Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant apart from profanity...
First, lets get this out of the way. This game deserves its 16 rating. There is a LOT of mindless profanity and violence more realistic than other shoot-em-ups like Halo.I would suggest 13+. But the rest of the game is brilliant.
The action is exhilerating, and the massive arsenal of guns look really detailed. You can do a lot of stuff, like apart from getting...
Published 14 months ago by max d

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
Discs work fairly well, but the the second disc holder is broken and this detail was not included I was disappointed but i can put up with it
Published 13 months ago by Taylor Webb


‹ Previous | 124 25 2632 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 1 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lets get the major gripe over with;
The texture file - you have to download it to make the graphics look good - I have seen people knocking the graphics and that this file should be built into the game - lets set things straight, this is not a fault of the developers, this is a fault of Microsoft and the cheapskates who only get the 4GB 360. Microsoft only have a dvd player unlike the ps3 with its bluray so all the data cannot be stored on a single disc. So you have a choice get a single disc game and download or have 3 discs like LA Noire and load them onto the hard drive. For most moaners get an elite or better still a 250/320 GB 360.

Now for the game:
It is not COD MW3 - it is better in so many ways - the campaign is excellent, nice long segments and challenging even on regular.

The multi-player is so realistic, expansive maps, squads, tanks, helicopters, jets, long matches, excellent maps - what more could you want! only niggle is the destructability - less than bad company 2

MW3 is fun but found it boring now and needs new maps already - I know the Karkan map pack has been released but this game did not need it yet as the original maps were great anyway, being so big, they are different everytime!

For all FPS players - buy it, you won't regret it!

9.5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defo worth the money!, 30 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This was a gift for my younger brother and he absolutely loves it! Can't get him off his XBOX now lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN, 30 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am on this game most of the day its really good and the graphics are awesome this is a game you need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield 3 new or recycled old, 17 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a longer term gamer, before the COD or BF relationship it used to be MoH and CoD! I have pretty much all the Battlefield games, Call of Duty games and even MoH Tier 1. I am not a fanboy of either franchise and enjoy gaming for gaming sake. I will say that of MW3 and BF3 I do tend to play BF3 more, mainly due to vehicle combat.

There is a lot of utter nonsense usually written in reviews so I will keep this short.

Graphics:

Good to great in some instances bad in others. The main issue seems to be distance rendering and using dithering to fade out detail over distance. The first time I saw this was with Halo 2 on the 360 and is essentially means that the 360 is struggling with newer games hardware wise. In saying that BF3 has the whole host of reasonable new additions including bloom and some pretty good, and very annoying game play wise weather effects. Some details you won't notice until a lull in combat, such as water running off buildings in the rainy grand bazaar map.

One issue I've been having with some of the newer games is spotting enemies, especially at range when there is lot of clutter. In some ways this is down much to resolution and the type of display (HD TV) but the spotting system does take the edge off this and makes it bearable.

Sound:

The sounds is as brilliant as the other Bad Company's in the series, although I would say it is not as immersive of the original Bad Company, the increased number of in-game voice comms is pretty good.

Gameplay:

The levelling system is polished, weapon unlocks make sense and there are plenty of custom sights to use that each have their own benefits. Couple of things I don't like is some of the accessories are pointless, sound suppressors on weapons designed for suppressive fire and there is a problem with the faction weapon unlocks. Essentially each faction (US & Russian) has their core weapon (as issued today) as you progress through class you unlock very similar weapons (M4A1/M4, M16A3/M16A4) although they do have differences it seems a little bit of a cheat on the developer side. As you reach the last unlock per class it unlocks the faction weapons. Unfortunately when you change sides you often find yourself sporting the faction default weapon and not the one you were using.

Vehicle, player health and how they all interact have changed. Health will regenerate when out of combat at a slow rate and this includes vehicles. Although certain damage will set vehicles on fire which will cause their health to decrease until destruction. Someone mentioned in another review that is made health packs pointless, this is not true as health packs will heal at a fast rate in combat and benefit more than one person. Vehicles will nearly always burn up as many engineers choose to carry anti-tank mines rather than a repair tool.

The maps are nicely fleshed out, one complaint would be on conquest maps there are a couple of maps with objectives in straight lines with the map in the shape of a narrow corridor. This makes it very easy to push teams into their spawns (Metro) thus forcing one team to be slaughtered. There are a couple of bigger maps (Firestorm) where the objectives are clustered together with large sections of the map not used. The other issue is the team size is quite limited in the Xbox360 version, in some maps 12 players per side is simply not enough to populate the map with people often only killing 5 or 6 per round because of it.

Some other reviewers said you need voice communications to use the game, you don't. With enemy marking, objective marking, squad spawning it isn't necessary. It does help when voice comm's are used correctly but many people don't use it properly anyway. MW3 isn't terribly team based game play anyway (exception being spec ops) so most interaction is irrelevant.

Game wise I have had a few Xbox crashes, and disconnects but the disconnects are mainly because Xbox Live loses a connection to the wireless network and then doesn't bother re-establishing it automatically. Bugs? I have not found any and finding games I've never had a problem with. Co-Op missions can sometimes be difficult and are more affected by time than regular multiplayer. I've yet to find a game with MW3 and gave up, although the game has been updated since I last played but IWNET has always been very poor, even on the PC.

Conclusion:

People often compare what they see as like games (BF3 and MW3) although in my view they both offer different play styles and both are good games in their own style. Each game has its issues, I found the new perk system in MW3 to be rather annoying and I find the new vehicle damage system in BF3 as annoying. BF 3 is a good game and one worth getting if you like the Bad Company games it tends to use more military significant tactics than the older games, making firing volumes to suppress the enemy worthwhile and giving the recon class some tools to actually do some reconnaissance. While you can run around randomly often working as a team makes for a better game, I've recently played Squad Deathmatch for the first time (to unlock the British rifle) and it really shines for co-operative play.

The lack of split screen gameplay, especially for the too short co-op campaign is disappointing. Like every other shooter out there the single player was far too short with a lot of pointless elements in it. MW3 does a better job of setting the scene, far better than the lacklustre MW2 single player campaign. Unfortunately BF3 did not build on Bad Company 2 or MoH Tier 1 which has a great campaign.

Single Player - 3*
Co-Op Feature - 3.5*
Multiplayer - 4*

(nothing really deserves top marks unless it really shines)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very immersive game, straight into the action, impressive, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
pufferfish (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Pros:
Fast paced, never boring even for a moment.

Really easy to follow your objectives. I've always struggled with MW style games as I tend to get confused and lost. This is an endless source of confusion for me. Battlefield managed to keep me focused the whole time. There's a neat objective at the top, and markers on your compass, targets are clear. Also, being UK english, I find US army speak a little tricky to follow, again confuses me, so it's nice to have the objectives in plain understandable english. Of course, hardcore fans won't suffer this in any case :)

Very nice variations in the game. I do bore easily these days, so for a game to keep me captivated past an hour or so needs to be good. This managed it easily. It's definitely a game you'll finish.

Storyline is above average, although still feels a bit awkward. I won't spoil it. It works, and certainly is better acted than a C&C storyline, although it does remind me a little of those wooden dialogs you get in C&C games.

plenty of ammo. I never had a weapon run out.

Aim is sharp, there's some aim assist, I used it, I couldnt tell you what it did. Sniper weapons are great.

The team you work with has great AI, and they also give you a good opportunity to take part. Some games that have team AI can easily turn into a spectator sport (you can hang back and let the team do the level for you) but this isn't one of them. Certain things, like aiming an RPG or taking out a specific enemy is assigned to you, and the game won't progress until you muck in.

Cons:
There's a lot of weapons. Also given that there's no shortage of ammo, you could easily complete the whole game using only a handful of them. You also can't tell much difference between them in many cases. It would be nicer if, similar to halo or MGS games, the weapons were more distinct from each other. Granted, that's not how real life is, so it depends if you want a simulator or a game I guess. I would have prefered a greater emphasis on collecting ammo and choosing weapons, personally.

The vehicle sections while a real refreshing part of the game and really great, often are over a bit quick and have sharp learning curves. For example (spoiler alert!) the tank, I pretty much finished the section before realising there's an image of the orientation of the turret. That made it tricky to drive, not knowing which way your turret view is facing.

Not a big fan of L-click for run. But its pretty common now so thats a personal gripe. It gives me cramp, that's all.

I guess its a linear game, as in, pretty much a linear story with no ability to deviate. For me, that's how I like it, but if you want an "open" game, this is not for you. I wouldn't expect any different, given my experiences with games like halo, I mean, you work as a team, so you do what the team does.

Summary:

Those are very nitpicky cons, and the pros outweigh them ten to one. It's a great game. Well worth the money, and right up there with the big releases like halo or MW. Battlefield may play "second fiddle" to that other franchise, but it really should not be overlooked. It's conceivable that you may feel compelled to sit on this game from start to finish without putting the controller down. If you have that luxury :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2632 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360)
Battlefield 3 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£12.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews