to the Inbetweeners, though it's a shame to see it go.

(By the way, if I've counted correctly, I saw a total of three penises in this movie, none of which are particularly attractive so - Beware!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 349 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inbetweeners Movie Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews