Customer Reviews


766 Reviews
5 star:
 (478)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire
Not a bad read and it flows well, but there is a lot of life left in this saga yet and this book won't provide any closure, you'll end up waiting on the next one.
Is it just me or is he trying to shock for the sake of shock sometimes, and not for the betterment of the storyline.
Published on 22 April 2012 by A. Bennett

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh get on with it!
Loved the first 3 books but the series is now suffering from Harry Potter syndrome i.e. too long, too slow, and too many characters that are incidental to the core plot. Stick to the knitting Mr Martin!
Published 13 months ago by Mr


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire, 22 April 2012
By 
A. Bennett "benceltic" (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a bad read and it flows well, but there is a lot of life left in this saga yet and this book won't provide any closure, you'll end up waiting on the next one.
Is it just me or is he trying to shock for the sake of shock sometimes, and not for the betterment of the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's cold. And it's getting colder..., 8 May 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here we go again...

Yhis is the second half of the fifth book in the series of fantasy novels 'A Song of Ice and Fire.' Currently being dramatised on tv as 'Game of Thrones' although they're only in the middle of book two at the time of writing.

This is not a good jumping on point, and new readers should start with A Song of Ice and Fire (1) - A Game of Thrones (Reissue).

The fifth book was, just like the third book, split into two volumes for paperback publication. Thus this particular volume contains the second half of what was in the original hardcover edition. If you've already read that, then don't get this, because you're not getting anything new.

As to this book itself....

Has the same format as before. Maps of the setting at the front. Appendix at the back listing all the very long cast of characters. Chapters in the middle. Each with a different viewpoint character. Of which there are many to choose from.

And there's also an epilogue.

Book five takes place chronologically at the same time as book four. Thus for most of book five the viewpoint characters who appeared in book four don't feature. But you do get to a point in this particular volume the viewpoint characters from book four do start to creep back in.

Some storylines do make interesting progress. Although there's hardly anything in the way of action. There's a fair bit going on in the north. And some interesting developments. But things haven't quite come to a head yet.

And there's a lot going in the east where Daenerys, and several other characters are. And certain events do happen there. But they just move the story along rather than bring it to a conclusion.

Whilst this remains very readable and does have you desperate to know what will happen next, the events in the north and west do tend to be a bit more interesting than those in the east. But there's more of the latter than the former. And all the newer characters who have appeared from the beginning of book four and five onwards don't tend to grab you quite as much as the ones who have been around longer, so you can find yourself wishing the story would get back to them.

However one plotline does get very interesting, and the epilogue only heightens your interest to see where it will go. One cliffhanger from book four is resolved. But that leads to yet another cliffhanger for a character who only makes a frustratingly brief appearance in this one.

The strength of this series has always been that it's war in a fantasy kingdom done the way real wars go. They don't end with daring assaults on the dark lord's fortress, but with the fighting coming to a natural end, then treaties and negotiations. It doesn't quite feel like it's being stretched out for the sake of it though. But that may be a matter of opinion.

At the end is a chapter from the forthcoming sixth book in the series. The release date of which remains to be announced. And you might not want to hold your breath waiting for that.

This is a splendid read. Let's just hope it can all be brought to a satisfying conclusion sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh get on with it!, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Mr (BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the first 3 books but the series is now suffering from Harry Potter syndrome i.e. too long, too slow, and too many characters that are incidental to the core plot. Stick to the knitting Mr Martin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience and vigilance people!, 5 April 2012
By 
Am I alone in finding it really irritating just how many people are giving Martin's excellent series low scores either because they expect the complex multi-threaded story-lines wrapped up nice and neat at the end of each book; or because they got confused that the publisher and distributor decided to release what was over 1,000 pages in hardback as two books in paperback?

As far as the actual content is concerned, I have found A Song of Ice and Fire a riveting read - even part 4 which was perhaps the driest read - with no dragons or Others to break the political machinations and multitude of betrayals. I suppose that since Martin's main strength is without a shadow of doubt in his masterful characterisation - the one book where political narrative took centre-stage was always bound to have seemed slower than the rest.

But having thoroughly enjoyed his triumphant return to form in "A Dance with Dragons" (parts 1 and 2 and yes, I was almost caught out too :-)) I now look forward to seeing how Martin manages to draw these myriad of loose threads back to the leaderless Westeros, where I'm guessing we will be reading about the Direwolf and the Dragon (and the half-nose Lion?) fighting side-by-side for the future of humanity. If the concluding two books are going to be as good as what we've had so far, well I don't know about you, but I'm prepared to wait another few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Splitting books into two will kill off the kindle., 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a amazon trying to screw more money out of kindle users. There is no good reason for why this book needed to be split, the whole point of a kindle is that it reduces a large book down to something that can be easily held. I have noticed that this seems to be happening more often with other authors. If this carries on then my kindle will be used for free books only and amazon can go to hell.

That said I did enjoy the two parts of book five, many complained that it didn't move any of the main characters on but I thought that Martin did a good job of picking up many different threads and starting to gather them together. That said Martin does seem to be chucking any and everything onto the market to make a quick buck. It would be nice to see him concentrate on the main books as we may not get to the end if he continues to muck about with these sundry stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book...please review the book not the advertising!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. C. Heath (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great read, one of the highlights of the past decade in fantasy fiction for me personally, gripping throughout all the way to the climactic cliff-hangers at the close of the book. I would definitely say that this was worth the wait.

The character arcs of Theon Greyjoy and Stannis especially were real highlights for me as well as the new 'wild card' POV following the exploits of the Young Dragon. George Martin has a way of lulling you in and making you think that you have your opinion set on a character before gradually chipping away at your preconceptions...I won't say any more. All in all this was a very good read and my only bugbear is that there will be another long wait before we can return to Westeros.

On a final note, it is highly disappointing to see the backlash of 1* reviews based on human error and lack of research on the part of purchasers thinking that this is a 'new' book. It clearly states that this is part two of the fifth volume in the product info and has the name 'A Dance with Dragons' blazoned on the cover. Please make a complaint to Amazon regarding the external advertising of this book if you have to, do not besmirch George Martin's content with bad reviews based on your perceptions of Amazon's advertising team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Sally Cinnamon (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The intricate delicate nature in which this author writes is 2nd to none. Character development is plentiful and this is made all the more engaging by hearing from the various characters mind sets as we journey through the chapters. Twists in plot leave the mind never complacent and eager for the next turn. My only problem with this book is that it finished. Bring on the next one George asap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leaves an awful lot of loose ends and if we have to wait another 6 years for book 6 ......., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is an inordinate amount of detail which adds nothing to the story - I feel somebody needs to be doing some serious editing!
I came to 90% of book 5 part 2 expecting denouement of many of the issues. Instead, I was left hanging with many, many, strands of the story unresolved. Indeed, at 90% on my Kindle the story ended and the last 10% was taken up with the geneology of the various families (will this be 25% at the end of the final book 7?).
I'm told this Book 5 took 6 years to write! Does that mean 6 more years of waiting for book 6 and 12 for the final book 7?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 more years, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent well paced book, I started reading the books after seeing the TV series and have been hooked since, can't wait for the 2 final books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid continuation of an excellent series, 20 Nov 2012
Yes there is lots of it and yes there is a lot of chat about food and flags but that's GRRM, if you've got this far then don't stop now and be patient! The quality of his character building is excellent and one cannot hope to like all of them, that's just part of the subjective nature of life. I'm confident he'll get there I guess it just takes time.
My only grip however is the repeat of techniques, not so much to constant detail he insists on describing but the use of the chapters as supposed "cliff hangers" unfortunately too many folk have come back from the dead for any feeling of dread is lost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews