Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.31
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2011
The career of dEUS can be split into two. The first being the experiment 90's with constantly changing line ups which led to three of the greatest albums of that decade (Worst Case Scenario, In a Bar under the Sea, and The Ideal Crash) . The second part of their career being in the 2000's after a 6 year break. Since their comeback album the line up has remained the same. Gone is the experimentation of their youth. However, they have produced two very good albums (Pocket Revolution and Vantage Point).

This latest release is their best since 'The Ideal Crash'. It is instantly likable, yet also a 'grower'. My favourite songs so far are 'Keep You Close', 'Dark Sets In', 'Ghosts', and 'Constant Now'. Rocky, catchy, inspiring and uplifting. I suspect dEUS will never quite reach the heights of their early work (Who could? The early albums are masterpieces). However, this is almost at that level and is definitely up there as one of the best albums of 2011. Great album. Buy it, you'll love it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
To my ears this isn't as good as their early dEUS, not quite as good but it is very close. To be honest the first couple of dEUS albums will always be favourites and it would be difficult for something new to knock them off that top spot.

It starts with the beautifully orchestrated title track which is as good as anything they've done. dEUS + Orchestra = shivers down spine levels of goodness! Through the single 'Constant now' and to the last track 'Easy' most of songs have a big sound which is in keeping with recent output - but probably better than Vantage point (and I like Vantage point alot!) Tom Barman's voice is as good as ever and just seems to get richer with time. There are a couple of tracks which start badly but in classic dEUS style recover to leave you happy - it wouldn't be a dEUS album if there weren't

Fact is if more people listened to dEUS, more poeple would love them. Buy it, listen to it, you'll love it - trust me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
After The Ideal Crash, dEUS seem to have been gradually in decline, which is such a shame, as they were once very inventive and different to other bands out there. Keep You Close seems to be continuing this trend - Tom Barman's voice is still sounding as great as ever, but the sparkle in the lyrics has gone and the music doesn't sound like dEUS (well, my idea of dEUS, who I have followed since the very beginning) any more.

Having said that, a lot of the new songs sound really good live, and dEUS are still the best live experience I've ever had, so perhaps some of the issues I have with the music are down to the production.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
There are few artists worth following for new releases; the sense of exitement when a new album arrives is almost gone. But opening the packing and putting on this album was one of these magic moments when I got this sensation; the first bars and all was good. Tom Barman's voice and dEUS music great as always. It's true: this album is very mature and sounds very produced; and it does not have the raw energy and edginess of Worst Case Scenario. But WCS is a one off, albums like that dont come very often; probably good so as well. Keep you close is beautiful and I am looking forward to listening to it again and again. Which is rare given the music overload.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
I wondered when they would release their next album. I had a fear they went out to pasture after seeing the title "No more videos" way back then...
And they were slowing down to a cruise.
Yet since then and now they are still with us pumping out great music into the atmosphere. Intelligent and creative geniuses!

With this album it feels like the foot is firmly set on the accelerator again.

I love this Album long time...And it's pure luxury when you can't choose a favourite track!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
There are those who think their previous two albums 'Vantage point' and 'Pocket revolution' were not up to dEUS' high standards.
I am not one of them.
They were a logical evolution in the band's history.
And so is 'Keep you close'.
dEUS are always moving up a level and what if they've moved away from their arty-farty beginnings and have become a true classic? I say good for them!

This band definitely is a fine export product and deserve to be big.
Buy with confidence.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
I love this album. Keep you close, ghost and constant now are as good as anything they have ever done. If you have never heard them then this is also a great introduction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I love this album. That is all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)