Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All round help for the Learner Driver
As my son has just turned 17, this seemed like an ideal aid to his learning, even before he has had a driving lesson. With lessons and insurance for youngsters being so expensive now anything to help is welcome. This DVD package contains 3 DVDs, 'Theory Test', 'Hazard Perception Test; and 'Practical Driving Lessons'. The 'Theory Test' as it says covers all aspects of...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by I. H. C. Mellor

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful: Over-Clicking
This is value for money, but as this video-only (Mac users don't have a dedicated version) type of Hazard Test training does not give you feedback on the 'style' of clicking for 'hazard development', there's a chance that you may develop bad habits. Specifically, you may find that you click too many times as the hazard-which-matters starts to develop, and this can cause...
Published 22 months ago by Pour commencer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All round help for the Learner Driver, 18 Oct 2011
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As my son has just turned 17, this seemed like an ideal aid to his learning, even before he has had a driving lesson. With lessons and insurance for youngsters being so expensive now anything to help is welcome. This DVD package contains 3 DVDs, 'Theory Test', 'Hazard Perception Test; and 'Practical Driving Lessons'. The 'Theory Test' as it says covers all aspects of the theory and covers all possible questions that could be asked. This is great way to learn and understand the basics and more advanced aspects of the theory in order to pass the test. The programmes are well produced and the subject is well presented. The 'Hazard Perception Test' DVD helps learners to understand how problems can arise and to see in advance when there is likely to be an issue that has to be dealt with. Hindsight is a wonderful thing but with experience you can see a situation on the road and read the warnings so that you can avoid it. This DVD helps build up that knowledge and experience before venturing onto the road driving solo. Finally, the 'Practical Driving Lessons' are videos of real lessons conducted in a car with an instructor and a learner. It is broken up into specific lessons allowing you to watch and watch again, so that the salient points can be learnt. This has been well thought out and is very easy to follow.

This is a great package for the learner driver and will provide a vital aid to learning all there is to know about driving. The only thing it does not do is physically take you out in a car, but it certainly gives some very practical help between lessons and before taking the tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Installation needed, really cool!, 15 Nov 2011
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This has to be one of the best driving software available on the market! The thing does not need installation and what can be better than that? You just pop it into a any electronic device with DVD playback and you are good to go. No more need to be tied to a tiny screen of your Laptop.

I could not believe that I could do a test on a software (actually I just saw that it is not a software but a DVD Video disc) that is not installed since I was used to the 'old' style where you have to first install the software before the priviledge of using it.

The real sugar is that the DVDs paly even on the family Home Theater, as well as on portable video players such as the iPhone so there are just too many ways in which you can do the Driving test. Using a DVD remote control I was able to take practice tests while lying on my couch. The DVD has a very clear voice so someone evc=ven reads the questions but you can still see them on the screen.

Why 4 stars only? Well on my DVD player, the theory test is perfect, the picture is really clear on a 42 inc plasma TV. The story is different with the Hazard Perception video clips, as they dont look too good and that is probably because the resolution for the videos is really low, so the videos are pixaleted!

Because this DVD package is generous as it has so many practice materials and also allows you to use an array of devices in terms of its playback, I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to take the new driving tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ideal method for the young drivers of today!!!, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Dr. Tom Bell "Tom Bell" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well using this product my daughter became enthusiastic about her theory for the exam. Last week she passed first time. She found the process easy and methodical. In the end we ended up using a hard back book version because the disc failed and the questions got stuck and my daughter found the experience THEN frustrating. So the product is an excellent idea. The idea though is good as you can sit back and see it all happen on the TV screen. Obviously it was disappointing that it stopped working properly. However in the normal way of things it would I am sure have been replaced by Amazon. The principle of the DVD is that each area of the theoretical test is covered in a mock set of examination questions. Each part has more than one set of examination questions. The long and short of it is that if you go though this thoroughly then you should pass the exam without difficulty. Whether to use this or a book version is a matter of personal preference. On balance this is the system I would buy for my son when he does the same thing (dv) in four years time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good preparation, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Easy to load, easy to set up and very easy to use. Loads of info to help you get through the theory test. All the questions are probably on here. Be aware that from January 2012 the DSA are not issuing the official questions to anybody so don't learn these by rote. Get a copy of the highway code as well. The hazard perception is a bit of a problem with the small screen. It is not like that on the actual test where the 14 clips are full screen and hazards are easier to see. Having said all that this is a very good way to practice for the hazard. Oh by the way, when you go for the test DON'T FORGET TO TAKE BOTH PARTS OF YOUR LICENCE that is the photo ID AND the paper counterpart. They won't test you if you leave one at home (no exceptions) and that is 31 down the drain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of CDs!, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Thank you!!! I Passed my theory test today from the first try! Thank you!
If someone interested in passing the theory test - please, pay more attention to hazard clips! Try more! I nearly failed this part..! Good luck everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'd found preparing for my theory test very tedious before buying this DVD and consequently found myself always a few marks away from passing - the distances and less obvious answers always tripped me up! Theory is never going to be fun, but this DVD takes away some of the tedium. You can go through a set of practise questions before taking a full mock test and check the answers as you go along which helps you to take it all in. The hazard perception section is also great, allowing you to both practise and take a full test. After trying a practise clip, you have the option to review it and the hazards are all highlighted - it also shows you the best times to react to the hazards for maximum points. I'm confident I'll pass my theory test, thanks to this DVD. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to drive dvd, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is an excellent interactive dvd which takes you through the theory part of the driving test for both car and motorcycle,icluding hazard perception. A ver good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be the business!, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having passed my test some years ago, I decided this would be okay for my daughter as she is about to take driving lessions.

Having left in her hands, she reports back that it is so helpful as there it is before your eyes and everything is explained in detail and understandable English and of course if you don't get it the first time, you can rewind it and play it again. All in all, she seems very pleased with it and can't understand why she and her friends have not come across it before. I have given it four stars as I have not reviewed myself as I got it for daughter, otherwise I would have given it five based on her grin and the parts she keeps asking me about as to how I coped when I took my test!. (I pointed out that in my day we had more problems with horses and chariots of course...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like the hazard perception cd, 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the hazard perception cd rom was what i liked the most about all of this. i didnt like the theory test so much but it worked for what i needed it for and that was the main thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, clear, helpful & ultimately vital, 9 Dec 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sooner or later, everyone will have to take that life-changing step. To learn how-to-drive. A truly daunting and arduous task as anyone who's taken the opportunity will attest, and I myself am currently learning.

Before getting behind the wheel, I took the chance to order this from the Amazon Vine Programme, and I'm really glad I did! Driving Test Success is a superb package from Focus Multimedia, containing everything that learners will need to help them in learning the rules of the road and being able to drive safely and confidently.

This All Tests DVD is a three-disc set designed to work on regular DVD players. The format of it is really versatile indeed, enabling all ages to play the discs on whatever device is compatible; DVD player, Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PC/Mac etc. All users and age-ranges have been taken into consideration for this, whether it be those who prefer a mouse or a remote control. All the options/menus/functions are simple to operate and very responsive. As an interactive experience, Driving Test Success is immersive and practical.

The three discs cover each of the essentials learners will have to master in order to achieve driving success. They are the Theory Test, Hazard Perception and Practical Driving. Each disc is packed with complete detail regarding each area, everything from on-screen instructions/rules/criteria to commentaries/interviews/demonstrations from professional driving instructors, car experts & police sergeants. To the beginner who maybe daunted by the prospects of driving, all the information is explained/demonstrated in a clear, concise & digestible way. This helps ease the viewer into learning everything required and when coupled with actually driving a vehicle, makes the experience most valuable.

Starting with the Theory Test, this disc will be most useful in helping learners to remember the rules of the road. For me, it really helped having a digital copy of the complete Highway Code (latest edition) on this disc. It's a great way to learn the Highway Code (along with reading the separate book) and the Practice Tests (with hints) and Mock Exams (without hints) will not only ensure the information sinks in, but also provide good preperation and experience for when you actually sit your Theory.

Other remarkable features about the Theory Test disc are that once you've completed either the Practice Test/Mock Exam, you will receive your calculated score and exact feedback on how well you did. Correct/incorrect answers will be identified to show where you will need more revision. I found this really helpful when studying my Highway Code, along with the `Show Me, Tell Me' videos which looks under the bonnet of the car, and the rest of the functions of the vehicle. Again, these videos are presented in a clear, concise manner, which will help learners in further prep for when they sit their actual Driving Test. Other features like the introduction to the whole disc, how to book your Theory Test and a brief intro into Hazard Perception make this disc the ideal place to begin.

The Hazard Perception Test likewise provides an invaluable experience for learners, as they will have to be able to identify any and all problems they encounter on the road. There're over a hundred video clips here, along with a great range of practice clips (as well as an introduction) into what Hazard Perception is all about. With this rich assortment of perfect examples (along with excellent commentary), learners will soon be able to pick up on what they should be keeping their eyes open for whilst driving. Like all other videos across this set, the footage is very good quality with nothing to badmouth.

As with Theory, there are Practice Tests/Mock Exams to indulge in (along with an introduction into what the actual exam itself will involve). Again, this provides ideal learning and will be a big help. However, due to DVD constraints, the Hazard Perception interaction will NOT disqualify you for cheating if you press the `OK' button on your remote too many times, but it will register the Hazard you've identified with the traditional `Red Flag' on screen. Scores are calculated accordingly, based on your performance, and the option to review the clips/what Hazards should've been identified is on hand also.

Finally, the Practical Driving Lessons disc. Obviously, you can't simulate/interact with an actual driving lesson on a DVD. Instead, you have tutorials with a proper driving instructor & a learner driver, covering all the basics/lessons for aspiring motorists. Safety checks, routines, controls, starting/stopping, moving off, hazards, weather conditions, roundabouts, crossroads, junctions, use of mirrors, reversing etc. It's all covered here, along with a mock exam video with the instructor & learner so you can know in advance what to expect on the big day.

If you haven't even got behind the wheel of a car yet, Practical Driving Lessons is an excellent visual for learners to know what to expect. If there are areas of driving you're struggling with, then the lessons here will help you relax. So that when you try again, you can do so with a positive attitude. All the tutorials are certainly beneficial and round off what is ultimately a vital package for learners.

Despite suffering from one or two minor imperfections (due to DVD constraints), Driving Test Success: All Tests DVD is mandatory for everyone currently learning to drive. It's comprehensive and complete, and at a tenner it's utterly worthwhile. With the Highway Code, actual lessons and THIS, learners will have a much easier time settling into the task of learning to drive. I know I did! Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD)
Driving Test Success All Tests DVD 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews