Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! One of the best Albums of 2011.
The career of dEUS can be split into two. The first being the experiment 90's with constantly changing line ups which led to three of the greatest albums of that decade (Worst Case Scenario, In a Bar under the Sea, and The Ideal Crash) . The second part of their career being in the 2000's after a 6 year break. Since their comeback album the line up has remained the...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Zapata316

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK...just OK.
After The Ideal Crash, dEUS seem to have been gradually in decline, which is such a shame, as they were once very inventive and different to other bands out there. Keep You Close seems to be continuing this trend - Tom Barman's voice is still sounding as great as ever, but the sparkle in the lyrics has gone and the music doesn't sound like dEUS (well, my idea of dEUS, who...
Published on 20 Nov 2011 by Mrs. S. Billington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! One of the best Albums of 2011., 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
The career of dEUS can be split into two. The first being the experiment 90's with constantly changing line ups which led to three of the greatest albums of that decade (Worst Case Scenario, In a Bar under the Sea, and The Ideal Crash) . The second part of their career being in the 2000's after a 6 year break. Since their comeback album the line up has remained the same. Gone is the experimentation of their youth. However, they have produced two very good albums (Pocket Revolution and Vantage Point).

This latest release is their best since 'The Ideal Crash'. It is instantly likable, yet also a 'grower'. My favourite songs so far are 'Keep You Close', 'Dark Sets In', 'Ghosts', and 'Constant Now'. Rocky, catchy, inspiring and uplifting. I suspect dEUS will never quite reach the heights of their early work (Who could? The early albums are masterpieces). However, this is almost at that level and is definitely up there as one of the best albums of 2011. Great album. Buy it, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as their best, 4 Oct 2011
By 
M. Singleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
To my ears this isn't as good as their early dEUS, not quite as good but it is very close. To be honest the first couple of dEUS albums will always be favourites and it would be difficult for something new to knock them off that top spot.

It starts with the beautifully orchestrated title track which is as good as anything they've done. dEUS + Orchestra = shivers down spine levels of goodness! Through the single 'Constant now' and to the last track 'Easy' most of songs have a big sound which is in keeping with recent output - but probably better than Vantage point (and I like Vantage point alot!) Tom Barman's voice is as good as ever and just seems to get richer with time. There are a couple of tracks which start badly but in classic dEUS style recover to leave you happy - it wouldn't be a dEUS album if there weren't

Fact is if more people listened to dEUS, more poeple would love them. Buy it, listen to it, you'll love it - trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK...just OK., 20 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Billington "sister dew" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
After The Ideal Crash, dEUS seem to have been gradually in decline, which is such a shame, as they were once very inventive and different to other bands out there. Keep You Close seems to be continuing this trend - Tom Barman's voice is still sounding as great as ever, but the sparkle in the lyrics has gone and the music doesn't sound like dEUS (well, my idea of dEUS, who I have followed since the very beginning) any more.

Having said that, a lot of the new songs sound really good live, and dEUS are still the best live experience I've ever had, so perhaps some of the issues I have with the music are down to the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very mature record, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Yves Vandezande (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
There are those who think their previous two albums 'Vantage point' and 'Pocket revolution' were not up to dEUS' high standards.
I am not one of them.
They were a logical evolution in the band's history.
And so is 'Keep you close'.
dEUS are always moving up a level and what if they've moved away from their arty-farty beginnings and have become a true classic? I say good for them!

This band definitely is a fine export product and deserve to be big.
Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. J. Edis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
I love this album. Keep you close, ghost and constant now are as good as anything they have ever done. If you have never heard them then this is also a great introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pedal to the metal., 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Keep You Close (MP3 Download)
I wondered when they would release their next album. I had a fear they went out to pasture after seeing the title "No more videos" way back then...
And they were slowing down to a cruise.
Yet since then and now they are still with us pumping out great music into the atmosphere. Intelligent and creative geniuses!

With this album it feels like the foot is firmly set on the accelerator again.

I love this Album long time...And it's pure luxury when you can't choose a favourite track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
There are few artists worth following for new releases; the sense of exitement when a new album arrives is almost gone. But opening the packing and putting on this album was one of these magic moments when I got this sensation; the first bars and all was good. Tom Barman's voice and dEUS music great as always. It's true: this album is very mature and sounds very produced; and it does not have the raw energy and edginess of Worst Case Scenario. But WCS is a one off, albums like that dont come very often; probably good so as well. Keep you close is beautiful and I am looking forward to listening to it again and again. Which is rare given the music overload.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recently discovered; will not soon be forgot., 19 July 2014
By 
Dan Mason (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep You Close (Audio CD)
I love this album. That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keep You Close
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews