Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2012
This has been a great help in boosting my experience of the gospels. Ryle has a deep understanding and has been given the talents to explain and magnify them to the common man.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Very good value for money, a must for your electronic library. Basic material well presented in a timeless manner and yet up to good standards.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
This series of commentaries on the Gospels is both scholarly and practical. I have been very impressed with them so far and I am sure I will use them for a long time to come. Useful for study and for preparation for preaching. Despite their "age", they are very pertinent to the present situation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Excellent book for bible study and really good read. explained very clearly, highly recommended for sales to others. 5 stars no problem
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
Ryle's "Thoughts", as originally written, are very helpful and commendable. My disappointment with this edition is that we are not given the original Ryle. Not only is he made to comment on a modern Bible version - based on different original Greek - but his own words are modified to fit in with that. Like another reviewer, I was also frustrated to find that Ryle's very valuable additional notes - typically the small print sections in a printed edtion - were missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Very good set of books, yes the language is dated - but his insight and wide breadth of knowledge only encourages you to go deeper with him into the 4 Gospels, as he opens their richness, and leads us to the Saviour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Wow! What a great bible teacher Ryle was and his books are still teaching us the truths of the bible today. I highly commend this book to all who wish to go deeper into our wonderful Christian faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
J.C. Ryle's works on the Gospels are fantastic. They're clear and to the point. Very helpful for a student, pastor or anyone trying to dig deeper into the Gospels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Absolutely tremendous from cover to cover. Simply presented, but reaching the depths. What a teacher this man was. Buy every book of his you can find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Great expository thoughts to new and old Christians alike. You will be enriched and uplifted as Bishop Ryle goes through the four gospels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)