Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!
Two games inspired me to buy the full version of Cooking Mama 4 - demo version of this game, released on January 19th 2012 for European 3DSes, and WarioWare: Mega Microgame$ for the GBA (which is also available on the 3DS if your console is registered in the Ambassador Programme.

The game is great - 60 base recipes in Let's Cook mode, much more in Let's Combine...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Piotr Józefowicz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of changes!
Having played and loved Cooking Mama 1 though 3 I searched for 4 as soon as I knew it was out. Very difficult to find for some reason and not cheap at all in comparison to other 3DS games.

There are some notable changes that Ive seen so far since playing the game.
*The Japanese voice has been changed to an English voice actor - this is a personal bugbear...
Published 20 months ago by A. Hobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of changes!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
A. Hobson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Having played and loved Cooking Mama 1 though 3 I searched for 4 as soon as I knew it was out. Very difficult to find for some reason and not cheap at all in comparison to other 3DS games.

There are some notable changes that Ive seen so far since playing the game.
*The Japanese voice has been changed to an English voice actor - this is a personal bugbear but I did like the Japanese Mama.
*The lower screen now shows everything in 3D rather than the original 2D versions from the previous game. This isnt just usage of the 3D screen on the 3DS as that is the top screen but using altered view to make the area you tap appear 3D. In some areas this appears far more appealing eg the 3D appearance of vegetables, but in others it looks more clumsy eg peeling the skin from onions or the way liquid eggs appear.
*The way activities are carried out differs from the previous games including how to chop food (change in where you tap), cutting food (now a line down instead of a tap), cracking eggs (now have to tap them in specific area), grating food (now have to shake the top). Fans of the previous games may find it difficult to break from habits.
*Some activities are more forgiving of failure - where previous games would give you a set number of chances to perform an activity this game allows you multiple failures as long as you produce the right number of items at the end. Cooking Mama 3 had this to an extent also.
*Some activities have changed form completely. The activity in which you would pan fry or boil food no longer has a scrolling bar of instructions which can be confusing. It simply gives you an arrow to follow and a timer and expects you to understand and perform the action within a few seconds.
*The Lets Combine game doesnt bear any resemblance to previous incarnations. In previous games the Lets Combine section allowed you to take recipies you had completed and combine both together to create a brand new recipie EG taking a potato dish and a fish dish would then give you fish and chips to cook. This version however doesnt involve any actual cooking. Each 'original dish' represents a mini game which essentially involves dropping one recipie ontop of another within the timer allowed. Rinse and repeat for every single thing you have cooked.

All in all there are a lot of changes from the first three games. Some of them are good. Some of them I find I personally dislike. The graphics improvements look wonderful in parts then sloppy and chunky in others which makes me feel as though the game was somewhat rushed. Some failures can be quite comical and funny.

For anyone who has tried the previous games and is hoping for more of the same Id highly suggest you download the free demo from Nintendo to decide if you like the changes before you spend so much money (currently £40-£50) on the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 22 Feb 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Two games inspired me to buy the full version of Cooking Mama 4 - demo version of this game, released on January 19th 2012 for European 3DSes, and WarioWare: Mega Microgame$ for the GBA (which is also available on the 3DS if your console is registered in the Ambassador Programme.

The game is great - 60 base recipes in Let's Cook mode, much more in Let's Combine mode and several minigames in Let's Help mode. In all 3 modes together, there are around 850 gold medals to collect.

There is more - you can unlock Mama's various clothes and customize your kitchen by collecting stars. You can also play with your friends. However, I'm unable to rate multiplayer games, because I'm playing alone.

I recommend this game for everyone. I bought Cooking Mama 1, 2 and 3 on eBay in order to have more recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
C. L. Sandler "clare" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cooking mama dvd, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cooking mama 4 3ds, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
loved this game my kids have played them all, plenty of recipes to try your hand at very good kids enjoyed it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Very good condition. Details provided matched with the product. I love this game so it was great it arrived pretty fast! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game but a lot has change, 7 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
it a great game for kids but i love all cooking mama games but the number 4 for 3ds has change a lot with combine food together doesn't in have any cooking to it which in boring and disappointing and also i like the tidying up because it teach young kids how tidy up after themself but for a brand new one and used game this still alot of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Would definitely recommend this Supplier!!
Supply for this game was excellent! Could not afford new one so ordered a 'next to new' one, however this product arrived in the wrapping - as new!! But for a much better price. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking Mama 4, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Fun casual game for all ages. Cooking Mama 4 has more recipes than ever which make playing this game a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 15 May 2013
By 
Bisnessroad (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought it for my daughter and she loves it.
She plays it wirelessly with her brother on his own Nintend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS)
Cooking Mama 4 (Nintendo 3DS) by 505 Games (Nintendo 3DS)
Used & New from: £16.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews