Customer Reviews


756 Reviews
5 star:
 (378)
4 star:
 (229)
3 star:
 (91)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this book
This book was a joy to read. It had sad and funny parts all mixed together, but the story line was so good you wanted to get to the end, if only to see what happens to GIlly, the dogs and the rest of the characters.

Well worth the time and money. Will be buying more of this author in the future.
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by DizzyChick

versus
59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK story line but badly edited
I bought this for Kindle mainly because it had positive reviews and was 20p. Actually for 20p, it was worth it. But although the story line was fairly good, if a bit "modern romantic single in London" fodder, it was intrusively badly edited. I felt like getting my red pen out. Jokes were repeated, whole chunks of text copied and pasted as a summary, even though the action...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 376 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was suprised, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Elizabeth J. Moore "Jane M" (Caerphilly County, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
I though this was going to be chick lit - a short and amusing way to pass an afternoon. Instead I read a thoughtful book that dealt with family relationships, break up of relationships and how siblings feel about their disabeled siblings.

Though provoking and amusing - I have now bought 2 more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, well written read!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book right from the start to the end. The characters came alive in my imagination and I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. A lovely story . . . I will certainly be reading more of Alice Peterson's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monday to Friday Man, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read - a real page turner.

What I liked about the book was its initial light heartedness (London setting, dogs, romance) but then the author has a sub plot which makes you think a little more and this added to the depth of the novel.

I have gone on to read the author's other books and these are all good although this is the best, IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric means love interest - every time., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
At first I thought this was just going to be your typical froth. And okay, yeah, it kind of was. The plot revolves around Gilly; a woman who was five minutes shy of being jilted at the altar and has been unlucky in love ever since. Her grand idea, put forward through advice guru and estate agent Robert, is to get a lodger - more specifically a Monday to Friday man.

So the plot thickens when attractive and high flying Jack answers her advert. Gilly's dog walking circle are at first ecstatic but as they find out more about Jack (or more to the point, less) they start to become less sure...including hat wearing Guy, who is kind, a good (good) friend and...oops, engaged.

You can see where this will go and it isn't so much the destination as the journey which earned Monday to Friday Man such a high rating. The way the author pulls all the strings together, adding in a sub-plot about Gilly's disabled sister, who died aged three, comes off both as lightweight and dramatic, in alternating forms. And there is something of a hot cup of tea and a cosy blanket about this, a comforter for the winter as opposed to a literary epiphany. Put bluntly; this will not win any Booker Prizes any time soon, but it fulfils the purpose of creating a light, feel good read which I got through in just two sittings.

For that reason I can recommend this novel for those who want to escape without having to look beyond a world painted with a rose tint. Which, let's face it, don't we all sometimes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely read, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Ann J (south London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written. Totally engaging....you always want to know what happens next.
you feel cross when she is unhappy and. glad when she eventually gets the right man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great feel good story, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed Gillys journey about restarting her life. It was funny and romantic and a little sad but great chic lit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book I really enjoyed reading it from start to finish I didn't want to put it down look forward to another book by Alice Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice simple read, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading this, it is quite a predictable chick lit style book, but easy to read as and when you get a minute. I think it was a free or cheap book on kindle so pleased I chose it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monday to Friday Man, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
An easy piece of chick lit - I enjoyed reading this lighthearted, heartwarming novel. Nothing too demanding, easy to follow, and lovable characters whom you can identify with.

I would recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday to Friday Man (Kindle Edition)
Maybe a little predictable but still a book to really enjoy and laugh at, as well as the odd tear now and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 376 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Monday to Friday Man
Monday to Friday Man by Alice Peterson
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews