Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN IMPERIAL GAME!
Xenoblade-Chronicles is one of those great games that (for some unfathomable reason) Nintendo had initially decided not to release outside Japan. Until recently that is. So, if you live in Europe, count yourself lucky because the best RPG on the Wii is finally available outside Japan, fully translated and reformatted for the European systems.

THE MUSIC WILL...
Published on 19 Aug. 2011 by NeuroSplicer

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a pain
What starts off as a freshingly deep game, eventually descends into a depressingly long, poorly directed pain.

I'm all for value for money, but when the game drags on for so long that it ruins the overall pacing and makes the whole thing feel more like a chore, it's self-defeatist.

The voice acting, and use of British voice actors was interesting at...
Published on 13 Sept. 2012 by Joe


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN IMPERIAL GAME!, 19 Aug. 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
Xenoblade-Chronicles is one of those great games that (for some unfathomable reason) Nintendo had initially decided not to release outside Japan. Until recently that is. So, if you live in Europe, count yourself lucky because the best RPG on the Wii is finally available outside Japan, fully translated and reformatted for the European systems.

THE MUSIC WILL ENCHANT YOUR SOUL
This is the first thing that hits your senses. The music of Xenoblade reminded me of playing Final Fantasy VII years ago and being mesmerized by its music. The Prelude I can still remember. In Xenoblade, the music will range from atmospheric to epic rock, and all the shades and colors in between.
It will be a familiar companion while you travel and a strengthening presence when you do battle, greatly enhancing the overall experience. Every map has its own theme (most with day and night variations) and you will catch yourself humming them long after having turned your console off.
Sometimes the importance of the music in a game is underestimated and the focus remains on the graphics. Xenoblade is a perfect example of how essential music is in order to achieve a total immersive gaming experience.

LIVE AND BREATH IN A GORGEOUS ANIME WORLD
Now, all of us who decided to go with the Nintendo Wii, we knew that it was not the most graphically powerful console. Its strengths lie elsewhere. Having said that, Xenoblade is the most beautiful and graphically detailed game on the Wii. Ever.
Set on two ancient biomechanical Titans frozen in mid-battle centuries ago, the world is simply enormous. There are about 20 maps, almost every map is huge and it is all open to exploration. Because there are only few and short loading times, you are practically flowing from one into the next as in a continuous world. And exploring the endless and open Xenoblade world is not only fun to do but also very rewarding.
The grass moves around your feet, birds sweep over your head, clouds roll by day, the galaxy scintillates at night and the whole world comes alive around you. In the heat of the battle the hits and special moves will be accompanied by impressive anime graphical events. Up close the characters may not be that detailed but the characters, their weapons and the environments have all been designed with great artistry. When the limitations of the Wii are reached you probably will not notice it either. Xenoblade has far better graphics than all the other notable Wii JRPG, such as The Legend of Zelda, Okami or Rune Factory Frontier. My Wii had never produced such a visually advanced game!

THE STORY DRAWS YOU IN AND NEVER LETS GO
As any seasoned RPGer would tell you, the story is equally important to the graphics and the music, if not more so. And Xenoblade excels in this aspect as well. A tad clichéd at times, the story advances with beautifully made cinematic sequences and it manages to feel both reassuringly familiar and surprisingly fresh.
The human colonists (the Homs) are living on one of the frozen titans, Bionis, and are attacked by mechanical life-forms (the Mechons) who occupy the other. So, after the initial battle, it is up to Shulk, your hero, the young survivor from Colony 6 and the new bearer of Monado, together with (up to 3 of) his companions to save their world.
You bond with your companions by the choices you make - and this affects their abilities. Your choices also affect both the conversation options with Non-Playing Characters (NPCs) and the quests becoming available to you. In fact, everyone and their sister seems to have a quest for you. Conveniently, you do not have to go back to them once completed.
Xenoblade will enchant you with its sound vistas and ensnare you with its story.

WIELD THE BLADE THAT SEES INTO THE FUTURE
As with any true RPG, there is leveling up, looting, crafting, bartering and re-equipping your character as well as his companions. Interestingly, the custom appearance you chose for them will not be lost during the cinematic scenes. If you enjoy earning achievements, Xenoblade has you covered. The game allows you to save almost anywhere but it also autosaves at nicely spaced Landmarks - and dying will only take you back to the last one encountered (without any XP or loot penalties).
The battle system is real-time but both the distance to their enemy and your relative position are factored in (hint: for such an oversized sword, backstabbing strangely pays off). Monado has powers that are unleashed after building up normal attacks. The legendary sword also allows you to glimpse into the future in order to avert enemy blows. Moreover, your hero and his companions have special abilities, called Arts (that need to recharge before they can be reused).
The enemies, especially the bosses, will focus on the character inflicting the most damage to it - and this allows for flanking maneuvers by the rest of your party. Most battles are not that hard however some of the bosses will tax your understanding of the game mechanics.
Equally important is that is not a one-ride-pony. Once the game is completed you can restart the entire story with your high level character to complete and explore everything you missed the previous time around.

Xenoblade-Chronicles gives you the option to experience it either dubbed in (British accented and not lip-synched) English or in (partially) subtitled original Japanese. After I had clocked in about half a dozen hours in the game I decided to restart it and opted to keep the original Japanese instead. After all, this is a JRPG and it feels much more authentic.

A classic masterpiece, not to be missed.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Game of The Year, JRPG Heaven, 15 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
As I dust off my wii I think about the last great RPG that I got excited about on a Nintendo console and I have to think a long way back to Tales of Symphonia which took me 7 years to complete although I wish I never stopped playing it. Xenoblade sounded amazing and was one of those games that caught my eye the first time I caught wind of it in Japan and then the exciting news that it was being released into the UK.

After over 115 hours of gameplay and 4 replacement batteries later I have to say this is a major contender for my game of the year and that includes Skyrim & Battlefield 3.

The graphics are simply stunning; it's the best looking game on the Wii console by far, not only is it great to look at on a Nintendo console but it holds up well against some of the HD games on the xbox and PS3 too. They open world is absolutely massive and reminds me slightly of Final Fantasy 12 apart from the fact you are actually running around a giant Titan. Not only is the land a joy to look at but it also has its rewards, secret area's and XP bonuses are given when a new location have been discovered along with hidden and special items.

The music is fantastic and some of the best I have heard on JRPG. I have found myself at times just walking around for a couple of hours doing nothing but exploring and still humming along with the background music without getting boring once! It really does suit the game perfectly and that includes the music when fighting which can change tempo depending on how you are doing.
The story is very strong and will draw you in from the very beginning and only gets stronger the more you progress. There voice acting isn't too bad, at first it's a little strange hearing British voices but you will get used to it and failing that you have the option to change it back to Japanese, a nice option Final Fantasy should take on board.

The battle system is a cross between FF12 and 13, you control 1 member of your party which is the lead but this can be changed. When in battle you will automatically fight with whatever weapon you are equipped with but you have a few extra attacks, guards and spells you can use along the base of the screen, once used these will fill back up in time. Your other characters will attack or heal on their own and the way they behave can be changed pre battle. One other way of fighting is the ability to see the future, your main character will see what will happen before it does allowing you to change the future in whatever way you wish to stop the event from happening. Great trick but can become annoying when viewed 10+ times in one boss battle.

Another thing I love about this world is the way ever level monster is walking around the same area, you could be fighting a level 10 monster one moment and a short walk later and there is a level 80 one just around the corner waiting to ruin your day! Luckily you can see them before they see you and if the game deems them too hard to fight they will be marked in Red! If they are orange then it will be a tough battle but one you should win by a scrape. This brings me onto another great thing in this game and that's dying! I know this doesn't sound like a good thing but when you die in Xenoblade you keep all the items and XP you have gained up until the point you died. No more wishing you had saved before you took on too many enemies and no more saving after every two or three enemy victory's, you can go about your business and if you happen to lose against the next enemy you face then maybe a little levelling up wouldn't go a miss before you face them again.

After you complete the game it allows you to replay the whole game keeping certain items, weapons and your characters XP levels to allow you to go over missed steps.

This has easily been the best game of the year for me and as it's on the Wii it will unfortunately be one of those games that will remain a hidden gem to many. If you own a wii and love JRPG's I promise you that you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games of our time., 21 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. P. Counter (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
Stunning. Simply stunning. If you ever think of your top five or so video games of all time, it is not often a game comes along that can disturb the list. Here is one.

Whilst I am only about fifteen hours into the game, I felt I had to write a review as this game needs more positivity.

The basic premise is that you are living on one of two warring giants frozen in time before the world began-they now are the world you inhabit- and your colony gets attacked by Mechons who reside on Mechonis. You are part of the Hon race, which live on the other giant Bionis. The main character is Shulk who can wield the Monado-a sword which can damage Mechon and also enable Shulk to see the future. Inevitably the fate of the world rests on Shulk's shoulders, and along with his good friend Ryen, and other characters met along the way, they must together venture out to defeat the Mechonis.

Ok so the story sounds pretty average so far, but it is the way in which it is told that lifts this to the upper echelons of video games occupied by a select few. It really is a heart wrenching epic seemingly influenced by movies such as Star Wars-the Monado-, The Matrix-the Mechonis-, Lord of the Rings- the journey and setting- but has a tale itself that easily holds its own.

The graphics are beautiful, some of the best ever seen and when augmented with the story really do enhance it so much more. You can be questing in the dark recesses of a mine only to emerge back on the flushing meadows of the mainland and never feel disconnected. The day and night synchronise perfectly with major story elements, as do the weather effects. There is also a time changing system so you can move to whatever part of the day you wish. All the while you never seem to forget the land you traverse is actually that of someone's body. The world and environments are truly expansive, and I feel I have only touched on it despite being fifteen hours into the game.

The sound is momentous. It complements the game superbly, and arguably is the best part of the game. The stunning simplicity of the title screen music coupled with the Monado stuck in the grass really sums the game up for me: once you start playing, it evokes the visceral significance of the adventure. The voice acting really adds to the experience. When I first heard the English actors, I thought they sounded awful and had planned to play it using the original Japanese dub, with subtitles. But actually, they have grown on me and I think it is a very good job. Of course there are repetitive phrases which can grate after a while, but overall I think the voices represent the characters personalities very well: The cogitative Shulk, the rowdy Ryen, just to name two.

Gameplay, at first takes a little while to adjust to, mainly the real time battles, but the game does ease you into it, although information about gems and each characters arts seem overwhelming. However the more you play the more you get used to it, and personally I prefer the real time battle system to the monotony of turn based randomness. The fact that you can choose to play as each character also adds to the variety, as it feels right to change to the person who the story centres on at that time and offers new perspective as each individual has different skills and attributes. The side quests, while often (so far anyway) being just simple fetch quests, or monster disposing, again are really brought to life by the pleas from the people you help, and the genuine emotion they foster for such simple desires in such dire times. I feel they run deeper then what I have done so far and they are plentiful and a great way to earn money. There is armour and weapon upgrading, but this should be expected in this type of game, and is actually not at all complicated. The affinity and character developments are more detailed, but as with anything, understanding will come with time and practice. Elements of the game seem similar to Monster Hunter Tri (or the other way around) and as praiseworthy as Capcom's game is, this is head and shoulders above it in my opinion, and does everything so much better. It has much more character.

To our friends across the pond, I don't know why NOA are making you miss out on this seminal release-import it. To anyone else who wants to appreciate an original, epic and so far, game of the year-don't hesitate in purchasing this game. Nintendo, although they own Monolith (partly?), could take a few sycamore trees out of this book-If Link (from The Legend of Zelda) spoke, you would expect a game as epic as this. Skyward Sword has a lot to live up to.

In January 2010, the game was renamed from Monado: Beginning of the World to Xenoblade to honour Tetsuya Takahashi, "who poured his soul into making this". Show some appreciation people, a man has lost his soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted, vibrant and colossal scifi/fantasy-RPG that earns it's place among the great RPG stars and an RPG fans heart, 4 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
Having played all the previous Xeno games, although they we're mostly decent, but not superb.. Xenoblade managed to push the mark a league or two higher than it's predecessors. It contains all the vital organs of an RPG, tension-building story roller coaster that starts timid but makes you suck your gut in by the end. A combat system that is unique in that you move freely on the battlefield, while choosing your abilities from a menu as per RPG law. Many attacks require you to position yourself properly for maximum effect, which adds a great touch of immersion into the battle and keeps you on your toes as the enemy moves as well, and reacting to your enemies actions is vital to achieve victory against the tougher foes. A clearly defined main quest (my only small complaint is that a handful of objectives are not shown on the map, and can lead to a few minutes of aimless searching).

Side quests..... so many side quests I gave up trying to do them all since I wanted to finish the game within my lifetime, but yeah there is just -extremely- much to do. Aside from the usual spoils of war of XP/gold/items, with every quest you complete you build 'affinity' with the quest giver NPC, and everyone related to the quest giver, as well as the quest area as a whole. With higher NPC/area affinity you can potentially open up new quests and NPC might sell you items they wouldn't offer before.

The same is true for your group members, the longer your particular setup of party has fought/quested together, the better they get along, and this has important effects on their battle moral and combat effectiveness together.

NPCs is a topic worth mentioning itself.. aside from flavor chatting, giving quests, item vendoring, a great deal of loving detail was put into them. Many NPCs will have daily lives and walk about doing their errands, and during certain times of the day will be unavailable altogether (most NPCs are day active, some only come out at night).
-
Whereas in many RPGs a story area exists in a quasi time-bubble and doesn't change, in this game the plot has a major impact on the lives of the heroes and NPCs alike.. when you return to an old plot area after major events, it will have changes (some places you will not be able to return to..) new NPCs might have moved there, some might be gone for good... many NPCs will persih during the game (their potential side-quests with them), others you can find again as they have moved to different parts of the world for various reasons. It adds a wonderful quality of immersion into the story and game-world.

The side-quest, side-content aspect of the game is colossal.. in fact all side-quests and side-plots combine eclipse even the fairly large main plot (I finished the game in about 95h, that's with only a low-moderate ammount of side-quests done).

Character development offers a unique form of group synergy, each character can learn/adopt particular strengths/perks from another group member, provide they get along well enough (see affinity above). This greatly affects their effectiveness in combat, and their role on the front line. There is some characters who are tailored to be more tank or healer like, some more melee fighter like. However there is alot of room for customisation for each character, and aside from the healer role which only 2 can fulfill, the roles are otherwise quite interchangable to your own taste and preffered party setup, altough some very tough fights might force you to bring the best tank and best healer character.. usually you can get away with personal prefference.

I could go on but I'm tired of writing.. lots to explore, a fricking freight-train of side-content spilling upside down on your head, great voice-acting, beautiful music and sound, beautiful world and monster design, excellent story with plenty of twists to keep you from seeing whats coming, they poured so much into this game that it is almost enough content for two.

A game that I will always cherish as a pure diamond of an RPG, that was crafted by loving hands and polished to a gleaming perfection of.... awesomeness...MONADO BUSTER!!

-Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Spectacular, 30 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
Exciting Characters.
Spectacular gameplay.
Enthralling story.
AMAZING locations.
and THE BEST soundtrack I've ever heard.

Xenoblade Chronicles is simply the best JRPG in years, streets ahead of the competition! The combat system is simple enough to pick up immediatly yet complex enough to stay fun throughout the adventure. The music and locations are too amazing to describe, its a game full of "wow" moments, like the first time you enter the huge expanses of Gaur Plain after the long tunnels of the last area. The gameplay is just as brilliant, the most fun I've ever had playing a video game. The game offers HUGE rewards for exploration, from extra items too massive subplots and questlines. The characters are diverse and interesting and all voiced by REAL ENGLISH PEOPLE which makes a nice change from the American voice actors we usually get. All carried forward by an amazing story filled with thrills, tears and laughter. It's very hard to fault this game and in fact the only bad thing i can really think of is some of the facial textures can look very flat at times.

Never a dull moment, simply the most fun I've got out of game for at least 10 years.

I would highly recommend Xenoblade chronicles to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Holliegh Drake "The Fluffy One" (Birtland!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
First off, I warn you...

You have to be willing to play for a good 1 and a half, at least. The start of the game was a bit dull to me, I found myself pretty bored but I have a "5 hour" limit for games, I play at least 5 hours before deciding to go on or not...
This game got completely and utterly amazing in an instant. The battle system is annoying TO START WITH but you get used to it very quickly, it's not for the unskilled! You have to think about your every move. Each character is important, too...No one is useless.
It's a very clever game.
The world is huge, you can explore so many areas and find some many things. There's also relationships to be made! You can bond with your party, everyone can bond with each other, that opens up little scenes known as "Heart-to-Hearts" between certain characters at certain places in the game. On top of that you get to build relationships with NPCs and help them build relationships with other NPCs.
Apparently your actions with NPCs can have a big impact on certain things (Outside of the main story) but I have yet to see this, so far I've gone out of my way to make people happy and do what they want...So nothing bad has happened.

The story is very deep and you will find yourself in tears at times but it draws you in so much, I sometimes forget I'm playing a game.
My sister is totally into this game, too and I send her email updates all the time, talking like I'm on some crazy adventure.
You'll fall in love with the characters, and fall deep into a world of fantasy, tragedy and adventure.

Buy this game now because if it becomes a "rare" game, you'll live to regret it.
Don't listen to the people that dislike it, this game is for true RPG fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy this Game!, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Weestwell (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
I'd be the first to say that I don't have much experience with RPGs as a genre, so I admit I felt a little apprehensive when this game first arrived on my doorstep. Would I be able to handle it, I wondered, or was this yet another impulse buy which would end up gathering dust on my already packed shelves.

Having immersed myself almost entirely in Xenoblade for a good ten hours or so though, I'm pleased to report that this game not only met my wildest expectations, it surpassed them entirely. The setting is awesome, the world believable, in the way the stunning cast of characters live and interact with one another, yet suffused with fantastical wonder. After all, it's not everyday you encounter a story set on the frozen corpses of two giant robots. A thrilling soundtrack, comprising everything from heart-rending violins at the most poignant moments to an infectious rock anthem during combat, only adds to the experience.

I'll admit I struggled a little with the controls at first, but once I picked everything up I was well rewarded with gameplay that was fun, challenging and never wore on me in the slightest. Combat is fluid and well-animated, not just a matter of button-mashing either. Thinking tactically and landing quick-time events in the thick of battle are key. I do recommend picking up a classic controller if you don't have one already, as the wiimote/nunchuck combination is somewhat more awkward to use, especially in the absence of any motion control.

All in all, whether you're a veteran of games in this genre, or a mere novice like me, I cannot recommend Xenoblade Chronicles highly enough to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best rpg of the year and of Wii, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
Long game great story ,great game-play and magical and beautiful locations to explore. The best JRPG of Wii and is a must to have in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the titans, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
My favorite game on the Wii.
Simply amazing. Great story, characters and for the first time ever, side-quests I don't find tedious.
A must have in the Wii collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) (Video Game)
There are many reviews here about this game being awesome and if i were to sum them up, it would be BUY THIS GAME YOU WONT REGRET IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii)
Xenoblade Chronicles (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £73.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews