Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars345
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2011
You might be reading this review in the position I was a few months ago. I had just started my driving lessons so was on the lookout for products to help me with my theory. This 3 set pack contains everything you will need and I would advise getting this instead of the higher end Driving Test Success All Tests Ultimate 2012 Edition (PC) which is more that double the price of this and the extra bits are very poor quality. This set has 3 separate discs which are all useful.

The first is the theory test disc (multiple choice questions). This contains a digital version of the highway code and more importantly all the questions that you could be asked in 2011, which will be very similar to ones used in 2012. If you would prefer to read a book then The Official DSA Theory Test for Car Drivers and the Official Highway Code 2012 contains questions in the same style as those included on this disc. The test is changing and from 2012 the actual questions you could be tested on will not be published but instead official questions will slightly differ from what is on the real test, so these mock questions are the best you can get. I can also recommend The Official DSA Guide to Driving: The Essential Skills which has a much easier to read way of learning to drive being more like a text book compared to the mock exam practice this disc contains. After reading all the questions and taking several mock tests you will be more than prepared to take the multiple choice test and when I took the test I was able to complete this section in under 10 minutes and score full marks.

If I had to pick one disc out of the three to buy it would definitely be the hazard perception part. If the first time you take this test is in a test centre then you would have to be very lucky to pass it. This disc will help you practice and analyse how you do showing where you were supposed to click. With the hazard perception I found the best way to pass it is to be on the verge of cheating. In theory you only need to click once or at most twice per video to score full marks but this is very difficult to do. The technique I would recommend to click at any slight thing you see, as it is very hard to be disqualified. Never think is that a hazard? Just click however minor it is and click twice or more especially if you think this is the main hazard in the clip. The only fault is that even though the low resolution of the clips is similar to the real test on some of the clips a hazard is so far in the distance only a few pixels are visible.

I scored 67/75 In my test which is was told was a very high score, so here are a few tips that should help you
*Click, Click and Click again I probably clicked at least every 5 seconds
*Winding country roads require less clicks and often are a reaction test as to when clicking as soon as you see a car.
*There should not be long periods of time without a click even in country roads click for trivial things such as turns in the road.
*You should click multiple times for hazards. E.g. Car overtaking fast on the left, Car indicates, Car moves right, should each have a click.
If you practice using this software you will get an excellent feel for what the real test is like

The Hazard perception and the theory both contains progress trackers to show your results over time and also integrate with each other so you can sit the multiple choice exam simulation followed by the hazard perception.

The final part is the practical disc. This is less useful for the theory tests but good for your driving lessons and I often find my self knowing everything my driving instructor tells me from using this disc. It contains a video of driving instructor giving lessons, each a few minutes long on a topic such as 'turning left at a junction', 'bay parking' and eventually a mock test, so this disc is useful for remembering routines for practical driving.

Overall an excellent package that I would definitely recommend it.
44 comments|79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Driving Test Success All Tests 2012 is a study guide for the theory test (for cars, bikes and driving instructors), hazard perception test and driving lesson videos.

The Driving Standards Agency, the government body who sets the tests, are changing the theory test from January 1st 2012. From that date they will stop publishing the actual multiple choice questions that will appear in the test. They are doing this to discourage "parrot fashion" learning. There has been a fair bit of confusion surrounding this change, with some driving instructors worrying about which revision aid will be suitable. This pack from Focus is suitable for revising if your test is in 2011, but it's also fine for 2012 too because it includes the official revision questions which the DSA will continue to release through 2012 (and beyond, one presumes). It also includes Knowledge and Understanding text from the DSA to help learners study the theory test answers in more depth.

A full digital highway code is included and this can be read on screen or printed out. Theory test practice questions are linked to the relevant section of the highway code so you can go into as much depth as you need with your learning and revision. The mock tests are structured just like the real theory test, right down to the time limit, being able to review questions before submission, etc. There's also a nice feature to practise tricky questions that are causing grief.

So that's the theory test, so far so good. How does the rest of the product measure up? Well the hazard perception section presents plenty of video clips that can be practised on the computer in mock tests, just like the real thing. You click the mouse when you think a hazard is developing, the sooner you do it, the more points you score in the test. As in the theory test section, your progress is charted and it's easy to see how one is hopefully improving over time.

Finally you have the driving lessons section. This is made up of dozens of videos showing how to perform every routine and manoeuvre possible. You also get step by step "Show Me Tell Me" video demonstrations, which are needed for the driving test. I like the mock driving test video - it's useful for learner drivers to see exactly what goes on in the car when the examiner is with you.

I am a driving instructor and I have always recommended the Focus product to my pupils. This new version is just as good as the previous ones. There are no new features that I can see in the hazard or practical sections, but there are welcome additions to the theory test section which mean that Driving Test Success follows all the DSA guidelines for 2011/12. For me it remains the best value package for learner drivers. It's easy to see why it remains the most popular choice.
1616 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
I bought this for my 17 year old son to help him pass his theory test. He passed easily with only the help of this this guide. It has a realistic hazard perception test. It also has a part about the practical test and what the examiner is looking for.

Update: 31 October 2011

Today my son passed his practical test with only one minor (you are allowed 15). He used the guide's practical test pointers to assess what the examiner is looking for. I can't praise this guide enough and will keep it for my daughter to use in a year or so, unless there is a new version to buy. Well worth the money either way.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 November 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This 3 disk set of information contains a theory and hazard perception test which is actually more comprehensive than the real test along with a sit along disk of an actual driving test.
If you absorb and display all the information and skills on this comprehensive software set you just can not fail.
Unfortunately though, humans and computers have to part company at the driving test centre and despite this excellent software being highly recommended the L plates are staying on just a little bit longer I am afraid.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
I would highly recommend this product and I can honestly say I don't think I would have passed the theory test without it. The software is easy to use and you can alternate between practicing the multiple choice question section and hazard perception section as you want to. It also analyses your progress so you can identify any areas you keep getting wrong, which is really useful. It also has a good bank of hazard perception scenarios to practice with.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
After Reviewing all other company products like AA,BSM & DSA. This Product is outstanding. I Passed with in 2 Weeks Preparation. Price is Cheap. If you wanna drive the Car on the Road then this is the right product. It does the job Completely. Practice All SECTIONs, You will PASS. ALL THE BEST.

Pros :

It Covers all the Categories. Explanation & tips
Theory Test well Easy.
Learn on the Go. Wow It saves Time in our hectic life. Hats Off to the inventor.
Hazard Test - Has Nearly 300 clips which Makes You Professional. All clips recoreded in Real Time. It Has 10 DSA clips as well.
Practical Test Gives more knowledge and confidence.

Cons:

Nothing. May be increase the cost. Its worth more than this Price.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
This Driving Test PC rom is brilliant, it helps 100% cant beat it, all the questions, revision tips highway code tips all help you to remember each question even if you get one question wrong it straight away in the most basic manor why your answer is wrong and why the correct answer is right. the pretend theory test and hazard perception test can is very realistic, even going back over certain clips of the hazard perception and certain theory questions that you feel you struggle with the most help greatly to concentrate on that certain area.

im close to taking to my theory test and feel more confident every time I revise of this driving test PC rom, it is great and reasurring all the questions that you learn in the PC rom are going to be in the actual theory test expessaliry now the test has changed from last year with new and harder questions to prevent learning and remembering old questions from past failed attempts, not that I have failed I am still revising for my first attempt. Overall I would highly recommend this Driving test success all tests 2012 edition (PC) it will guarentee your first past attempt at the theory and give you high amounts of confidence to walk in and be ready to sit the test.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
excellent product extremely and helpfull a serrious must have for anybody wishing to learn and succesfully pass there theory really good value for money
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
I did all the practice sessions for theory and hazard perception provided in the DVD(took around a week). The progress report and also the section based practice sessions are great. If you have done atleast half of this DVD, I can assure you a pass.. If you are planning on a theory test, this is the tool for you!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Nothing but praise for this product, cannot fault it at all. For the price of it, it's well, well worth it. The theory questions are exactly as the real ones are, even down to the appearance of the interface itself. The hazard perception clips are, again, uncannily similar to the real thing - and may even be slightly more difficult than the DSA test, but I found that quite helpful as if you've practiced on this then go in to the test, it'll be even easier than you had expected!
Overall, well worth the £6, if you're practicing to take your theory test, I'd highly recommend the investment.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.