Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and mesmerizing!
The story keeps getting better and better.

Joseph Dean comes from our world, but he has chosen a mission in an alternative world when he finds himself with nothing left lose.

The author does another splendid job of storytelling as the narrator tells his son of his adventures across an invisible thresh hold to another world. These books that Glynn...
Published on 27 July 2011 by C.V. Hunt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads as a short story
Appears to be more of a first very long chapter. May be an interesting line to develop, but a bit unsatisfying on its own
Published 7 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and mesmerizing!, 27 July 2011
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
The story keeps getting better and better.

Joseph Dean comes from our world, but he has chosen a mission in an alternative world when he finds himself with nothing left lose.

The author does another splendid job of storytelling as the narrator tells his son of his adventures across an invisible thresh hold to another world. These books that Glynn James writes know how to captivate my attention and pull me into the story. He does a fantastic job of painting a vivid picture of strange worlds filled with unusual creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange new world..., 31 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
This is the third in the Diary of the Displaced series, and once again it is a very well written, imaginative story. Joseph Dean, the narrator, had a small mention in 'Chasing Spirits' and in 'The Last to Fall', he describes his own journey to the world in which he now lives and his purpose there.

One of the strengths of this series is that the settings created by Glynn James are completely convincing and while too many details can be the undoing of some authors, in this book (as in the others) the details of survival in a hostile, unknown and battle scarred world are very important in building up the reality of that world.

Joseph is telling this story to his son and it's easy to forget as you're reading it that the work is actually a monologue - Joseph's is the only voice we hear. There is plenty of action and suspense, with the possibility of a sequel in the ending. The characterisation is very good and Joseph's companion through most of the story is Bailey, who eventually moves on to the next part of his task and it would be great if a later book followed his story.

All three books in the series are very good indeed and it almost seems churlish to mention the occasional spelling or formatting issues that appear. These can easily be sorted out in later editions and while they don't detract from the high standard of writing and the imaginative stories, the books would be even better without them. I'll be checking out Glynn James' other work and would recommend this book, as well as the others in the series, very highly.

I received this e-book from the LibraryThing Members' Giveaway in October 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant installment, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
Another gripping installment from the Displaced series. As always, much recommended! This one ends with a huge cliffhanger; the question, as always, is whether it will be addressed in a later book, or just left to hang, like the ending of Diary of the Displaced?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last to Fall, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Joo "kuforum" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
This story is the protagonist telling his son the story of how he came to be where they are now and boy does he set the scene well.
Since it's a retelling of his life, you know he doesn't get into too much trouble as he's still living, but the tension is there. The world they are in is described enough so that I was there.
It was a very interesting premise and I've read a few of this author's works and will soon be back to read more. This is a "side story" of one of the characters in the main books, but can be read alone.
Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads as a short story, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
Appears to be more of a first very long chapter. May be an interesting line to develop, but a bit unsatisfying on its own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cant get enough, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
I've no idea in what order I read Glynns books but I don't think it matters too much with some of them. I check his site every week in hope that he has published more. Fantastic world full of mad post apocalyptic madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More please!!, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic story telling about stange post-apocalyptic lands where most of the population have been wiped out. Featuring strange creatures part dark fantasy and part science fiction with great characters ... while I wait for a sequel I am off to buy The Memoirs of Reginald Weldon ... can't wait!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
A great story teller and an interesting storyline. Recommended highly. Can't wait to start the second book. For all the science fiction lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant SciFi/Horror/Fantasy, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
Love the whole diary of the displaced series. First series in ages that comes up with
really unique story line. Hope Glynn James is on the sequels! Can thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last to Fall (Kindle Edition)
Fairly good read. Must admit that it could of done with a better ending but that's just my opinion.
Hope you like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last to Fall
The Last to Fall by Glynn James
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews