Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D, pity about the D.V.D
Excellent service from Amazon,as usual, fast delivery and great price [£7-19] as I pre-ordered some time ago. I particularly enjoy Swan Lake, We'll meet again and Are you lonesome tonight. Very disappointed that the dvd will not play on our H.D. television. We had the same problem with Forever Vienna, but not with the dvd that came with the last cd. I have watched it on...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by Sheila H

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Living music lost
This was disapointing...a handful of tracks are excellent, but the rest lacked "living music" seeming instead to be big band/concert orchestra offerings. It will sell, as presents to relations who are fans,but will disapoint many of us who expect that bit extra in presentation and arrangement. Buy the D.V.D. Wiener Festwalzer instead, it is excellent..why could this not...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by older gamer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Living music lost, 22 Nov 2011
By 
older gamer "Ancient oarsperson" (Portsmouth Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
This was disapointing...a handful of tracks are excellent, but the rest lacked "living music" seeming instead to be big band/concert orchestra offerings. It will sell, as presents to relations who are fans,but will disapoint many of us who expect that bit extra in presentation and arrangement. Buy the D.V.D. Wiener Festwalzer instead, it is excellent..why could this not have been issued as a C.D..the music is fantastic! The disc lacks vibrant presentation, and is not what we have come to expect from this amazing musician and his orchestra!! Why do we now have a digially re-mastered Christmas D.V.D. "newly released"? I think Queen Victoria would not have been amused!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes on (Audio CD)
Expecting the usual high standard, I could find nothing on the dvd to lead me to expect subtitles, and the length of the dvd was much shorter than I expected for a Christmas gift. If I had been aware of this I certainly would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D, pity about the D.V.D, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
Excellent service from Amazon,as usual, fast delivery and great price [£7-19] as I pre-ordered some time ago. I particularly enjoy Swan Lake, We'll meet again and Are you lonesome tonight. Very disappointed that the dvd will not play on our H.D. television. We had the same problem with Forever Vienna, but not with the dvd that came with the last cd. I have watched it on my computer and ,although it's great, it does not appear to be the whole dvd as advertised on the A.R. website. I would hesitate to buy from his website because it does not specify the format. Perhaps Amazon will stock in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD is a bonus!, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Richard Clist (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
Another superb CD with a great variety of beautifully arranged tracks. Rieu excels again. DVD excellent and an absolute bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I won't waltz but I will-quadrille....., 1 Dec 2011
By 
Dr.Trevor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
Bit of a disappointment,this one.A real bitser.Unlike previous Andre dvds,this one isn't an audio visual feast.
It is a longggg promo dvd!
Knowing the excellence of previous Rieu productions I've no hesitation marking this one down.
If you are an Andre fan much of the stuff on this disc will be familiar to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed with DVD, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Sophie (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
Disappointed in that the DVD is in German but the English subtitles are only partly readable. The first line is shown but the rest is below the screen. I switched it off because it was quite irritating not to be able to follow what was being said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pity that the DVD is only a preview and not the whole concert., 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
The DVD and CD are up to the usual high standard. But note that the DVD is a preview of the concert in Vienna and not the whole concert which is also available. As for subtitles not being displayed properly. The answer to this is that the TV needs to be reset. I had this problem and resetting was the answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mix up in items bought., 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the CD of "And The Waltz Goes On". Actually one of his best. However I settled down some days later to watch the DVD and heard Cliff Richard singing "Please don't tease" through my speaker system. I thought something wrong with my system. Checked everything, put on another DVD and all was well with that. Put the alledged DVD into my CD player and low and behold it has turned from a DVD into a CD of 50's hits of some 30 tracks. Very nice but I already have enough CD's of the 50's and 60's. The label is correct and says Andre Rieu DVD. Wonder if its worth a fortune???? Anyone else had this problem??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waltz?? Goes on?, 13 July 2012
By 
R. Armsby (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
This has got to be the most over rated CD I have ever bought. They are always raving about it on Classic FM but why? I was expecting a track by Anthony Hopkins and a selection of Viennese waltzes. Instead we get Edelweiss, Are You Lonesome Tonight, Singing in the rain, We'll meet again etc. It was bought as a present for my wife who listened to it once. The track by Anthony Hopkins makes it just worth buying at bargain price. Andre Rieu in the new Mantovani only not quite as good!

Ralph Armsby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CD that doesn't work, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And the Waltz Goes On (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD a while ago- but didn't open it until recently to find that one of the 2CDs simply does not work, but now it is too late to return. Although it arrived on time and was packaged well there is not much point in this if the product is of no use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And the Waltz Goes On
And the Waltz Goes On by André Rieu (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews