Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as Patterson
As a huge fan of James Patterson's novels I was delighted to see that one of his co-authors, Andrew Gross has began to write solo novels.

In this solo debut (I hear he has signed a three-book deal), 'The Blue Zone' begins when business man Ben Raab is arrested and investigated by the FBI for racketeering. Because of this, high-profile Columbian mobsters are...
Published on 25 July 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but readable
The story could have done with some tighter editing and there were sections that while interesting could have been left out and not missed but this story of betrayal and family loyalty is interesting.

Ben Rabb is arrested for racketeering and taken into the Witness Protection Program with only his adult daughter, Kate, on the outside.

When a case...
Published on 4 Sep 2007 by Wyvernfriend


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as Patterson, 25 July 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
As a huge fan of James Patterson's novels I was delighted to see that one of his co-authors, Andrew Gross has began to write solo novels.

In this solo debut (I hear he has signed a three-book deal), 'The Blue Zone' begins when business man Ben Raab is arrested and investigated by the FBI for racketeering. Because of this, high-profile Columbian mobsters are after Raab and his family, so the FBI place them in a protection program, giving them new identities and a new life. However, Raab's oldest daughter, Kate decides not to enter this program and carries on her normal life just without her family and is then driven into a terrifying world of paranoia, not knowing what kind of person her father really was.

After a slowish start this novel then explodes into one of the most exciting and suspense-filled thrillers I have ever read. The style is very similar to Patterson's with it's short chapters, sharp dialogue and fast-paced, non-stop plot twists and action. The characters are all well written and made me feel like I couldn't trust anyone.

This is a great solo debut that I was a little wary about reading as a few of Gross's lastest books with Patterson were some of the weakest (Lifeguard and The Jester in particular) although 2nd Chance, 3rd Degree and Judge & Jury were all excellent. I highly recommend this book to any fan of the crime thriller genre and it is a perfect summer or holiday read that can be read quickly, finished and enjoyed, leaving you looking forward to Gross's next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but readable, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
The story could have done with some tighter editing and there were sections that while interesting could have been left out and not missed but this story of betrayal and family loyalty is interesting.

Ben Rabb is arrested for racketeering and taken into the Witness Protection Program with only his adult daughter, Kate, on the outside.

When a case agent is tortured to death and Kate's father disappears the bodies start to mount and no-one is sure who you can trust, or what the truth is in the situation.

It was almost a tiring read as change after change was thrown at me, but it kept me reading and I did want to know what happened next and what was going on. It's not a bad read, but not a great read either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lazy writing, 22 May 2011
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
Mr Gross has some great ideas for stories but does not seem able to deliver the writing to back them up. Perhaps learning at the feet of the very lazy Patterson who appears to do little but produce skeleton plots for other people to flesh out for him has led to this. This book would measure some 250 pages in a normal font size and, I'm afraid to say, the twists and turns were telegraphed to an extent which made it laughable.
Mr Gross, Patterson is able to do this now because he has made a name for himself on the back of some excellent thrillers, you are not in that league and, therefore, not able to sit back on your laurels just yet. A book delivered by publishers to make a fast buck and not one which I would recommend to others. I am not looking forward to your next one which I bought at the same time, a lesson I will learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It'll do for the beach, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Jeff "roadrunner" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
OK for when your brain is dulled by hot sun, lapping waves etc but other than that, pretty awful. Devoid of any real characters or meaningful plot, I was, frankly, glad to get to the end. He's got the short chapter idea from Patterson and, yes, that makes for easy, bit-at-a-time reading, but more than that, I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Kindle Edition)
I never give up on books and carried on until the end, but it was painful.
Kate the main character was so tiresome; I don't like grown women talking about "daddy", which she continued to do even when she knew the truth about him; so unbelievable.
Also she had diabetes just to fit in with part of the storyline. Managing to go 2 days without insulin, never suffering any hypos when she forgot to eat; author check your facts about this condition.
Can't recommend this novel at all and I won't be reading anything else by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh so bad, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
I've never read anything by Andrew Gross before but I assume the name is a pseudonym for someone like Barbara Steele or Jackie Collins. Yes, it was a thriller but it was full of cliche-ridden soul-searching romantic mush and badly written in a stilted Mills and Boon style. I had to force myself to get to the end but I so wish I had never started it. No redeeming qualities whatsoever. Ridiculous plot twists, annoying and irritating in style; a book for a 14 year old girl maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Blue Zone, 23 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Paperback)
Successful businessman Ben Raab is arrested and forced to witness against the mob. He and his family is put into the witness protection program, except for the oldest daughter Kate, who decides tostay on the outside. It's not long before Kate starts to think someone's after her. And soon her father goes missing and the case agent in the witness protection program is murdered.

"Blue Zone" has a pretty good plot and it's certainly a light, quick read but it never gets as "tense and chilling" as the blurb from James Patterson on the cover would have you believe. Gross doesn't seem to think too highly of the reader's attention span as he constantly tells us what's just happened. For example, on page 168, after we've just been told that Raab is missing and the case agent has been murdered: "A wave of anguish swept over Kate. Her father was missing. His case agent had been brutally murdered.". Then two pages later, "Her father was missing. Margaret Seymour was dead." These are just two examples and it gets a bit tiresome and silly after a while.

Overall, a decent but not great thriller that probably would have worked better as a movie than as a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Blue Zone, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Kindle Edition)
Not a very believing story line, one has to keep reading to keep up with the storyline or you would forget the plot.Nd the plot was a bit OTT!
A good novel if your bored lying on the beach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book very much as I have all the books I've readby this author highly recommend him.
Hope you enjoy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We all have a Blue Zone, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blue Zone (Kindle Edition)
a great read with lots of twists great for those who love a mystery and maybe help you think of your own Blue Zone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blue Zone
The Blue Zone by Andrew Gross
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews