Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for travel
The bag is perfect for Ryanair/EasyJet travel. When the handle is folded, it's exactly 55 cm from top to bottom. The wheels look sturdy, the handle length is ideal for my height (175 cm) and it can be carried as a backpack. The best feature are the straps that can be tightened to "shrink" the bag, if you don't have enough stuff to fill up the impressive 44L. Great...
Published on 28 July 2011 by Temur

versus
101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but still needs improvements
This trolley backpack is very lightweight, fits the Ryanair cabin dimensions and is reasonably priced. The only downside is that the zipped inner lining does not cover the zipped pocket at the top of the backpack where the telescopic pull handle comes out. This means that when the backpack is being used as a trolley, the contents of the backpack could get wet if it...
Published on 23 Aug 2011 by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but still needs improvements, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
This trolley backpack is very lightweight, fits the Ryanair cabin dimensions and is reasonably priced. The only downside is that the zipped inner lining does not cover the zipped pocket at the top of the backpack where the telescopic pull handle comes out. This means that when the backpack is being used as a trolley, the contents of the backpack could get wet if it rains and there is also a security risk too as someone could access the backpack through the hole in the top. I have notified this to the manufacturer and I think they will look into this, but it is worth clarifying that this issue has been rectified, otherwise you will need to extend the inner lining yourself or make sure you always have a plastic bag handy to cover the top if pulling it in the rain. If I'd known this beforehand, I would not have purchased this product but as the backpack was bought as a gift for someone in another country, it was easier to extend the inner lining rather than return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for travel, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
The bag is perfect for Ryanair/EasyJet travel. When the handle is folded, it's exactly 55 cm from top to bottom. The wheels look sturdy, the handle length is ideal for my height (175 cm) and it can be carried as a backpack. The best feature are the straps that can be tightened to "shrink" the bag, if you don't have enough stuff to fill up the impressive 44L. Great purchase all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopeless, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
Worlds lightest cabin bag is also the worlds most useless cabin bag.
Do not, under any circumstances, consider buying this bag. When the handle is deployed, there is a large hole in the top of the bag. It will let in rain and let smaller objects fall out of the case. It has no internal securing straps. Icing on the cake - The Vendor (gismo**) actually trades under a different name (gadgetsUK.com) and appears to have a policy of never answering the telephone.

As a result of this purchase, I appear to have discovered that Amazon does not monitor the level of customer (dis)service provided by third party vendors. The message is clear. Do not buy from third party vendors through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do have a good read of all the 1 star reviews, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
Wow. I actually bought this bag a year and a half ago when it only had a single review! Now there's a good variety of reviews reflecting the good and bad points. I must admit I've never really had any problems with the hole at the top where the handle mechanism comes out. It works well as a "stay away for a few days" bag domestically and is also okay for 1-3 days on the continent (I can fit my laptop in okay).

The bag is essentially just a backpack with a handle mechanism and a solid(ish) plastic base. Since the sides are not solid, it is possible to overfill it and exceed the dimension restrictions on airlines. For this reason I would say (this is probably intuition for most people) you NEED TO PACK THE BAG ON IT'S BACK (i.e where the back straps are), rather than with it being upright. This is to make sure the volume is distributed evenly. You then need to zip up the bay and tighten the straps THEN you can stand the bag upright, and you're ready to go :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong dimensions and weight., 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
Well this is disappointing. I purchased the bag recently, and indeed, the dimensions are different from what is advertised. In my case it was 55x37x24. Now I have to worry about those extra 4 cm every time I'm boarding WizzAir. It may be due to a cheaper manufacturing process that doesn't correctly fold the hard bottom/back, but it's something I would've expected out of one of the no-name bag offers here.

Next in order of importance, different offers for this bag have stated a weight of either 1.9 or 1.7kg. Well, the kitchen digital scale says 1850 g. While personally not butthurt about those 150 extra grams, I hope in the future CabinMax will be more careful to not allow misleading specifications in their offers - especially the dimensions.

Third, the trolley handle. I guess the zipper section was a quick fix from the last version, for which I am grateful. Yet it could still use some improvements.
* First, security: it provides direct non-lockable access to the main compartment through a ~12x6cm hole - for the paranoid among you, more than enough for the random guy across you in the train carriage to grab small valuable objects from within without awaking you.
* Second, water-proofing: once the handle is out, you can only zip up the opening half-way and water can pour inside quite easily. Although it's a good idea to use the backpack mode during wet weather (avoids making a mess of the underside as well), it's an issue that could be easily improved:

My personal recommendation for a quick fix for the next model is to just make the zipper twin-headed and lockable, similar to two out of the three other zippers. A small increase in production cost, no need for a new manufacturing process (like adding a proper piece of fabric around the handle would probably require), and solves the two issues to 80% - lockable (at least symbolically secure) and splash-proof by zipping up the opening almost shut when the handle is out.

All things considered, it's a good bag, but I really hope they fix the depth issue (kills the bag's main competitive advantage) and throw in a second zipper head on the trolley handle zipper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it just the mine that doesn't fit Ryanair requirements?, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
I was looking for a light trolley that would fit FOR SURE Ryanair requirements: no more stress, no more misgivings...no more arguments. Well, this backpack-trolley looked really promising and the reviews sounded good, so I bought it. Quite a bit of disappointing: while it is indeed very light, its measurements (in its largest size) are in fact 55x37x24 rather than 55x40x20. You can call me an ingénue, but I honestly expected it to be 55x40x20!
Apart from that, the product quality on the whole it's nothing to shout about. I'm not taking the trouble of send it back though, but I keep on searching for the ideal cabin trolley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good bag for occasional travel but won't last long !, 29 Mar 2012
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
Had the bag for a about 10 months now and it is the ideal weekend bag. Size and weight make it the perfect solution for low cost carriers.
I noted the points about the dimensions but travelling EZ at least four times a month I have never even been questioned about bag size so not too fussed!
It can take a lot of stuff and the straps are great to avoid stuff shifting around in the bag.

Its major downside is the overall quality of materials and some bad design choices.

a) the wheels are not protruding much out of the bag - great but that does mean the fabric touches stone borders, escalator sides and so on and will tear very quickly.
Both sides of the bag above wheels are now torn open.

b) bottom is not very sturdy which means that it is not stable when put down.

b) inner linings are not tear proof. Both the front pocket and inner small zipped pocket linings have torn loose so every time I use it , I find my stuff all in the big main compartment by the time I arrive.

Bag is still fit for purpose but think spending a little bit more on some of the materials used would give it that extra quality hence the two stars. I would guess if I had to use it more often it will require annual replacement and hence it is not that great value ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no good, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
plastic clips broke within couple of months
after a year of using the seams are giving in and i'll be surprised if it lasts another trip.
when not packed carefully, balance not right tips over
do not recommend this product to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but some room for improvement, 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
I bought the amended version where the show stopper problem of the handle being too long had been fixed. So now the handle folds down neatly into the back and a zipped compartment encloses the folded handle. Overall this is a good lightweight bag which folds down nice and small when not in use and has lots of compartments for stuff. It's ideal if you're being dropped off at the airport and want a versatile, lightweight carry on bag with wheels and a handle, and it also doubles up as a rucksack. My two quibbles with the product though are if you need the product for slightly more heavy duty use, such as trailing the case along the pavement (sidewalk) to a train station to get the train to your flight. In that case, there is a minor issue that the wheels seem slightly small for regular use on rougher surfaces. The biggest problem however is the new handle. Whilst it's now fine for fitting on an airline, the new design is not waterproof. There is a hole in the case where the handle comes out so if it's raining the contents of your case will get wet. Epic fail. The handle really needs to be in a self enclosed space so that when it's extended the case is still waterproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ease of use of the Cabin Max trolly backpack., 7 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabin Max Flight Approved Lightweight Carry on Trolley Backpack Bag (Luggage)
As a spritely female O.A.P. I found this product easy to use. With just 10Kg.- max hand baggage limit- in it I was easily able to get it into the overhead locker on the plane without assistance. By wearing it as a backpack on my way through immigration and customs on the return jouney I was able to speed ahead of everyone else and get an earlier train home than planned.
The various pockets mean that it is easy to store things such as toilettries which need to be taken out at baggage security checks.
It stood up well to a 2-3K.m. hike to a bus stop when used as a wheelie case.
If using it for a flight be careful not to fill it too full as it is very easy to put more that 10KG. in it. The side straps ensure help to pull the bag in so that it fits in the bag measuring frame with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews